Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5657 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 57 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Trekiej:  48 mins ago
 Develin:  49 mins ago
 noXLar:  58 mins ago
 Pierre55:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 asymetrix:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 Yssing:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 57 mins ago
 zipper:  2 hrs 11 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 )
PosterThread
madmalkav 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 18:29:10
#221 ]
Member
Joined: 19-May-2006
Posts: 88
From: Unknown

Have Adam said something about the stuff that is no directly related to CPU+Motherboard on the IRC?

I mean, ok, we have the motherboard specs for the entry level system on the web, and a price tag of $489-hope that doesn't get into 489 here...-. But I feel curious about hard drive size, DVD Burner, Graphics card, memory card reader, ...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 18:34:06
#222 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@number6

Is't it a bank Holiday around the world on this monday?

Dancing around maypolls, Matching up and down Squares in Moscow for old time`s sake, that sort of thing?

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jorge 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 18:43:36
#223 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2003
Posts: 657
From: Scottsdale, AZ

@billt

Quote:
Even if we don't get true SMP, we can still find ways to make use of additional cores. Maybe something like WarpUP to use the second core as a carefully controlled coprocessor,


Way easier, IMO. A second Exec(SG) would run right out of the box on the second core. Advantage ? You can simple create a new Thread pointing to a subroutine within you code to run it. You can use the exact same PutMsg()/Signal() to communicate with the second thread.

I IFaces are supported, it would simply be a different IExec (e.g. OpenLibrary( "exec.lib", 2) or whatever. (e.g. hide it thru an unit number).

Disadvantage ? You can't call any lib code within that second core. Exec might be pretty basic. The mem handling has to go thru some sort of common layer. etc. But perfectly possible, I'd suppose.

No need for an object code to compile separately, no need to link that object code in. No second compiler, nothing. Just a new IExec2.

When full SMP is supported, the OpenLib or ObtainIface could simply return a new Exec Iface which now would be the real kernel (thus this would simply do real SMP at run time (without recompile!) when a new kernel would be available.

Then with that version, all resources would be available within those new exec threads again.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hitback 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 18:44:21
#224 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 21-Sep-2004
Posts: 185
From: Unknown

@number6

Hi, I have been away for a while really enjoying gaming on my Wii system. I wanted to check in to see how things were progressing in Amigaland since my last post were I basicaly said that unless Hyperion confirmed that they were working on firmware to boot os4 on a perticular piece of hardware we should not belive anything we hear from anyone else.

Well after checking on the site I am amazed that since I left all this has transpired. Hyperion and Amiga Inc. lock in a court battle? This seems to be the final nail in the coffin. I don't mean to be so bleak but I, a faithful and loyal Amiga user just can't take it anymore and I truely weep for what was Amiga. Guys it's over I mean what else can go wrong? Hyperion in a battle with Amiga Inc and the community caught in the middle? Nothing will get done now!!! I see again that Adam is making these big statments again?

Come on? What good is a HP superchip if you don't have an Os to run on it? and it is Monday already where are the specs and can it be delivered or are we again hearing the boy cry wolf? (I for one would really like to see him deliver I am rooting for the guy!!! but I have been let down too many times before that I have to say I will belive when I not only see it but can buy it).

Man this is a sad state of events to come back to.


Last edited by Hitback on 07-May-2007 at 06:46 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
HammerD 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 18:45:34
#225 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 899
From: Ontario, Canada

@Hans

It is now 2:44 PM EST (where FontHill Ontario is), but it is 3 hours behind to Washington, USA, where Amiga Inc. is...

So still in the "morning" for Amiga Inc. :)

Unless you assume New York for Amiga Inc...then it's the same time as FontHill.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hitback 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:01:55
#226 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 21-Sep-2004
Posts: 185
From: Unknown

@HammerD

I really don't understand why Adam makes these promises and just doesn't deliver but more overwheming is why we seem to belive it time after time after time. I mean anyone can say here are the specs and this is what it's going to be (remember the Power Vixxen and PV lite)? we got the spects but they never materialized. So why should this be any diffrent?

I wish I was wrong but I see the pattern and cycle happening again.

Case in point

I tell everyone hey I have hardware coming that will blow the doors of everything else
Just wait till I release the specs on such and such a date.

Everyone gets excited !!!

I stay silent for a week or two and then pop up in some IRC channel and explain that I had some personal issues to takecare of; but that I would release some info soon.
I then don't show for another month. Then appear on the site and say that I was working on the board and progress continues here are the specs.

Everyone gets excited!!!

Then no one hears from me for another 2 months
al of a sudden I pop up saying I will be demoing my board at such and such and event come check it out

Everyone gets excited !!!

When the date comes up I cancel at the last Min. Statin gI had not completed a working prote type that could boot Os4. People ask what have I been doing for the last couple of months- they even question my reliability I get upset and say I am out of here you guys have a good life.

You guys know the rest of the story.

Last edited by Hitback on 07-May-2007 at 07:05 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:08:15
#227 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2048
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@billt

Samples of the 8641D are ~450 EUR @ 1 GHz, ~530 EUR @ 1.33 GHz.
AFAIK freescale's sample prices aren't too friendly. I expect a 8641D @ 1 GHz to be in the 200 EUR region, the 1.5 GHz version aroud 400 EUR once in volume production (both when purchasing *small* numbers).

I had gone the 8641 route... The PA semi is indeed more powerful, but the 8641 is more easy in several regards, thus a board using that is a tad more likely to happen.

Anyway, *if* a PA semi board materializes for that price and is more or less bug free (more bug free than the ArticiaS boards (well, I like my articaS board anyway...)), then fine.
I'd even condisider a purchase then.
But first there is this big, big, big *if*. And yet Adam was just not reliable. I am happy to be surprised in a positive manner though. But there is no credit in advance left for him.

_________________
My programs: www.via-altera.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:09:25
#228 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4828
From: New Zealand

@Shadowolf

Quote:

Shadowolf wrote:
This is what I got from a distributor about two weeks ago:

>the PA6T-1682M currently is in A2 Revision.
>
>Production Parts (B revision)
>- Tapeout May 2007
>- Samples Aug 2007
>- Fully qualified for production in Q4

>PA6T-182M Prototype A2 - $700
>PA6T-1682M-FCN -> 2GHz - $950 @ 1k
>Electra Evaluation Board, PAEV-1682M-001, $8500

And this of course excludes taxes.

If this is the real price for that CPU I am afraid it is bound to fail
except for very high-end applications.

Hmm, let's see what else is there.
Intel Core(TM)2Duo T7200 2,0GHz 4MB, S 479 - 280 Euro
Intel Core(TM)2Duo E6700 2,66GHz 4MB - 473 Euro
Intel Core(TM)2Quad Q6600 2,4GHz 2x4MB KL! - 754 Euro

All including taxes of 19 percent and are end-user price.

I do not want to imply that these are any better or even really compareable,
or that I would want an Intel instead.

I am afraid however that PA-Semi has to lower their target-prices a little.


You're comparing a development board to consumer boards. Development boards are always expensive because they're only sold to companies that will use them to develop other products (i.e., very low volume). The chips are in sampling quantities too. Once large volume production starts, the prices will drop.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:10:20
#229 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2048
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@Stephen_Robinson

Well at least here there is no bank holiday today...

_________________
My programs: www.via-altera.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:12:34
#230 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2048
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@Hans

>PA6T-1682M-FCN -> 2GHz - $950 @ 1k

That price is *not* for samples.

_________________
My programs: www.via-altera.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:34:12
#231 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4828
From: New Zealand

@Zylesea

I checked out the prices for Xilinx Spartan-DSP chips which are currently "sampling", and they were ~$300/chip according to the distributor. Xilinx advertises them as less-than $30. However, less than $30 will only happen once full production occurs in late 2008.

I assume the same situation with PASemi. Currently they are available in sampling quantities and full-scale production hasn't started. You want them now, you'll have to pay a high price. Once full production has started, the price will drop.

Hans

EDIT: From the data above, I don't know if it's prices for now, or Q4, 2007.

Last edited by Hans on 07-May-2007 at 07:36 PM.
Last edited by Hans on 07-May-2007 at 07:35 PM.

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
HammerD 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:41:46
#232 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 899
From: Ontario, Canada

@Hitback

I guess the bottom line is don't get excited until the product is actually for sale and then actually in your hands.

You are free to get excited but be prepared to be let down...

I was very excited when Amiga Inc. announced Amithlon 2.0 (Umilator) on their website in a very nice press release...and we all know what happened to that.

So even if there is a press release that does NOT mean the product will ship.

Amiga Inc. seems to have got cash from somewhere, so perhaps they will really pull through this time. But only time will tell...

_________________
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Shadowolf 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 19:48:48
#233 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Mar-2005
Posts: 137
From: Germany

@Hans

They told me the price in Q4/2007 will be $950 for the B-revision
if we buy 1000+.

This price can only drop, probably before Q4/2007.

Samples of A2-step now are $700 each.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 20:01:44
#234 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4828
From: New Zealand

@Shadowolf

Quote:

Shadowolf wrote:
@Hans

They told me the price in Q4/2007 will be $950 for the B-revision
if we buy 1000+.

This price can only drop, probably before Q4/2007.

Samples of A2-step now are $700 each.


Ok, that makes sense. The actual price in Q4/2007 will probably depend on anticipated demand. Hopefully they have plenty of customers.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Steff 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 20:05:09
#235 ]
Super Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 1342
From: Unknown

@Hans

High End Amiga

Tis thread has already a link to Amiga.org with the specs for the highend board!

_________________
Fixed A1G4XE 7455 RX933PC with fried CPU
Sapphire Radeon 9100 128mb
ESI Juli@ 24bit 192kHz Envy24HT
Sil 680 Ultra Ata 133 E-ide
SeaGate Barracuda 120gb 8mb cache

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
asymetrix 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 7-May-2007 23:27:33
#236 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 802
From: United Kingdom

@DrBombcrater

Benchmarks :

BOINC

Im thinking on this New machine :

Gang scheduling

Stream Processing

_________________
Download 125.64 Mbps, 11.69 Mbps Upload :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ikir 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 13-Jun-2007 18:51:22
#237 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2002
Posts: 5646
From: Italy

@hatschi

Great timeline of failures...

_________________
Amiga News.it
Sam460ex 1,15Ghz
2GB RAM, 120GB Crucial v4 SSD, 32GB SDHC
Radeon HD 6450 1GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomas 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 14-Jun-2007 23:18:00
#238 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2003
Posts: 4286
From: Unknown

@hatschi
Alot of broken promises there.. I dont understand how anyone can take ack and amiga inc seriously anymore.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle