Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5534 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 55 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 eliyahu

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  1 min ago
 Jasper:  5 mins ago
 pavlor:  6 mins ago
 ChrisH:  10 mins ago
 -Sam-:  18 mins ago
 RobertJDohnert:  18 mins ago
 Severin:  30 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  32 mins ago
 DrProcton:  37 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  43 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  What development package do you use?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
BillE 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 10:53:38
#41 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Nov-2003
Posts: 1144
From: Northern Scotland

Golded 6, just the editor part not the full IDE. I have it customised so much to use any other editor would be too much trouble.

Shell, GCC and DOpus4 to copy files around. And a very simple Makefile.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g0blin 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 14:31:52
#42 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Mar-2009
Posts: 577
From: Unknown

@itix

I totally agree with you.

I was just trying to give a general idea to a non-programmer (as TheDaddy called himself), but thanks for pointing that out.

Regards
g0blin

Last edited by g0blin on 13-Jan-2012 at 02:32 PM.

_________________
GDG Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g0blin 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 14:41:30
#43 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Mar-2009
Posts: 577
From: Unknown

@TheDaddy

That's a different story. Wine dosn't recompile software, it just runs the original code on top of an emulated machine.

Gianluca

_________________
GDG Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 14:50:29
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2916
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@itix

Quote:
...but improving and refactoring algorithms

You know quite a bit more then the average programmer/designer! Most speed increase can be gained with that very outset, not so much, if any, by using assembler. Don't ever be fooled by assuming that the optimisations applied by the compiler suite will magically substitute poorly designed algorithms.

OldFart

_________________
The younger and less experienced a coder is, the more difficult it is to prove him wrong...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 17:16:09
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10443
From: Norway

@thinkchip

At work:
Ruby On Rails / CoffieScript
VB2008 for back office apps.
ASP / MSSQL / ISS server
PHP / MYSQL / Apache server.

At home:
Notepad + GCC + OS4 SDK

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Jan-2012 at 05:16 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
asymetrix 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 17:39:09
#46 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 787
From: United Kingdom

@TheDaddy

Quote:

I always had this idea of creating a program that would automatically convert a piece of software available on other platforms to the Amiga but I bet it can't be done...


It can be done !

This is what Amiga programming lacks - the building blocks for compatible code.

AmigaOS api needs to be more OS independant, any differences need be in classes and use overloading.

All Amigaoid APIs docs, need XML like structure to compare diffs easy.

Then create Class sets that overload to a common class/function.

Start off with simple functions like Time, see how Windows/Linux/Mac have structured them and create a function/ Class that is compatible with All.

One will end up with say :

System.Time.GetCurrentTime

(which is good enough as a VisualBasic High level like Language), but code is in C/C++ that can be exported.

Have GUI module using XUL-MUI convert for compatibility.

Have code that is compatible to Mono, cross platform source code environment.

http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page

Its a shame C/C++ on Amiga does not have thousands of custom Headers / Classes created by users, like AmiBlitz does.

Why is C/C++ so incompatible / fiddly to install / compile other C/C++ code ?

Thats its downfall.

Amos Professionl 'Just Works' - load code, hit run - easy as pie.

_________________
Download 125.64 Mbps, 11.69 Mbps Upload :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 13-Jan-2012 21:35:18
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 2983
From: Maryland, USA

@tygre
Eclipse page says:
Quote:
fdfd
test
ab
cd
coucou


I don't get it... :p

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 3:34:22
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2051
From: Ft. Collins, Colorado, USA

@asymetrix

I've used Mono and C#.NET briefly. WinForms is ok on Windows but basically STINKS on anything else running Mono (especially Macs like mine).

If you want something using XML that more than one GUI builder supports, finish the wxWidgets port and use XRC as your standard file format. I dropped WinForms in favor of wxFormBuilder. It's that good. Yes, really!

_________________
Member of Apollo Accelerator team.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scabit 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 11:54:34
#49 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Jan-2005
Posts: 1663
From: Satellite Beach, FL USA

@thinkchip

On the PC I typically used Visual Studio. It seemed that everything I wanted to do was an exception from what Microsoft allowed to be done, so I had to do a lot of hacking and kludging to work around their code and way of doing things. For low level development I used ITools.
On the Amiga I was using Cubic IDE but recently switched to CodeBench. I also use BitByBits SDK browser a lot.

_________________
AmigaOne uA1-c 512M RAM - Only Amiga Makes It Possible!
Check my blog AmigaOne Computing

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 13:33:07
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10443
From: Norway

@asymetrix

Well if you rally wont to you can write Cygnix /Cygwin applications.
They are slow but they work on many platforms.

Unless your making a web application is better to write it for the native API.

I use VB2008 not because its fast (its slow as hell) I use VB2008 because I can make applications quirky in it, Barclay I don't case as long as the SQL server is doing heavy lifting.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jan-2012 at 01:34 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChaosLord 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 14:27:56
#51 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2005
Posts: 782
From: Houston, Texas USA

@clusteruk

Quote:

clusteruk wrote:
I code Visual Studio C#.net for work with SQL backend.

I also program Android with Eclipse and iOS with XCode.

Sorry to say I do not code Amiga because I need a debugger, not enough time in the day to do it with printf commands. Fix that I am away.

Amiga SASC has had an awesome source level debugger since the 1990s.

_________________
Wanna try a wonderfull magical Amiga strategy game?
Total Chaos AGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChaosLord 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 14:32:54
#52 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2005
Posts: 782
From: Houston, Texas USA

@thinkchip
I use SASC on my A1200 because it has the best debugger.

For editing source I use CED or GoldEd.

_________________
Wanna try a wonderfull magical Amiga strategy game?
Total Chaos AGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 19:58:51
#53 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1569
From: Czech Republic

CubicIDE and Jamie Krueger's SDK Browser.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reth 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 14-Jan-2012 21:40:11
#54 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2005
Posts: 185
From: Germany

I'm using Codebench and for me it's currently the best dev package available for C/C++ on AOS4 (on 68k HiSoftC++ is the all time favorite due to integrated source level debugging with GUI!).

My biggest problems regarding developing for Amigaoide OSes are the awful and at least for me really difficult to understand (68k-)API in the first place (I'm still using that one due to compatibility reasons) which makes developers live really hard (as said as least for me - compared to Java API, SDL or even Windows-API for example). In the second place it is the missing source level debugging with GUI for C/C++ and the still not so comfortable and mighty IDEs (in comparison to Eclipse with all its facettes, NetBeans, VisualStudio and similar ones). But the latter one is absolutely understandable considering the amount of users/developers within the Amiga community compared to the ones where Eclipse originated from. I'd really like to spend some money for such a thing as I did formerly for Golded.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 16-Jan-2012 21:07:51
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6662
From: Unknown

@TheDaddy Quote:
And is it possible to create a piece of software which translates a program into the same program for another OS?

Yup. But normally the program needs to use abstractions that were designed to be portable in the first place (e.g. PortablE's).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 16-Jan-2012 21:15:11
#56 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6662
From: Unknown

@thinkchip
I prefer to avoid complex (and typically buggy) IDEs, and so just use a powerful text editor (CygnusEd) to write programs using my PortablE programming language (well, when I am not improving PortablE itself!).

The less complex the developer tools, the less there is to learn, the less there is to go wrong, and the less messing about to do something simple.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 16-Jan-2012 22:46:03
#57 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3169
From: Palencia (capital of the mythical Vaccean Kingdom)

@thinkchip

Hollywood 4.8 under Windos and under Amiga OS4.1.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6. K.O.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 17-Jan-2012 1:30:51
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2074
From: Grimsby, UK

@ChrisH

CB is moving in the right direction with every public release is becoming more and more stable.

The next major feature will be PHP/HTML(etc) so it becomes a viable IDE for web design/development too.

At some point after that the CB website mentions a GUIBench module for CB so developers can actually start building windows, gadgets, listers and whatever by just dragging stuff around and typing into textboxes and moving sliders etc... or perhaps he may ditch that in favour of whatever Jamie Krueger is up to. Either way, its just one person right?

Last edited by djrikki on 17-Jan-2012 at 01:34 AM.
Last edited by djrikki on 17-Jan-2012 at 01:33 AM.
Last edited by djrikki on 17-Jan-2012 at 01:31 AM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 17-Jan-2012 5:51:55
#59 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@ChrisH

Quote:

@thinkchip
I prefer to avoid complex (and typically buggy) IDEs, and so just use a powerful text editor (CygnusEd) to write programs using my PortablE programming language (well, when I am not improving PortablE itself!).

The less complex the developer tools, the less there is to learn, the less there is to go wrong, and the less messing about to do something simple.

I dont think Visual Studio or xcode are very complex. Eclipse is getting a bit complex for my liking I guess.. What IDE's have you used on other platforms?

Code completion/intellisense, a nice debugger, right click "Go to definition" are three features we take for granted now, but they're really useful. I feel like I'm in the dark ages with the editors I've tried for Javascript.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 17-Jan-2012 11:14:14
#60 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1533
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

I think I'm kinda on my own here, but I use AmiBlitz mostly. In work I use Microchip's MPLab and Visual Studio 2008 a little bit, and for the occasional bit of C coding on the Amiga I've used Ed :)

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle