Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5665 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 47 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 g01df1sh:  18 mins ago
 Rob:  22 mins ago
 Robert:  27 mins ago
 redfox:  29 mins ago
 simplex:  48 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 AmigaBlitter:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 Cheese:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 lionstorm:  1 hr 39 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Trevor's Amiga Blog
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 )
PosterThread
Beans 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 19-Oct-2017 13:30:18
#1061 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 447
From: Bear Delaware USA

@TRIPOS

I may have a more specific answer to all this tomorrow, but for right now I'm obligated to keep my mouth shut.

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 5-Dec-2017 16:08:37
#1062 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 9935
From: In the village

@thread

New design coming?

Was

Is

or is it just my browser showing the former masthead removed?

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miggymac 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 5-Dec-2017 18:44:38
#1063 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2014
Posts: 20
From: Flensburg (Germany), a footstep away from Denmark

@number6

Same here, too! I use Safari, Firefox and Chrome on macOS High Sierra, Firefox and Edge on WIndows 10 and - of course (!) - Netsurf on AOS 4.1 FE U1. All those browsers show the same empty layout theme since a few weeks.

Last edited by miggymac on 05-Dec-2017 at 06:45 PM.

_________________
All sorts of computer errors are now turning up. You'd be surprised to know the number of doctors who claim they are treating pregnant men. (Isaac Asimov)

AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 (WinUAE on MB Pro 2016) / A1200 w. Blizz.1230IV / CV64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lazi 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 5-Dec-2017 20:28:43
#1064 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Apr-2005
Posts: 617
From: Pomaz, Hungary

@number6

Nice!

Much better in IBrowse now. :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miggymac 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 7-Dec-2017 8:45:49
#1065 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2014
Posts: 20
From: Flensburg (Germany), a footstep away from Denmark

Seems to me that Trevor got the problems solved.

_________________
All sorts of computer errors are now turning up. You'd be surprised to know the number of doctors who claim they are treating pregnant men. (Isaac Asimov)

AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 (WinUAE on MB Pro 2016) / A1200 w. Blizz.1230IV / CV64

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 1-Jan-2018 0:10:56
#1066 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 9935
From: In the village

@thread

A couple of new entries:

http://blog.a-eon.biz/blog/

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 1-Jan-2018 8:12:34
#1067 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8552
From: Unknown

@number6

It looks like new Radeon driver really uses GFX memory above 256 MB. Well done!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 1-Jan-2018 22:27:39
#1068 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4812
From: New Zealand

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@number6

It looks like new Radeon driver really uses GFX memory above 256 MB. Well done!

Yes, it really does.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 1-Jan-2018 23:24:25
#1069 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 783
From: Vancouver, Canada

@Hans

And that is so very cool! Nice work.

Have a great 2018 everyone!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 2-Jan-2018 10:05:22
#1070 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3200
From: Russia

@Hans
But new driver can use more than 256mb in what way currently ? I mean, if i understand things right, graphics.library should be changed to respect new driver functionality, so system will see more than 256mb for all things.

Also, how current/old minigl/old_warp3d apps will behave ? Will they "just works" and use more than 256mb for their texture uploads , or , they should be adapted in a way how that hardcore banking switching of ext.memory done lately ?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 2-Jan-2018 22:37:00
#1071 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4812
From: New Zealand

@kas1e

Quote:

kas1e wrote:
@Hans
But new driver can use more than 256mb in what way currently ? I mean, if i understand things right, graphics.library should be changed to respect new driver functionality, so system will see more than 256mb for all things.

Software using Warp3D and Warp3D Nova can use the extra VRAM. Graphics library programs are still limited.

Yes, the graphics.library and its driver API would need to be updated before it can also use all VRAM.

Quote:
Also, how current/old minigl/old_warp3d apps will behave ? Will they "just works" and use more than 256mb for their texture uploads , or , they should be adapted in a way how that hardcore banking switching of ext.memory done lately ?

Current MiniGL/Warp3D/Warp3D Nova apps will automatically use the extra VRAM. I played OpenJK with textures set to extreme detail, and it ended up using ~650-700MiB of VRAM in total.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 3-Jan-2018 12:06:21
#1072 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3200
From: Russia

@Hans

Quote:

Graphics library programs are still limited.

Yes, the graphics.library and its driver API would need to be updated before it can also use all VRAM.


From your professional opinion, how much of work to do to make necessary changes for graphics.library ? I mean, something radical like whole rewriting and api change with broke compatibility in some way, or, it can be done more or less under-the-hood, so everything will just works ? I mean for example you run sysmon, and in "free" and "used" video memory have right values ? As well as running as much apps as user want, so it can be fill graphics memory abouve 256mb ?

Quote:

Current MiniGL/Warp3D/Warp3D Nova apps will automatically use the extra VRAM. I played OpenJK with textures set to extreme detail, and it ended up using ~650-700MiB of VRAM in total.


Sounds cool. I remember that when i play heavy 3d ports from huno (like smoke&guns), they still even on little quality overflow 256 mb fast, and then game give 1 fps as swapping happens or whatever..

I assume if you play OpenJK with all textures set to extreme detail on old v2 drivers, then its the same as with smoke&guns drops to 1fps because of swapping, etc ?

Last edited by kas1e on 03-Jan-2018 at 12:14 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 3-Jan-2018 12:24:01
#1073 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 261
From: Unknown

@Hans

Does this new update improve video playback ? Can a video player use Warp3D Nova in theory ?



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: Trevor's Amiga Blog
Posted on 4-Jan-2018 0:36:29
#1074 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4812
From: New Zealand

@kas1e

Quote:

kas1e wrote:
@Hans

From your professional opinion, how much of work to do to make necessary changes for graphics.library ? I mean, something radical like whole rewriting and api change with broke compatibility in some way, or, it can be done more or less under-the-hood, so everything will just works ? I mean for example you run sysmon, and in "free" and "used" video memory have right values ? As well as running as much apps as user want, so it can be fill graphics memory abouve 256mb ?

The driver API needs an overhaul, and the graphics.library does too. There's a lot of code that assumes all VRAM is accessible to the CPU.


Quote:
Quote:

Current MiniGL/Warp3D/Warp3D Nova apps will automatically use the extra VRAM. I played OpenJK with textures set to extreme detail, and it ended up using ~650-700MiB of VRAM in total.


Sounds cool. I remember that when i play heavy 3d ports from huno (like smoke&guns), they still even on little quality overflow 256 mb fast, and then game give 1 fps as swapping happens or whatever..

I assume if you play OpenJK with all textures set to extreme detail on old v2 drivers, then its the same as with smoke&guns drops to 1fps because of swapping, etc ?

I've never tried it, but most likely yes.


@SinanG

Quote:

SinanG wrote:
@Hans

Does this new update improve video playback ? Can a video player use Warp3D Nova in theory ?

This update has zero impact on video playback.

In theory Warp3D Nova could be used to accelerate video playback, but someone would have to write a GPU-based video decoder. There are multiple such projects on the internet, but I've yet to see one that's been completed to a usable state.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle