Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5620 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 68 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 NutsAboutAmiga,  pavlor

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 min ago
 pavlor:  3 mins ago
 Jasper:  8 mins ago
 IRTheBorg:  11 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  13 mins ago
 IridiumFX:  14 mins ago
 retro:  14 mins ago
 Srtest:  15 mins ago
 WolfpackN64:  21 mins ago
 Beans:  22 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  MOL on AmigaOne
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )
PosterThread
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 20-Sep-2014 9:44:44
#121 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

I can't install Mac OS X with QEMU because the Mac OS X install DVD doesn't complete boot.

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 20-Sep-2014 17:10:16
#122 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@xeno74

I wonder then how fast MoL would be then in KVM mode? Since thet is where they were headed. Don't know if they got it working. Need to test on a real Mac.

I take it if you grab the HFS image from 10.5 and use it as the basis for a HD image that won't work either? I was able to boot Tiger that way when I ripped the HFS image from a DVD and wrote it directly to the partition MoL booted from. Worked well!.

Except when I needed top install on same partition.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 20-Sep-2014 19:42:36
#123 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown



Mac-on-Linux/KVM-PR works on my AmigaONE X1000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It's faster than QEMU with KVM-PR enabled. That's really amazing!!!!!!





_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigadave 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 21-Sep-2014 1:46:27
#124 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Jul-2005
Posts: 1525
From: Lake Shastina, Northern Calif.

@xeno74

I would like to try out MOL on my X1000, so if you can draft a "step-by-step" guide on how to get it working and where to get all the files needed, as well as which versions of MacOSX that work, I would really appreciate it, and I am sure many other X1000 owners would too.

Congrats on getting it to work on YOUR X100!

Edit: Do you have a dual boot AmigaOS4.x & Linux setup on your X1000 and then launch MOL from one of your Linux dristros?

Last edited by amigadave on 21-Sep-2014 at 01:47 AM.

_________________
"Amiga" - The computer that inspired people to invent and create!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 21-Sep-2014 5:14:31
#125 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

@amigadave

Yes, I do. I have a dual boot setup and launch MoL from Debian Sid.

First, you need a Linux distro. I recommend to buy the A-EON Live Remix DVD. This is the best Linux distribution for the A1-X1000. And then you need a new Linux kernel with KVM-PR support. You can download it from:

www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Unfortunately you have to compile Mac-on-Linux from svn (svn checkout svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/mac-on-linux/code/trunk mac-on-linux-code). There isn't a Debian package.

The Mac OS X install DVD doesn't complete boot on MoL/KVM-PR and QEMU with and without KVM-PR enabled. You have to install it with PearPC (Windows) on a HD image. After that you can boot Mac OS X in MoL/KVM-PR from this HD image.

Only Mac OS X 10.4.X Tiger works, currently. The speed is the same like MoL with kernel modules.

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 21-Sep-2014 8:46:30
#126 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2308
From: Amiga land

@xeno74

You make me happy Xeno :) When the X5000 will come i will sell my Quad because of Mol ;)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 21-Sep-2014 19:00:35
#127 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10690
From: Norway

@xeno74

This is interesting.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 22-Sep-2014 13:15:37
#128 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

Yeah ...

X1000:
Quote:
modprobe kvm-pr

Quote:
ifconfig tun1 192.168.41.1

Quote:
/etc/init.d/tinyproxy status


MoL/KVM:
Quote:
sudo kextload MolEnet.kext

Quote:
sudo kextload MolAudioDevice.kext




_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 22-Sep-2014 15:36:56
#129 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@xeno74

The booting stopped. But nice touch.

Quote:
modprobe kvm-pr


Why do you have to do that? How come it isn't loaded by the kernel? And without it do you get a MoL modules error?

I found I had to do a "modprobe kvm" on the A1 else I got a modules error but the MoL KVM build I compiled was broken as MoL just locked up.

BTW, why don't you create a deb package for those interested. It's fine once you have it all setup but compiling MoL requres to install a compiler and all that it depends on. This is a time consuming job. Done it myself. I didn't see a script that did the installing for me.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 22-Sep-2014 22:18:54
#130 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:
Why do you have to do that? How come it isn't loaded by the kernel?


It's a kernel modul. I have to load this if I want to use MoL.

Quote:
And without it do you get a MoL modules error?


No, I don't get a MoL kernel modules error. If I don't load the kvm-pr kernel modul then MoL tell me that KVM isn't available and it won't work if the kernel modul isn't loaded.

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 23-Sep-2014 23:44:20
#131 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

Just for info: I have updated Mac OS X to version 10.4.11.



_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 10:44:25
#132 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

Quote Alexander Graf:

Quote:

The MOL kernel module was designed with PPC32 hosts and guests in mind.

While that's all great when running on PPC32 hosts, it makes life really
hard on PPC64 hosts, as the MOL kernel module doesn't work there.

Furthermore it also never got upstreamed. So every new kernel revision
might break it.

Recently I implemented KVM for PowerPC64 though. So we now have a common
virtualization framework inside the kernel that gives us easy virtualization
access to PPC32 and PPC64 guest VMs.

This patch implements a simple backend module to interact with KVM. That way
KVM can be used to virtualize the CPU. Everything else still goes through
MOL.

With this patch applied and my recent patches to KVM (see the kvm-ppc ML
archive) I'm happily running a 10.4.11 Mac OS X VM on a 970MP system.
This should also enable G5 and PS3 hosts, though I haven't tried it out
there yet.

Please keep in mind that you need to run 32 bit userspace with a 64 bit kernel
for this to work.
MOL heavily relies on sizeof(guest GPR) == sizeof(void*) == sizeof(int)

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scabit 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 13:38:39
#133 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Jan-2005
Posts: 1663
From: Satellite Beach, FL USA

@Hypex

Come on Hypex.....figure this out and come up with a fancy self booting installer for MOL for the A1 and I'll be very happy!


Scott

_________________
AmigaOne uA1-c 512M RAM - Only Amiga Makes It Possible!
Check my blog AmigaOne Computing

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 15:05:41
#134 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2003
From: Unknown

@scabit

Quote:
scabit wrote:
@Hypex

Come on Hypex.....figure this out and come up with a fancy self booting installer for MOL for the A1 and I'll be very happy!

I'm not sure, if the original AmigaOne works out of the box with KVM due a hardware bug that could bite us (and did with the original MoL kernel module!). At least I couldn't get MoL booting under KVM yet, but that's probably only a kernel issue for now - I need to try out a recent kernel, if I ever find some spare time again.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 15:07:01
#135 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2308
From: Amiga land

@xeno74

if you need a test on G5 host call me i can do it :P

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 17:36:56
#136 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@xeno74

Quote:
Quote Alexander Graf:


Yes, I found out exactly that, that every newer kernel I was trying to compile on; be that 3.10 or 3.2 or whatever broke. Had I known this I could have saved countless hours editing and hacking MoL code that won't work and not wondered why I couldn't get it to compile out of the box. Not only wasn't the kernel module upstreamed, there was no warning put in the build script that warns the module wasn't supported anymore and won't compile.

MoL was already hard to use needing a root level CLI command. But needing the user to also do a mod probe makes it harder and who would remember the command? The modprobe line should be in the startmol script if it depends on it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 17:37:42
#137 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@scabit

Hold on. We need a stable working MoL yet!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 24-Sep-2014 20:08:38
#138 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

@tlosm

It would be nice.

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 25-Sep-2014 7:46:56
#139 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2308
From: Amiga land

@xeno74
You know how to cantact me in FB ;)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: MOL on AmigaOne
Posted on 25-Sep-2014 7:55:44
#140 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 655
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Please begin to test. I'm very curious.

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle