Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5616 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 44 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 klx300r

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 klx300r:  2 mins ago
 Srtest:  5 mins ago
 tekmage:  5 mins ago
 Beans:  10 mins ago
 eliyahu:  11 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  17 mins ago
 Seiya:  21 mins ago
 padrino:  22 mins ago
 Fransexy:  49 mins ago
 DustyA1200:  50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Arix
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Seiya 
Re: Arix
Posted on 13-Dec-2013 9:14:19
#21 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2006
Posts: 1367
From: Italia

@broadblues

they promised new distro that could be much better than corrent aros distro.
Many aros users wanted a downloadable alfha iso to try after countdown..

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
EDanaII 
Re: Arix
Posted on 13-Dec-2013 13:29:15
#22 ]
Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2011
Posts: 69
From: Unknown

And they either will (or they won't) get one. In the meantime, life goes on...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Arix
Posted on 17-Dec-2013 14:04:46
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8628
From: Greensborough, Australia

@OlafS25

Quote:
You mix the concepts. AROS (and the same for ARIX) can only run software that is compiled for the target platform,


No I was only thinking of x86.

Quote:
To answer the question you cannot run X86 compiled software on f.e. ARM (Android...).


That's not what I meant so doesn't answer my question. What I meant was on AROS x86, is the ability to run the special x86 native Amithlon bnaries. Where compiled Amiga code ran on the host CPU directly and then entered emulation for OS calls. Apart from the JIT and native drivers it was one of the special features. And apart from AROS one of the first ways that Amiga C code could be compiled and run natively on a PC.

It was also cleaner than WarpOS or PowerUP methods for alternate binaries. Given AROS can run on x86 I always wondered if a plugin could be written that loads the binaries and provides an OS wrapper so that the OS callback hooks would use AROS directly.

But, if every Amithlon coder has compiled every Amithlon native program for AROS, then there would be no need.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: Arix
Posted on 17-Dec-2013 18:51:13
#24 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown

@Thread

to be honest, ARIX has disappointed me. Making an announcement with a count down on a WWW side has generated high expectations

If the side keeps empty after the countdown ended does make visitors look like fools.

I would understand it if they posted an apologize and brought some contend worth watching it.


But they did not.


After all this time I don't judge people by the noble intention they might have, I just look about what they do. I'm feeling disappointed again by the same people again.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 13:30:54
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 9796
From: In the village

@klx300r

Quote:
geez still no official announcement


True, but there's this and something about NDAs being active

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 13:52:13
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5045
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

I wonder how the load is split to those other cores.
In the shot on fb there seems to be Gl Gears running (AROS compile?) and the load is shared with two cores.

Is it using "silly SMP" or is it running on Linux and only GUI is from AROS?
("legacy" AROS binaries should only load one core, right?)

A little mind boggling: (kernell soup)

and... as the development is under NDA ...
It indicates to me that it will be yet another flavour of commercial "Amiga"...
(ok, so we did not have enough split yet )
I hope we see clarifications and more open communication in the future.

Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 01:58 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 01:54 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
damocles 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 14:31:09
#27 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2007
Posts: 1719
From: Unknown

@KimmoK

Quote:
In the shot on fb there seems to be Gl Gears running (AROS compile?) and the load is shared with two cores.


Edit: correction on the compile. I would have rather have had Terminills comment on it but he's still banned for another moon or so.

The screen shot is from an internal testing ISO and all the AROS legacy (including default theme) was left as is. It wasn't worth changing for internal tests when there is so much to do. When Arix is released to the public, AROS references will have been replaced by Arix plus at least one new theme. Proper attribution will of course be given, licenses honored, and code enhancements given back to AROS after a set period of time. We are apart of the AROS community and look forward to a very strong win:win relationship as we advance to the next level.

Last edited by damocles on 16-Jun-2014 at 07:06 PM.

_________________
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I only speak for myself.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 14:35:03
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5045
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@damocles

Thank you for the info.

"It's Arix compiled."

So... perhaps/hopefully ARIX API is somehow familiar to Amiga API programmers ... and perhaps the NDA is to prevent someone else patenting those API ideas before ARIX is public & ready ...

( and if the linux sh*t is hidden well enough and ARIX feels like my favorite OSs, then superb! )


hmmm... now I also wonder if ARIX will be able to run linux apps directly, like AEROS?
Perhaps with some wrapper or pretty simple recompile?
ok... better not get exited ... but my interest is caught again by this newcomer.


Any idea of when there might be more hard info published on ARIX?


(some stuff from eab)

Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 02:56 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 02:52 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 02:51 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 02:51 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 16-Jun-2014 at 02:50 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 15:25:19
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5078
From: Unknown

@KimmoK

i am not connected with Arix, only what I know from discussions and what I think

No Arix cannot run Linux applications directly (in opposite to Aeros) it uses a Linux kernel for certain tasks, expecially for driver support. It is based on a modified "Linux hosted" and I guess this will be one of the closed parts (as all changes on Aros related to this kernel). On top of this there is AROS, propably they will create their own distribution but basically it is the same as what is used on Aeros, Icaros Desktop and so on. Software that is compiled on Aros would then run on Arix and vice versa. If they create specific closed extensions is out of my knowledge.

There is a picture on their facebook page showing the basic structure. Regarding what will given back and what will be closed (Source) we will see. Jason f.e. said he will give all source changes to ABI1 so it can be backported to AROS (ABI0).

Dates? Propably "when it is done". I read somewhere that test phase for ARM/PPC should already start mid this year (=now) so they are obviously late.

ARIX API=AROS API

Last edited by OlafS25 on 16-Jun-2014 at 03:28 PM.
Last edited by OlafS25 on 16-Jun-2014 at 03:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
EDanaII 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 15:38:03
#30 ]
Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2011
Posts: 69
From: Unknown

Quote:
There is a picture on their facebook page showing the basic structure. Regarding what will given back and what will be closed (Source) we will see. Jason f.e. said he will give all source changes to ABI1 so it can be backported to AROS (ABI0).


Bernd Meyer -- over on Moobunny, take that for what it's worth -- described that architecture as resembling Amithlon. That implies to me that it should be able to run 68k software. But that's just wild-ass speculation on my part. :)

Two cents...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 15:43:28
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5078
From: Unknown

@EDanaII

that speculation is indeed new to me :)

we will see. I already run 68k software so nothing special to me :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
phoenixkonsole 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 15:52:32
#32 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Nov-2009
Posts: 1669
From: Unknown

@EDanaII
with janusuae as AROS.

ARIX is AROS hosted with the difference that you will not notice Linux.
They have the freedom to add new Features as multiprocessing, but offcourse only for ARIX compiled binaries. Normal AROS binaries will run on one core.

There is no way yet to run Linux apps since there is no X11 invoked.
If there will be X for AROS than it could work.

New playground, new fun but also a new waiting line to stay on.

Be patient.

_________________
AROS Broadway - AEROS - Aminux - AmiCloud - indieGO! Appstore - AmiWallet - VAN lossless video codec - AMC Amiga media Center -KrypUnite - LibertyNet - MinX - amigaNX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 16:01:38
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5078
From: Unknown

@phoenixkonsole

only for ARIX compiled binaries? Are you sure? Why do you need special compiled binaries for SMP? (Except you would have something like PowerUP)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
phoenixkonsole 
Re: Arix
Posted on 16-Jun-2014 18:32:13
#34 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Nov-2009
Posts: 1669
From: Unknown

@OlafS25
This is valid on all OSes. If your application is not written for multicore it will run as single thread. The best a os can do is to move them to a separate core and do other things with the remaining resources.

->no benefit by smp for that app

if your app is compiled or even better "optimized" for smp than you will find a speed up. Splitting task in threads in a optimal way is what programmers need to do. Compiler nowadays are semi intelligent.

-> there is still a benefit for user and os responsibility because a core is free to manage the os and multitasking.

Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 16-Jun-2014 at 06:36 PM.
Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 16-Jun-2014 at 06:35 PM.

_________________
AROS Broadway - AEROS - Aminux - AmiCloud - indieGO! Appstore - AmiWallet - VAN lossless video codec - AMC Amiga media Center -KrypUnite - LibertyNet - MinX - amigaNX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Arix
Posted on 17-Jun-2014 11:15:34
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5078
From: Unknown

@phoenixkonsole

when I last read about it it was multithreading on windows. Complicated to program, you have to split everything in single tasks and difficult to debug

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Seiya 
Re: Arix
Posted on 17-Jun-2014 11:21:23
#36 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2006
Posts: 1367
From: Italia

btw, where is ARIX?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Arix
Posted on 19-Jun-2014 13:58:40
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 9796
From: In the village

@thread

It appears some questions are being answered in the thread on Amiga.org, along with:

noise from boot

#6


_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle