Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5646 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 46 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OlafS25:  24 mins ago
 Bezzen:  29 mins ago
 kyle:  54 mins ago
 cip060:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 Lou:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 AdvancedFollower:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 megol:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 A1200:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 Overflow:  2 hrs 12 mins ago
 zipper:  2 hrs 24 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  News about Vampire and Apollo
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55 | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60 | 61 | 62 | 63 | 64 | 65 | 66 | 67 | 68 | 69 | 70 | 71 | 72 Next Page )
PosterThread
Jose 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 12:17:21
#301 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 899
From: Unknown

@Kolla
HAM10 would be cooler ;)
There were also some special mixed planar/chunky modes that were interesting.

Last edited by Jose on 15-Jan-2016 at 12:18 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 17:16:08
#302 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 1832
From: Germany

@Hammer

Quote:

Hammer wrote:
@iggy

Modern X86 CPUs includes RISC cores (fix instruction length) and hardware accelerated X86 (variable instruction length) translators.

But the "RISC core" is very different from a traditional RISC CPU.
Quote:
Being RISC doesn't automatically equal good i.e. it depends on the implementation.

From http://beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1788668&postcount=693

Unfortunately the B3D's forum seems to be changed, and the link is broken. Can you provide a new one to this thread? Thanks.
Quote:
@cdimauro

Quote:

cdimauro wrote:

Apple's A7/8/9 have 6-issues cores.

nVidia's Project Denver (that you find in some Tegra's SoCs) have 7-issues cores.

One can't directly compare complex instruction set to reduce instruction set.

Higher code density (CISC) uses less instruction issue slots than less code density (RISC).

I know it. I only reported the status of the art for ARM processors.


@kolla

Quote:

kolla wrote:
@cdimauro

Quote:

cdimauro wrote:
@kolla: actually it seems to be RTG/Picasso96 only. Which makes sense, since there's already a lot of support for RTG graphic cards for the Amiga o.s..


Then it makes zero sense to confuse people by calling it "Super AGA", when it really is just a framebuffer for P96.

I agree: it's a totally different thing.
Quote:
"Super AGA" would be providing AGA compatibility, and beyond. Super AGA would be allowing super fast high resolution HAM8 modes, for Deluxe Paint for example.

It can be made, of course, but it requires time to have an AGA chipset implementation. Two more weeks...

Isn't it much better to use Personal Paint with RTG/Picasso96?


@Jose

Quote:

Jose wrote:
@Kolla
HAM10 would be cooler ;)
There were also some special mixed planar/chunky modes that were interesting.

Not interesting: insanely weird.

We have 32-bit RGBA graphics for around 25 years: please, use them!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 17:18:17
#303 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8486
From: Unknown

@Overflow

Quote:
Is Diablo 1 available for this emulator?


No. As far as I know, there is only PowerPC version.

However, some people were able to run Diablo under FPSE (Playstation emulator), but this needs far more CPU power than Vampire/Apollo and PSX version is not the best.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 17:20:44
#304 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8486
From: Unknown

@cdimauro

Quote:
Isn't it much better to use Personal Paint with RTG/Picasso96?


Of course. However, I must admit there are features I like on DPaint, but TvPaint has most of them (its tools are highly inspired by DPaint).

Quote:
Not interesting: insanely weird.


Perfect match for world of Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 17:25:11
#305 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 1832
From: Germany

@pavlor: does TvPaint works with RTG?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 17:32:25
#306 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8486
From: Unknown

@cdimauro

Quote:
does TvPaint works with RTG?


TvPaint supports RTG only, it doesn´t even work on OCS/ECS/AGA.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 17:52:15
#307 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 1832
From: Germany

@pavlor: nice to know. If it's also free, Personal Paint and TVPaint can become a good replacement for Deluxe Paint, for RTG systems.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 15-Jan-2016 18:34:55
#308 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8486
From: Unknown

@cdimauro

Quote:
If it's also free


It is.

Quote:
Personal Paint and TVPaint can become a good replacement for Deluxe Paint, for RTG systems.


That is exactly what I use.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 16-Jan-2016 0:11:27
#309 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2316
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@zErec

Quote:

zErec wrote:
@kolla
we will see that "SuperAGA" will deserve its name.


Well, if there is a development of a better Amiga custom chips reimplementation it should be called "MAGA" better than "SuperAGA"
Why?
Because:
1-AGA means Advanced Graphic Architecture so MAGA would mean More Advanced Graphic Architecture
2-MAGA means female magician in spanish

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 15:58:19
#310 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3315
From: Unknown

@thread

https://vimeo.com/152027985

Already posted?


_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zErec 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 16:33:05
#311 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2003
Posts: 509
From: Germany

@Fransexy

Or what about :

GALAPAGOS

"G"raphics"A"ccelerator"L"eaps"A"head"P"revious"A"ccelerated"G"raphics"O"n"S"ilicon
"G"raphics"A"ccelerator"L"eaps"A"head"P"revious"A"miga"G"raphics"O"n"S"teroids


Quote:

Fransexy wrote:
@zErec

Quote:

zErec wrote:
@kolla
we will see that "SuperAGA" will deserve its name.


Well, if there is a development of a better Amiga custom chips reimplementation it should be called "MAGA" better than "SuperAGA"
Why?
Because:
1-AGA means Advanced Graphic Architecture so MAGA would mean More Advanced Graphic Architecture
2-MAGA means female magician in spanish

Last edited by zErec on 18-Jan-2016 at 04:50 PM.
Last edited by zErec on 18-Jan-2016 at 04:39 PM.
Last edited by zErec on 18-Jan-2016 at 04:34 PM.

_________________
- AmigaX1Ooo with OS4.1FE // CD32/SX32Pro/SX1/CD32Shuttle
- A600-Vampire600 FPGA // A4KT/CSPPC233,144MB,PCI, AOS4.1.6FE
- MACmini 1.5GHz // Pegasos 2 1GHz // Efika
- ATARI Falcon/060/SuperVidel // ATARI Falcon MK X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 19:09:47
#312 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3315
From: Unknown

What about RAGA (RayTracing AGA)

@team
WOuld be possible to implement such core in the future?

http://www.siliconarts.com/

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WOSPUPOS4 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 19:50:33
#313 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Feb-2006
Posts: 215
From: Unknown

https://vimeo.com/152180575

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 22:19:04
#314 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 689
From: Trondheim, Norway

@cdimauro

No, PPaint is a poor substitute if you want to animate. Anyways it was merely an example, there are loads of productivity software (and games) that would benefit from compable, yet improved (faster, more RAM, larger resolutions, flickerfree) AGA.

Last edited by kolla on 19-Jan-2016 at 04:33 PM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 22:27:02
#315 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 689
From: Trondheim, Norway

It looks like it should now be possible to see a full demonstration of OS3.9 on Vampire2, including opening and using various Reaction and OS3.9 resource.library dependant prefs programs etc. At long last. I hope.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jsixis 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 0:08:36
#316 ]
Member
Joined: 8-May-2009
Posts: 84
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

thanks for that link. I had lost that board during a windows migration.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 10:01:31
#317 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2062
From: Ft. Collins, Colorado, USA

@cdimauro

Here's the new Beyond3D forum post.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pleng 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 20-Jan-2016 7:14:55
#318 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 450
From: Unknown

@kolla

Am I missing something??? Wouldn't larger screen resolutions require the applications to be re-coded to be taken advantage of, anyway?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 20-Jan-2016 11:22:34
#319 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 689
From: Trondheim, Norway

@Pleng

Quote:

Pleng wrote:
@kolla

Am I missing something??? Wouldn't larger screen resolutions require the applications to be re-coded to be taken advantage of, anyway?


Not really, no, applications that supports AGA already supports large screen sizes, you can edit images in 1920x1080 already if you don't mind scrolling, or even 1344x576 (if I recall correctly) without scrolling, using super hires PAL interlaced mode. Applications will typically use the modes available, with the features they offer. Typically it is the ammount of chipram that is the problem, but that is an OS issue and typocally not an application issue.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: News about Vampire and Apollo
Posted on 20-Jan-2016 13:22:29
#320 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3925
From: Australia

@cdimauro

For shader workloads...

PS4's 6 CPU cores at 1.6 Ghz scored 98.
PS3's 5 SPE cores at 3.2 Ghz scored 105.



Both MS and Sony later unlocked the 7th CPU core for game developers.

AMD Jaguar's effective IPC is higher than PS3's CELL or Xbox 360's PPE X3.

The slide was from http://twvideo01.ubm-us.net/o1/vault/gdceurope2014/Presentations/828884_Alexis_Vaisse.pdf



Too bad Motorola didn't continue 68K into Intel Haswell type hybrid CISC/RISC design.


Also, AMD Jaguar has 256bit Intel AVX SIMD instructions which reduce an instruction issue slot when compared with two 128bit SIMD instruction issue slot.


AMD Radeon HD 7790/R7-260X/R9-285X/R9-380X/R9-290X/R9-390X/R9-Fury X comes with AMD's TrueAudio DSP which is similar Xbox One's SHAPE DSP i.e. that's another DSP that can used for the Amiga.

Xbox One's SHAPE DSP = Four Tensilica DSP cores.
AMD TrueAudio DSP = Three Tensilica DSP cores.

Apparently, PS4 also has AMD's TrueAudio DSP.


Both Xbox One's SHAPE and AMD's TrueAudio DSP are based from Cadence Tensilica HiFi DSP.




Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:57 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:51 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:50 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:37 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:33 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:27 PM.
Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jan-2016 at 01:25 PM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-4790K @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR3-2133 16GB RAM, MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti Gaming

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55 | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60 | 61 | 62 | 63 | 64 | 65 | 66 | 67 | 68 | 69 | 70 | 71 | 72 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle