Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5604 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 61 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Rob

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Rob:  3 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  8 mins ago
 vox:  18 mins ago
 Spectre660:  21 mins ago
 eder:  24 mins ago
 BigD:  30 mins ago
 SimplePPC:  38 mins ago
 WOSPUPOS4:  42 mins ago
 amisteph:  43 mins ago
 billt:  44 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Raspberry Pi 3
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 )
PosterThread
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 13-Apr-2017 22:15:11
#121 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 632
From: Honolulu

@Signal
I'm not particularly concerned about the password. I think the "Disconnected" means it got the correct password. But why is it disconnecting? I suspect the answer is in the logs, but I need help interpreting the messages:

Apr 10 06:26:44 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[579]: Connections: connected: 192.168.200.20::1092
Apr 10 06:26:44 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[579]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.200.20::1092 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 11 20:55:42 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: ServerManager: Server started
Apr 11 20:55:43 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: ConsoleDisplay: Cannot find a running X server on vt1
Apr 11 20:55:43 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: ConsoleDisplay: Found running X server (pid=654)
Apr 12 11:34:24 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: Connections: connected: 192.168.200.20::1637
Apr 12 11:34:24 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.200.20::1637 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 11:38:25 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: Connections: connected: 192.168.200.20::1638
Apr 12 11:38:25 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[600]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.200.20::1638 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 14:28:26 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: ServerManager: Server started
Apr 12 14:28:27 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: ConsoleDisplay: Cannot find a running X server on vt1
Apr 12 14:28:27 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: ConsoleDisplay: Found running X server (pid=648)
Apr 12 14:50:12 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: connected: 192.168.1.101::1025
Apr 12 14:50:12 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.1.101::1025 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 14:50:59 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: connected: 192.168.1.101::1026
Apr 12 14:50:59 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.1.101::1026 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 14:51:04 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: connected: 192.168.1.101::1027
Apr 12 14:51:04 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.1.101::1027 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 14:53:44 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: connected: 192.168.1.101::1028
Apr 12 14:53:44 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.1.101::1028 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 14:55:42 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: connected: 192.168.1.101::1029
Apr 12 14:55:42 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.1.101::1029 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 14:56:14 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: connected: 192.168.1.101::1030
Apr 12 14:56:14 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[585]: Connections: disconnected: 192.168.1.101::1030 ([ProtocolError] RFB protocol error: Requested security type 2 not offered)
Apr 12 15:18:16 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[596]: ServerManager: Server started
Apr 12 15:18:17 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[596]: ConsoleDisplay: Cannot find a running X server on vt1
Apr 12 15:18:17 raspberrypi vncserver-x11[596]: ConsoleDisplay: Found running X server (pid=650)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 13-Apr-2017 23:21:30
#122 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 497
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Everything I've been able to find on this as far as our equipment goes, is saying that one or the other systems is either using security or is expecting security.

The only Security settings I know of are on the Pi.

Right click the VNC icon on the RPi and choose Options> Security.

They should be set to VNC password and Prefer off.

???????

What is really perplexing is how easy it was for me to set up.

(shakehead, shakehead, shakehead)

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 2:25:17
#123 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 632
From: Honolulu

@Chris_Y

Quote:

Chris_Y wrote:
@kilaueabart

Use it as a print server for the Amiga (and any other devices you have - you can put Google Cloud Print on it for example). That's what I do! You can print from the Amiga using the Postscript driver then...

I wonder, first, whether the problems I'm having connecting the two machines would forestall that, and second, how to do it. I spent some time looking at http://www.techradar.com/how-to/computing/how-to-turn-the-raspberry-pi-into-a-wireless-printer-server-1312717, and I wonder how compatible my set-up will be. I don't want to use USB. For some reason, even though I have wi-fi turned off on the rpi3, I print wirelessly to HP OfficeJet Pro 8710 Printer (192.168.200.14) with HPLIP. I'd hate to have to change that, but I'd love to be able to use the Postscript driver on the Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 3:01:35
#124 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 632
From: Honolulu

@Signal
Egad! That "Prefer off" really makes a difference! I went back to the SAM and clicked the icon, and this time, instead of Disconnected it was something about lack of authorization, either wrong user name (huh?) or wrong password. Then I went to what you wrote yesterday, put parentheses around everything, clicked, added address, and got a message about an anonymous user on VNC!

I didn't see any sign of the rpi3 there, but I switched hdmi to the rpi3 and the VNC icon was black! A puzzling thing, my keyboard and mouse, still plugged into the SAM, work on the rpi3 screen. And if I switch hdmi back to the SAM I still have the rpi3 screen, only it doesn't have a black border all the way around it. only right side and bottom, and I can still use the keyboard and mouse!

It's going to take a while for me to figure out what is going on, but I am really pleased!

Connection attempts: 2
Successful connections: 1

Next, I'll figure out how to get back to Amiga. I had the idea that I would be connected to both at once with VNC, able to get at files from either, but I'm probablky just too greedy.

I'm back. There was the old familiar "Error Disconnected" guru again, but this time it didn't hurt my feelings at all.

Last edited by kilaueabart on 14-Apr-2017 at 03:17 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 17:50:12
#125 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 497
From: USA

@kilaueabart
Great!

As for the display, I'm not sure what is happening there.

My X1000 has an older 4650 card in it and its my screenmode is 1280x720 60Hz 16:9 same as the RPI. You can set the RPi mode in Preferences> RPi Configuration> System tab Set Resolution. Set the Overscan to Disable. Under the Performance tab I set the GPU Memory to 128.

Also, one of the settings for the TwinVNC icon is DEPTH=16, seems faster that way.
You will have to find what works best for you.

My TwinVNC icon settings;
HOST=192.168.???.???
PORT=5900
PASS=rpivnc
WINDOW
TOOLBAR
DEPTH=16
SCALE
SMOOTH
FONTNAME=topaz.font
FONTSIZE=9

Your mileage may be different. Good Luck.

P.S. If the Pi or the amiga fall asleep you can lose the connection.


_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 1:19:31
#126 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 632
From: Honolulu

@Signal
My screen puzzles yesterday -- rpi screen smaller than monitor screen and appearing in different places with no hint of Amiga whichever hdmi cord I was using -- was clearly a result of my putting parentheses around everything in TwinVNC, as per instructions. I erased the parens and tried again, with rather different results. Now my rpi screen is in a TwinVNC window (1824x984x24) with its own set of icons in the tool bar (? -- upper left), and the TwinVNC window is on, and slidable around on, the Amiga screen.

I don't have a DEPTH setting in TwinVNC. No real need to experiment with that yet, as what I've got in front of me is very satisfactory. My FONTSIZE is 8, again no problem that I see. I have no SMOOTH. Maybe I erased it by mistake, but everything seems as smooth as I would want. The big difference between what I was reporting yesterday and now is surely the removal of parentheses around SCREEN and TOOLBAR.

I am puzzled by an apparent lack of influence of my RPi Configuration settings. I have "Default 720x480" in Set Resolution, but I have always had what looks like a normal 1280x1024 when running rpi3 alone. The "1824" width of the TwinVNC window doesn't make sense to me, but the 984 height isn't far off. My Overscan is set to "Enable" and Perfomance GPU Memory is "64." I don't know yet what those things mean, but everything seems so good right now I'm a bit afraid to change them.

I want to thank you and everyone else who has seen me through my difficulties and finally gotten me to the desired goal.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 16:45:00
#127 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 497
From: USA

@kilaueabart

You're more than welcome.

Now go roll some eggs.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 28-Apr-2017 2:52:26
#128 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 632
From: Honolulu

@All

Maybe it means I wasn't taking full advantage of my X1000's Amiga OS4.1 FE and Ubuntu MATE, but I almost feel that I am better off with my Amiga/Raspberry-Pi tandem set-up. I always had to reboot Ubuntu to use a decent browser, and reboot OS4 to print anything, meanwhile bringing the file to print over from MATE to Amiga by flash drive. So much nicer to have the rpi3 browser always available and a printer driver that works even better than the one on my Amiga (mainly because it does 2-sided printing, but I was always having to reset parameters).

I admit to being a little annoyed that VNC Server always announces a connection from an "anonymous user." As far as I'm concerned, I'm its boss and it should know who I am.

More annoying is the FTP process which I now use instead of a flash drive (and now I wonder whether I could have done that between AOS and Ubuntu? I would still have had to reboot to make use of the transferred file[s]). I use pftp on the Amiga; I have tried something of the sort on the rpi3, but without success so far, and as long as pftp works...

But I wonder if there isn't a way to save some steps in connecting. As it stands now, I have to answer "yes" every time to "The authenticity of host ... can't be established. RSA key fingerprint is ... Are you sure you want to continue connecting?"

The log complains "Could not create directory 'home/.ssh'. The first time I got that message I went ahead and created the directory myself, but it didn't help. Next it asks me for the rpi3's password. I type it in, click "Done," and finally everything is hunkydory. Well, the pftp connection log adds "Failed to add the host to the list of known hosts (/home/.ssh/known_hosts)." I assume it would be pointless to add a text file name "known_hosts" to the .ssh directory I created for it as a favor.

Any suggestions as to a way to streamline the ftp process?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 28-Apr-2017 17:37:25
#129 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 497
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Go the other way. Linux can be challenging to get into, and the way it should be.

Set up the Amiga to serve and the RPi to do the transfers both ways.

Need a new thread.RPi3< >Amiga FTP.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 1-May-2017 20:19:15
#130 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 497
From: USA

@
Just for fun.

VNC++ Click the picture to make larger.

This is X1000 with RPi3 on VNC with wifes X86 on RPi VNC. The X1000 mouse & keyboard do control the x86.



What do you think, too much free time

Last edited by Signal on 01-May-2017 at 08:21 PM.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lou 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 16-May-2017 13:44:12
#131 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2004
Posts: 3833
From: Rhode Island

Seems the Pi3b has some competition...

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06VSBVQWS/ref=pe_847770_237555370_em_1p_6_ti

quadcore 1.8Ghz and 2GB of DDR3 ram...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 16-May-2017 15:55:32
#132 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3092
From: Beds, UK

@Lou

There are a lot of Pi-type SBCs these days. None of them have anywhere near the support or community of the Pi, and personally I'd avoid them unless the Pi wasn't suitable for some reason.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 17-May-2017 2:51:42
#133 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 632
From: Honolulu

I'm on the RPi3 full screen today for the first time in weeks. What got me here was the discovery that I can't play video on it through VNC! Omxplayer spends the full amount of time, with the pre-play stats and the "Have a good day!" at the end, but no picture.

The SAM will probably get a full day of rest!

--------------------------------------------------------------
How wrong I was! I always boot RPi3 first, but can't do anything in it because my mouse and keyboard are plugged into the SAM. I was probably the only one who didn't know that after I boot the Amiga (and run VNC?) I can switch the modem back to the RPi3 and use it just as if I had the input devices plugged into it directly! Things are going to be a lot nicer from now on!

Last edited by kilaueabart on 17-May-2017 at 09:14 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle