Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5552 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 43 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 sabworks

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 sabworks:  2 mins ago
 drHirudo:  5 mins ago
 monstercoder:  18 mins ago
 alpyre:  23 mins ago
 Samurai_Crow:  25 mins ago
 kaffeine1:  36 mins ago
 Raffaele:  37 mins ago
 WolfpackN64:  53 mins ago
 Amigo1:  53 mins ago
 clusteruk:  55 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Raspberry Pi 3
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 9-Feb-2017 18:01:40
#41 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 428
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Quote:

kilaueabart wrote:
@Signal
Something not gibing here. Under Preferences I have six items,


Ah, go to Prefrences>Main Menu Editor. Then select Preferences on the left and checkmark the items you wish to be in the Main Menu under the Preferences heading. Work Slowly... You'll see what I mean. You may have to shutdown reboot for some settings to take effect.

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 10-Feb-2017 1:28:51
#42 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Chris_Y
Does this mean it is indeed running?

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo systemctl status ntp
● ntp.service - LSB: Start NTP daemon
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/ntp)
Active: active (running) since Sat 2016-11-26 13:45:03 HST; 2min 36s ago
Process: 495 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/ntp start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
CGroup: /system.slice/ntp.service
└─560 /usr/sbin/ntpd -p /var/run/ntpd.pid -g -c /var/lib/ntp/ntp.c...

Nov 26 13:45:07 raspberrypi ntpd[560]: peers refreshed
Nov 26 13:45:09 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: host name not found: 0.debian....g
Nov 26 13:45:09 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: host name not found: 1.debian....g
Nov 26 13:45:09 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: host name not found: 2.debian....g
Nov 26 13:45:09 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: host name not found: 3.debian....g
Nov 26 13:45:11 raspberrypi ntpd[560]: Listen normally on 5 wlan0 192.168.2...23
Nov 26 13:45:11 raspberrypi ntpd[560]: peers refreshed
Nov 26 13:45:13 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: DNS 0.debian.pool.ntp.org -> 1...6
Nov 26 13:45:13 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: DNS 1.debian.pool.ntp.org -> 1...4
Nov 26 13:45:14 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[568]: DNS 2.debian.pool.ntp.org -> 6...6
Hint: Some lines were ellipsized, use -l to show in full.

Does this mean it isn't syncing?

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ ntpq -p
remote refid st t when poll reach delay offset jitter
==============================================================================
triton.ellipse. .XFAC. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
209-133-217-165 .XFAC. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
srcf-ntp.stanfo .INIT. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
awesome.bytesta .INIT. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
chimera.buffero .INIT. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 10-Feb-2017 1:30:55
#43 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Signal
I eventually added everything available and went through them all looking for something to set date and time with. No luck so far.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 10-Feb-2017 13:50:03
#44 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 428
From: USA

@kilaueabart

That I don't understand (?).

I have loaned my RPi to my wheelchair bound friend until he can aquire a new system so I'm rather limited to what I can guide you with at this time.

Perhaps Chris_Y and others can offer assistance for a bit.

If you do have a prefs selection called 'services' you can check that to see if NTP is active.

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 10-Feb-2017 18:59:11
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3070
From: Beds, UK

@kilaueabart

Quote:
Does this mean it is indeed running?

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo systemctl status ntp
● ntp.service - LSB: Start NTP daemon
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/ntp)
Active: active (running) since Sat 2016-11-26 13:45:03 HST; 2min 36s ago


Yes (but only for two minutes which may possibly not be quite long enough to have actually performed a time sync)

Quote:

Does this mean it isn't syncing?

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ ntpq -p
remote refid st t when poll reach delay offset jitter
==============================================================================
triton.ellipse. .XFAC. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
209-133-217-165 .XFAC. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
srcf-ntp.stanfo .INIT. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
awesome.bytesta .INIT. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
chimera.buffero .INIT. 16 u - 64 0 0.000 0.000 0.000


Hmm, yes. You should have something which looks a bit more like:
Quote:

remote refid st t when poll reach delay offset jitter
==============================================================================
*188-39-37-91.st .GPS. 1 u 28 64 377 26.773 -0.231 16.782
-uno.alvm.me 193.79.237.14 2 u 44m 1024 274 16.333 -3.152 1.019
+lyla.preshweb.c 178.18.118.14 3 u 347 1024 377 18.509 -0.659 7.981
+ntp2.wirehive.n 195.66.241.2 2 u 35 1024 377 20.179 0.140 1.322
+glfd-dmzutil-1. 10.178.1.162 2 u 134 1024 377 17.376 -2.124 1.481


I notice you're using the Debian servers and it is complaining about looking up the hostnames, which might be the problem (also the servers it is trying to use are all showing as stratum 16 which seems a very long way down the chain... I don't think I've ever seen a server below stratum 3 or 4 and it's rare to see anything below stratum 2). Edit /etc/ntp.conf as root (sudo nano /etc/ntp.conf) and look for the lines starting "server". Try changing them to these:

Quote:
server 0.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 1.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 2.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 3.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst


If using nano, Ctrl-X will allow you to save.
Restart the service (sudo systemctl restart ntp)
Wait five minutes and try the query again (ntpq -p)

Last edited by Chris_Y on 10-Feb-2017 at 07:05 PM.
Last edited by Chris_Y on 10-Feb-2017 at 07:04 PM.
Last edited by Chris_Y on 10-Feb-2017 at 07:00 PM.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 11-Feb-2017 7:26:19
#46 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Chris_Y
Sure enough, using the uk pools brought rather different results:

remote refid st t when poll reach delay offset jitter
================================================
clock.trit.net .INIT. 16 u - 1024 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
66.151.147.38 .INIT. 16 u - 1024 0 0.000 0.000 0.000
etc.

Nov 26 14:30:28 raspberrypi ntpd[1312]: proto: precision = 0.520 usec
Nov 26 14:30:28 raspberrypi ntpd[1312]: Listen and drop on 0 v4wildcard 0.0....23
Nov 26 14:30:28 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Started LSB: Start NTP daemon.
Nov 26 14:30:28 raspberrypi ntp[1303]: Starting NTP server: ntpd.
Nov 26 14:30:28 raspberrypi ntpd[1312]: Listen and drop on 1 v6wildcard :: U...23
Nov 26 14:30:28 raspberrypi ntpd[1312]: Listen normally on 2 lo 127.0.0.1 UDP 123
etc.

But it's still November 26.

On the Amiga, it was easy to set up a local time server. I wish I could boot my Amiga and see what one I set...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 11-Feb-2017 12:33:29
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3070
From: Beds, UK

@kilaueabart

btw, I recommend to set the NTP pools to something local to yourself once it starts working. You can find the pool addresses at all sorts of geographical levels here: http://support.ntp.org/bin/view/Servers/NTPPoolServers

The problem may be that your clock is too far out. I've not seen it happen, but the NTP software apparently doesn't sync if that is the case. Try setting the clock manually once (time/date) and then restart the service (sudo systemctl restart ntp). See if ntpq -p shows anything after a couple of minutes.

The other issue might be that your router is blocking UDP packets and/or port 123.

Last edited by Chris_Y on 11-Feb-2017 at 12:34 PM.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 11-Feb-2017 21:54:17
#48 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Chris_Y

Yes, Chris, thanks. I had just googled the problem on my tablet and found the solution to the time, which solved the Google "connection-not-safe" problem as well, so I can now google problems straight from the rpi.

Chrome works fine now, although attempt to look at e-mail got me a wrong password refusal!?

***Well, it turns out I wrote that too soon. Chrome does work fine now, but I didn't really solve the time problem. When I boot, I get the date of my last shut-down. sudo /etc/init.d/ntp start didn't do any good. I had to reset the date by hand, but at least I CAN now, and I can live with that.

Last edited by kilaueabart on 13-Feb-2017 at 12:59 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NomadOfNorad 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 13-Feb-2017 3:20:13
#49 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2003
Posts: 743
From: Jacksonville, Florida, USA, Earth, Sol system, Milky Way galaxy

On a different note....

Anyone here have experience with installing Amibian onto a Pi-Top? I've got the archive of the SD-card image, but haven't gotten round to writing it to a micro-SD card to go into my RasPi3. One of the neat features of the Pi-Top is that it has a power button you can press that, when held down for 3 or 4 seconds, sends a signal to the pi3 that amounts to "Okay, time to do the shutdown procedure now," at the end of which, the device powers off. I don't know if any other RasPi OSs support that feature natively or if that needs a specially installed utility before it will act on that.

Last edited by NomadOfNorad on 13-Feb-2017 at 03:21 AM.

_________________
"I love peacenicks, they're so easy to conquer." --Ivan J Ironfist, the Dictator

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 17-Feb-2017 3:24:24
#50 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

Just want to say that I am getting very impressed with this little computer. I haven't been able to get it to figure out the time on its own yet, and I am inclined to forget to correct and restart the time for up to several hours, but I can report that it does at least one thing much better than the Linux side of my AmigaONE X1000 ever could: Print!

I have had Ubuntu in various stages from 12.10 or whatever to 16.04, on different disks, and never could I print anything but a printer test, using hplip(?) for my HP printers (currently an Officejet Pro 8710). Anything else, including black and white memos, came out with colors smeared all over. (The OS4 side could handle color, but it required a lot of monkeying around to get print size right.)

I set printing up on the rpi3 yesterday, and it prints perfectly!

Now if I can only get the time fixed, and get it to produce sound on my bluetooth speaker. And maybe connect with an external drive, besides a little flash drive...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 17-Feb-2017 11:44:56
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3070
From: Beds, UK

@kilaueabart

Quote:

I set printing up on the rpi3 yesterday, and it prints perfectly!


Use it as a print server for the Amiga (and any other devices you have - you can put Google Cloud Print on it for example). That's what I do! You can print from the Amiga using the Postscript driver then...

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 17-Feb-2017 11:48:12
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3070
From: Beds, UK

@kilaueabart

Quote:

***Well, it turns out I wrote that too soon. Chrome does work fine now, but I didn't really solve the time problem. When I boot, I get the date of my last shut-down. sudo /etc/init.d/ntp start didn't do any good. I had to reset the date by hand, but at least I CAN now, and I can live with that.


Yeah, the Pi is set up to reset the internal clock to whatever it was when it was last shut down (fakehwclock).

I really don't know why this isn't working, I can only assume the packets are getting blocked on your network. I can see two workarounds, one is a complicated one using GPS dongles, the other is a slightly less complicated one involving buying/making a hardware clock for your Pi.
But, really, NTP ought to work.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 17-Feb-2017 14:47:56
#53 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 428
From: USA

@kilaueabart

I got my Pi back.

Just for grins :) I manually set the time wrong and changed the ntp.conf servers to;

# pool.ntp.org maps to about 1000 low-stratum NTP servers. Your server will
# pick a different set every time it starts up. Please consider joining the
# pool:
#server 0.debian.pool.ntp.org iburst
#server 1.debian.pool.ntp.org iburst
#server 2.debian.pool.ntp.org iburst
#server 3.debian.pool.ntp.org iburst

server 0.us.pool.ntp.org
server 1.us.pool.ntp.org
server 2.us.pool.ntp.org
server 3.us.pool.ntp.org

After rebooting the Pi it took about 3 1/2 to 4 minutes to sync up.

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo systemctl status ntp
● ntp.service - LSB: Start NTP daemon
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/ntp)
Active: active (running) since Fri 2017-02-17 08:57:55 EST; 11min ago
Process: 498 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/ntp start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
CGroup: /system.slice/ntp.service
└─566 /usr/sbin/ntpd -p /var/run/ntpd.pid -g -u 106:111

Feb 17 08:57:57 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: host name not found: 2.us.pool.ntp.org
Feb 17 08:57:57 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: host name not found: 3.us.pool.ntp.org
Feb 17 08:58:00 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: Listen normally on 4 eth0 fe80::de9a:8242:653d:7a30 UDP 123
Feb 17 08:58:00 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: peers refreshed
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 0.us.pool.ntp.org -> 104.156.99.226
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 1.us.pool.ntp.org -> 50.22.155.163
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 2.us.pool.ntp.org -> 74.120.8.2
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 3.us.pool.ntp.org -> 199.223.248.101
Feb 17 08:58:03 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: Listen normally on 5 eth0 192.168.1.3 UDP 123
Feb 17 08:58:03 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: peers refreshed
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ ntpq -p
remote refid st t when poll reach delay offset jitter
==============================================================================
-104.156.99.226 204.123.2.72 2 u 38 64 377 92.375 -11.111 8.354
+soft-sea-01.ser 209.51.161.238 2 u 34 64 377 90.573 -5.917 1.966
+a1.pcloud.com 200.98.196.212 2 u 28 64 377 77.574 2.056 15.311
*3.time.dbsinet. 209.51.161.238 2 u 17 64 377 62.242 0.013 0.505
pi@raspberrypi:~ $

Seems to me there should be a local server you could connect to. Maybe check with the university(?).


Open your File Browser and go to /usr/share/applications and see if there is a Time and Date icon. If so double click and it should open the settings window. If not,,,, something is not installed.

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 18-Feb-2017 3:21:30
#54 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Chris_Y
Good news if I ever have an Amiga again. Looking a bit doubtful at the moment, but I still hope. Meanwhile, this rpi3 keeps me pretty well connected with the world.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 18-Feb-2017 3:31:30
#55 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Signal

Quote:
Open your File Browser and go to /usr/share/applications and see if there is a Time and Date icon. If so double click and it should open the settings window. If not,,,, something is not installed.
Obviously something is not installed. The icons are in alphabetical order, and go from "Terminal emulator" to "Vim." But thanks for alerting me to this window. I'll enjoy exploring it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 18-Feb-2017 15:35:16
#56 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 428
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Hm.
Open the Add/Remove software app (synaptic) and install gmome-system-tools. Or in a terminal,
sudo apt-get install gnome-system-tools you may need to use the full name, gnome-system-tools-3.0.0-4,
but I don't think so.

That should contain Time and Date setting app and some handy utilities.

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 19-Feb-2017 1:37:54
#57 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 576
From: Honolulu

@Signal

Yes, that worked, although the app doesn't seem very friendly, just listing my time zone (Pacific/Honolulu) and Configuration with no other options than "Keep synchronized with internet servers." I have no idea what would happen if I clicked "Unlock."

Today resetting the time was instantaneous. I did the date command and was doing the restart command when I noticed that my clock was correct! Maybe it hadn't even waited? I will wait a bit longer next time. But if it does come up right, I won't know that it wasn't because I had run Time and Date.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 19-Feb-2017 13:12:03
#58 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 428
From: USA

@kilaueabart

If you unlock it you can change TZ and set either NTP or Manual time, but since it is correct no need to mess around.

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 20-Feb-2017 20:44:23
#59 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 428
From: USA

@NomadOfNorad

I tried Amibian on my RPi3. It booted but I only had one of those ROMs off the net and it did not work very well. Besides I don't have any older software to use and can't find my last Amiga Forever.

I know I just followed the instructions on their website to get it going, but quickly lost interest.

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NomadOfNorad 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 22-Feb-2017 11:26:23
#60 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2003
Posts: 743
From: Jacksonville, Florida, USA, Earth, Sol system, Milky Way galaxy

@Signal

I've actually got the 2006 Premium Edition of Amiga Forever right here next to me. I assume I can use one or the other of the ROMs off of that, but haven't really looked into it yet.

_________________
"I love peacenicks, they're so easy to conquer." --Ivan J Ironfist, the Dictator

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle