Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5646 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 54 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 OlafS25

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OlafS25:  1 secs ago
 Overflow:  18 mins ago
 zipper:  29 mins ago
 Frank:  50 mins ago
 graff:  57 mins ago
 tommywright:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 Drewlio77:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 AdvancedFollower:  1 hr 33 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Raspberry Pi 3
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
PosterThread
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 2-Mar-2017 1:32:39
#61 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Signal
I'm getting results that look much like your

● ntp.service - LSB: Start NTP daemon
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/ntp)
Active: active (running) since Fri 2017-02-17 08:57:55 EST; 11min ago
Process: 498 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/ntp start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
CGroup: /system.slice/ntp.service
└─566 /usr/sbin/ntpd -p /var/run/ntpd.pid -g -u 106:111

Feb 17 08:57:57 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: host name not found: 2.us.pool.ntp.org
Feb 17 08:57:57 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: host name not found: 3.us.pool.ntp.org
Feb 17 08:58:00 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: Listen normally on 4 eth0 fe80::de9a:8242:653d:7a30 UDP 123
Feb 17 08:58:00 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: peers refreshed
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 0.us.pool.ntp.org -> 104.156.99.226
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 1.us.pool.ntp.org -> 50.22.155.163
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 2.us.pool.ntp.org -> 74.120.8.2
Feb 17 08:58:02 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[586]: DNS 3.us.pool.ntp.org -> 199.223.248.101
Feb 17 08:58:03 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: Listen normally on 5 eth0 192.168.1.3 UDP 123
Feb 17 08:58:03 raspberrypi ntpd[566]: peers refreshed

namely,
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/ntp)
Active: active (running) since Tue 2017-02-28 21:22:57 HST; 17h ago
Process: 545 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/ntp start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
CGroup: /system.slice/ntp.service
└─613 /usr/sbin/ntpd -p /var/run/ntpd.pid -g -c /var/lib/ntp/ntp.conf.dhcp -u 106:111

Feb 28 21:22:59 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[636]: host name not found: 1.oceania.pool.ntp.org
Feb 28 21:22:59 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[636]: host name not found: 2.oceania.pool.ntp.org
Feb 28 21:22:59 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[636]: host name not found: 3.oceania.pool.ntp.org
Feb 28 21:23:01 raspberrypi ntpd[613]: Listen normally on 4 wlan0 fe80::9762:ee6d:97d2:27e7 UDP 123
Feb 28 21:23:01 raspberrypi ntpd[613]: peers refreshed
Feb 28 21:23:03 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[636]: DNS 0.oceania.pool.ntp.org -> 203.23.237.200
Feb 28 21:23:04 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[636]: DNS 1.oceania.pool.ntp.org -> 103.242.68.68
Feb 28 21:23:04 raspberrypi ntpd_intres[636]: DNS 2.oceania.pool.ntp.org -> 202.6.116.123
Feb 28 21:23:04 raspberrypi ntpd[613]: Listen normally on 5 wlan0 192.168.200.15 UDP 123
Feb 28 21:23:04 raspberrypi ntpd[613]: peers refreshed

Except where you listen normally on "5 eth0" I listen on "5 wlan0." Is that of any significance?

ntpq -p still brings up just "16 u - 1024 0 0.000 0.000 0.000"'s here, even though I always get a message that NTP server is set up during the boot process. I have waited in vain an hour for it to correct the time and date but it corrects instantly to a date command.

A new problem is that I can't get sound on my bluetooth speaker, even though I have followed a lot of instructions I find with google. Preferences > Bluetooth Manager recognizes my BLKBOX POP360, but as a "microphone"! PulseAudio Volulme Control has quit working at all.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 2-Mar-2017 15:39:56
#62 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart



wlan0= wireless
eth0=wired

If you are using a wired connection to your router or modem then Turn OFF the wireless, or disconnect the wired connection.

The pics above show both active, not a good thing.

Last edited by Signal on 02-Mar-2017 at 03:44 PM.
Last edited by Signal on 02-Mar-2017 at 03:42 PM.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 4-Mar-2017 1:39:27
#63 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Signal
Turning off wifi got me a "no connection" and some bafflement, until I remembered that my Amigas had never had wifi, and so I looked and found that the raspberry had a place to plug an ethernet cable in.

Shortly after I did so, the on-screen clock reset itself correctly! Thanks. Such an ultimately simple solution, but I never would have figured it out.

I can't help wondering if some other things might have depended on wifi, like maybe the printer which seemed to work better from the rpi3 than it had from the X1000. ... OK, the printer still works. I haven't figured out how to print PDFs and .png's yet, but that was the same with wi-fi on.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 4-Mar-2017 12:52:03
#64 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Ah,good.

Perhaps the wlan0 lacks the permissions in the router/modem for the RPi to use some of the functions(?)whereas the wired connection allows them. Something for you to play with.

Do you have a FTDI serial to USB cable? If so you may want to install cutecom, (sudo apt-get install cutecom) to use with it. The port should be /dev/USB0 on the RPi once it is plugged in. It may take a minute for it to be recognized.

As for the Bluetooth....I do not have any Bluetooth devices so can't really offer suggestions.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 5-Mar-2017 0:58:07
#65 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Signal
I think I used to get messages about a problem with wlan0 or eth0 in Ubuntu on the X1000. The internet icon would change somehow and there'd be a "[something] disconnected" message. I turned something off permanently in the Internet menu so that I always got the up-arrow-down-arrow icon and no more trouble.

I get internet from my landline telephone provider and had to keep my computer on the wall that had a phone connector on it. I didn't like it there, so I ended up getting the thing that allows the modem output to be transferred to house wiring and moved the computer to the opposite wall.

Somewhere along the way I bought a wifi dongle for the X1000, but was unable to make it work. Wifi works fine for my tablets and mobile phone, and until this clock problem, I thought it worked fine with the RPi as well. I waas never able to get my Bluetooth dongle to work on the X1000 either.

Since I bought the RPi specifically to get serial output from my sick X1000 to send to AmigaKit, I have had cutecom from the beginning, and a serial to USB cable; whether it is FTDI or not I don't know. But I'm curious about why you suggest it. What else can I do with serial?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 5-Mar-2017 13:38:21
#66 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart

As for PDF printing you should have xpdf already in your accessories. If not, apt-get :).

You can also use Chromium to print them and PNG stuff. LibreOffice Draw will also handle PNG.

Serial ports are not used much in home computing anymore but they certainly can be especially in hobby. There are many small devices that still use serial and in industry thay are still very popular.

I was going to integrate a BeagleBoard Black into the X1000 and use serial to control it and it's interface to the xorro slot, but due to the lack of a proper (usable) card for xorro that went down the tube.

Check THIS_PAGE for more info.

P.S. The X1000 serial could have been connected to the RPi serial.

Last edited by Signal on 05-Mar-2017 at 01:53 PM.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 6-Mar-2017 0:57:54
#67 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Signal
PDF Viewer opens something that says Xpdf at the top, and I can open my pdfs with it, but when I click on the printer icon I get an Xpdf: Print window, but clicking print in the lower left corner brings up an hour glass that spins a couple of times and stops. I guess I have to change the print command. Will experiment.

Clicking on pngs and jpegs bring up a window with no printing available. LibreOffice Draw does handle them OK, but I thought I had an easier way before.

The two reasons I didn't use the RPi serial to get X1000 output were 1) I already had the cable and converter which I had bought in the attempt to use my tablet for that task, 2) I didn't know the RPi had a serial port. Presumably I would need to remove the top cover?

Among the many things I just don't know about the RPi yet are, just where is the serial port, does the thing run off a kernel stored on the SD chip I inserted to set it up to start with, how do I find out what the memory situation is? As for that last I'm non-plussed at all the things I am allowed to apt-get install with no complaint about lack of memory.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 6-Mar-2017 16:19:30
#68 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart

On my RPi Xpdf uses lpc for the print command and it works with my Epson WF3640 printer. However, I'm also using the Epson driver and not foomatic or gutenprint drivers that are standard with cups. Which printer do you have, and have you looked (synaptic) for a dirver?

I have tried a couple of graphics programs but some of the libs have not yet been successfully ported to RPi. I do have GIMP installed and working, and yes, it prints.

As for the on board serial port, using the USB is much less hassle unless you are going to use the RPi through a terminal on some other computer. The serial port is on the header.

If you want to know how much room you have on the microSD just open the file browser and look at the bottom right.

You really should open the ADD/REMOVE software (synaptic) and under Options select Refresh Package Lists and then Check for Updates.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 7-Mar-2017 7:11:52
#69 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Signal

I thought an occasional apt-get update/upgrade were enough. Wow, 65 packages to upgrade.

"...just open the file browser and look at the bottom right." Of course! Some folk are just sort of blind. Looks like about 3/4 of my space is still free. Hard to believe, the computer looks so tiny.

My printer is an HP OfficeJet Pro 8710. I downloaded HPLIP. It prints fine from GIMP and LibreOffice, so generally I can print what I need to. But I miss being able to just open a graphic by clicking on its icon and print it, without having to load up another program to look at the graphic with.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 7-Mar-2017 15:20:53
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3102
From: Beds, UK

@kilaueabart

"apt-get dist-upgrade" tends to be better as it picks up more packages.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 7-Mar-2017 22:09:07
#71 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Quote:

kilaueabart wrote:
But I miss being able to just open a graphic by clicking on its icon and print it, without having to load up another program to look at the graphic with.


You might wish to try the 'PhotoPrint' program. Also, if you right click on the graphic it should open a menu allowing you to select what to open it with.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 8-Mar-2017 0:20:49
#72 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Chris_Y

Quote:

Chris_Y wrote:
@kilaueabart

"apt-get dist-upgrade" tends to be better as it picks up more packages.
And yet, whereas I had apt-get upgraded just a couple days ago, this other way apparently got me 65 more I had never heard of. ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 8-Mar-2017 17:11:44
#73 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart

Chris is correct, dist-upgrade does pick up more packages, as does using synaptic for RPi as long as you do the 'Refresh' first.

I have done 'sudo apt-get dist-upgrade', seen that there were packages ready, and answered 'No' to the upgrade then did the upgrade through synaptic and again back to the terminal dist-upgrade which resulted in '0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.'. So it's six of one kind, half-dozen of the same.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 9-Mar-2017 21:32:51
#74 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 636
From: Honolulu

@Signal
I see that one other thing that I can't do anymore is read. I didn't see the "dist-" part of Chris' note.
I tried it. Got nothing new, but it wanted me to do an auto-remove, and I did.

Since doing the Synaptic thing, I get a horrendous stream of messages when booting up. They go by way too fast to read, but I wonder about the "FAILED"s. I can't find anything that looks like the boot stream in /var/log/ though...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 10-Mar-2017 12:51:08
#75 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@kilaueabart

That's nothing to worry about. I also get a 'Failed' message I haven't botherd to investigate as it could be simply trying to start something before something else is running and actually does start it later with no problem.

For 40 bucks? It's great.

They should have included the AutoRemove in synaptic, maybe in the future.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 18-Mar-2017 20:32:45
#76 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@Signal

Just for fun I got Puppy Linux installed and running on the Pi. It is F-A-S-T.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 31-Mar-2017 14:38:51
#77 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

I'm going to call this post -QUITCHERBITCHIN-

Want Open Office, Youtube, Chromium, printing, webcams, etc.?
Just use Linux on OS4.
The sound, video, keyboard & mouse all pipe through OS4. No need to reboot into Linux, it's already there.



_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BoingBear 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 31-Mar-2017 20:32:13
#78 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2015
Posts: 132
From: Unknown

@Signal

Quote:

Signal wrote:
I'm going to call this post -QUITCHERBITCHIN-

Want Open Office, Youtube, Chromium, printing, webcams, etc.?
Just use Linux on OS4.
The sound, video, keyboard & mouse all pipe through OS4. No need to reboot into Linux, it's already there.





You're running OS4 on your Raspberry Pi 3??? (see title of this thread)

All joking aside, do you have an installation guide, or has anyone else done a "step-by-step" installation guide or video, of how to set up AmigaOS4.1 & Linux to run both transparently, with Linux programs available from the AmigaOS4.1 desktop? (I assume you are running AmigaOS4.1 for Classic via emulation on an x86/x64 PC, on top of Linux, like the Rabbit Hole function of AmigaOS3.x on the A.L.I.C.E. laptop) Edit: If you are running this on your Raspberry Pi3, then I would be surprised if it all runs at a decently fast speed.

Last edited by BoingBear on 31-Mar-2017 at 08:34 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 31-Mar-2017 23:39:55
#79 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 520
From: USA

@BoingBear

It is the RPi3 running on a VNC connection on a X1000. It does run at decently fast speeds, not super, but more than usable. For 40 bucks? It is just great.

I do not have the RPi connected to a monitor, thats all through the X1k and its sound is plugged into the Line input on the X1Ks SBLive!

One click and it's up and running. Sure beats having to reboot to use Linux.

_________________
A1-X1000, x86 Linux, RaspberryPi 3 Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ne_one 
Re: Raspberry Pi 3
Posted on 1-Apr-2017 19:24:15
#80 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jun-2005
Posts: 737
From: Unknown

This might be covered elsewhere in the thread but is anyone running UAE on an RP3?

A friend and I were discussing the relative performance of various emulation platforms and we both wondered where the ARM-based systems would come in relative to the x86 and the running on classic hardware or the Vampire.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle