Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5523 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 59 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 wawa

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 wawa:  28 secs ago
 eggman:  19 mins ago
 Rob:  20 mins ago
 jabirulo:  26 mins ago
 Bezzen:  39 mins ago
 WolfpackN64:  47 mins ago
 evilFrog:  49 mins ago
 Aslak3:  56 mins ago
 Cammy:  56 mins ago
 phoenixkonsole:  56 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /   Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )
PosterThread
pavlor 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 31-Dec-2016 23:24:09
#81 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8013
From: Unknown

@Acill

I read again your config, I see you have "a3000mem_size=64", I have 0, but I think problem lies here:

You have:
maprom=0xe00000

I have:
maprom=0x0
uaeboard=full+indirect


Edit: Interesting: I tried your config with my FE and FEu1 installations and it works. Really weird. You use RDB hardfiles, right?

Last edited by pavlor on 01-Jan-2017 at 12:01 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Acill 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 0:41:06
#82 ]
Member
Joined: 5-Jan-2006
Posts: 99
From: Port Hueneme, Ca.

@pavlor

Nope, didnt work. Ill wait and see if a nre iso comes out and install clean again. It works with previous build, but as soon as I update it hangs.

Last edited by Acill on 01-Jan-2017 at 01:39 AM.

_________________
I do motherboard recaps and other enhancement/upgrades! Visit. www.acill.com or PM for a quote.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 4:15:07
#83 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@SinanG

Allright! That's a good way to start the year :D

Now all we need is Tabor (X hardware is nice but a tad expensive...)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 9:34:37
#84 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@zz10dh
Quote:

yes, it's windows 8.1 and latest 64bits WinUAE 3.4.0 on a i7-4770k

Odyssey is smooth, maybe 4-5 seconds to load it.


Good enough, on my old peg2 loading of odyssey are the same 4-5 seconds.

How fast from when you press "start" in winuae till usable desktop ? I have about 45 seconds on some old i5 and loading of odyssey take about 40 seconds on that config as well. Thinking of buying some modern notebook for making fast os4 emulator, just want to be sure it can be fast enough.. Can you say what exactly whole cpu model/family is, as well as how much of caches , etc ?

ps. as i see on your screenshot you have system and work partitions, are they 2 different hardfiles which are units 0 and 1 on cybppc.device ?

Last edited by kas1e on 01-Jan-2017 at 09:36 AM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TRIPOS 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 10:04:44
#85 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2014
Posts: 629
From: Unknown

@Daedalus

Quote:

Daedalus wrote:
@TRIPOS

Quote:

TRIPOS wrote:

Anyway, reading the release note it looks like this is not a H/W agnostic release at all (which I thought was the point), but still different releases for different H/W? Can you confirm this?

Of course it's not hardware agnostic - OS4 is necessarily different at a low level for different hardware.




Exactly like any other OS on the planet then!

For example, this single ISO image... http://www.morphos-team.net/morphos-3.9.iso ...supports more than 80 systems, including "G2", G3, G4 and G5 computers, desktops, two different lines of laptops, etc.


Quote:
I don't remember ever seeing anything saying it was supposed to be hardware agnostic... What I do remember reading was that it was supposed to bring all 4.1FE editions up to the same level, since the X5000 had some newer components than the FE release. But I can see why that might be confusing.


Yes I suppose I got confused by this, as I simply took for granted that they were working towards one single OS release instead of continuing maintaining several in parallel. But I suppose this is their way of achieving a MorphOS inspired licensing scheme but without using a key file - if you have 3 different computers, you pay for 3 different licenses since they are in practice different releases hardcoded for just one computer system.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TRIPOS 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 10:25:26
#86 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2014
Posts: 629
From: Unknown

@Niolator

Quote:

Niolator wrote:
I just hope the update for X5000 isn't too far away as we obviously don't have a full version of update 1. After that they can hopefully concentrate on AmigaOS 4.2 fully.


Reading the comments here and elsewhere, it seems there is an imminent need for a minor OS4.1 Final Edition Update 2 bugfix release before doing anything else.

Speaking of this, Hyperion's naming scheme has got completely out of control. It's like a riddle that gets more and more complex with every release. Better use version numbers instead, this release for example is de-facto OS4.1.9. An OS4.1 Final Edition update 2 (an upcoming small bugfix release) would be OS4.1.10. Then the next major, feature-introducing release will probably be OS4.1.11. And so on.

Regarding OS4.2, that will never happen in the shape it has been promised, since its key features simply aren't possible on Amiga without breaking everything that makes it Amiga. But this on the other hand, is perfectly doable. The MorphOS Team has set out to do it. But the changes would be so fundamental (with lost Amiga compatibility, requiring a completely new S/W base, etc) that a 5.0 version number would make more sense than a minor +x.1 version bump.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 10:51:02
#87 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8013
From: Unknown

@kas1e

There are many configuration options for HDD setup, eg. I use:

DH0 (1 GB RDB hardfile on cybppc.device unit 0; AmigaOS4.1FE; SFS/00)
CD (CD image file or host drive on cybppc.device unit 1)
DH1 (128 GB RDB dynamic hardfile on cybppc.device unit 2; Work; SFS/00)
DH2 (2 GB RDB hardfile on cybppc.device unit 3; used as share disk between OS3/4 configurations before introduction of host FS support; SFS/00)
DHP (host file system)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ilbarbax 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 11:10:12
#88 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2010
Posts: 137
From: Italy

@JurassicC

thanks for the hint.
At the end I had to remove from the startup-sequence all the ";BEGIN" ";END" because the system was always claiming BEGIN command does not exists. So for me the quickest solution was to remove all them.
Then I had to remove USBrecyle from user startup and digiclock and limpidclock from the wbstartup list.
I haven't yet investigate about which of those 3 was the guilty. But for the moment I'm fine.

Now the new year can start...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 11:45:38
#89 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@Pavlor
What you config of PC for winuae ? I mean CPU, l2-l3 caches and ram. And also how fast till usable desktop after pressing "start" in winuae and how fast odyssey starts ?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 11:52:05
#90 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8013
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Core i5-2500K 3.3 GHz (it is nearly 6 years old computer of my brother).

WinUAE/OS4.1FEu1 starts in 28s
Odyssey starts in 12s (now, I had different times too...)

Overall integer performance is comparable to G3 500 MHz.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 11:59:40
#91 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3213
From: Unknown

@broadblues

Solved with a reboot, sorry. I forgot to post.

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 11:59:47
#92 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 978
From: Orléans / France

@kas1e

Video link sent by mail.

bye

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 12:16:36
#93 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2966
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

So it works now. I removed all wbstartup en user startup stuff and one by one put them back again.
Now it works fine 😊

But what's new about this update ? Only bug fixes or are there some new features available ?

Thanks

Martin

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 12:17:44
#94 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@Pavlor
Quote:

Core i5-2500K 3.3 GHz (it is nearly 6 years old computer of my brother).

WinUAE/OS4.1FEu1 starts in 28s
Odyssey starts in 12s (now, I had different times too...)

Overall integer performance is comparable to G3 500 MHz.


I reduce starting of odyssey from 40-45second on 13-15 seconds but moving it from FFS to SFS2. Probably loading speed of whole os will be same changed from 40 to about 25s if i wll make boot partion as SFS2 as well.


@zzd10h
Yeah, thanks. Looks good. Through graphics redrawing speed not that good as on real HW , but i assume that because of lucking compositing support in uaegfx.

Loading of os through also take about 20seconds on your vids (so same as on old PCs, seems there no much differencese betwen cpu raw-power..) , but odyssey indeed starts for 5seconds. Its all SFS2 partitions everywhere ?

All i trying to understand now, is what kind of cpu we need (and how much caches), to have speedy as possible os4 emulation, i.e. 5-10 seconds os boot, and 1-2 seconds for odyssey starting :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 12:19:42
#95 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@MetalHeart
See post #18 in that thread for changelogs , but in brief: mostly bug fixes, and few new featurs (such as possibility to make Z3 ram be not as swap, but as regular fast mem, which please emulator users).


_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kamelit0 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 12:24:30
#96 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2011
Posts: 537
From: Unknown

@kas1e

see http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1074719&postcount=4

kamelito

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 12:29:02
#97 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8013
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Quote:
seconds but moving it from FFS to SFS2.


Well yes, FFS...

Quote:
but i assume that because of lucking compositing support in uaegfx.


UAEGFX driver is 68k (=slower than native).

Quote:
All i trying to understand now, is what kind of cpu we need (and how much caches), to have speedy as possible os4 emulation


Single core CPU speed is most important factor, but don´t expect miracles when using filedisks (maybe these are faster on SSD disks).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 14:38:55
#98 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@pavlor,kamelito

Thanks, but i mean not theory (read that before), but exactly what cpu are the best for today for os4 emulation. I think about 4790k which have cores on 4ghz and 8mb of l3. Should be ok imho.

As for uaegfx 68k which slower than native - not sure it is reasson of slower video, it is emulation after all. And i checked native picasso4 vs uaegfx, its about the same visually

Last edited by kas1e on 01-Jan-2017 at 02:41 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 14:46:24
#99 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8013
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Quote:
native picasso4


Native? OS4 Picasso IV driver is 68k too (and even blacklisted for JIT in Compatibility settings).

If you mean slow video playback, there is no overlay/compositing to speed this up. My benchmarks with MPlayer show pure CPU decoding is faster than SAM460EX on my hardware (fast RAM really helps), GFX is the bottleneck there.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragster 
Re: Final Edition Update 1 is OUT
Posted on 1-Jan-2017 16:02:03
#100 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Apr-2003
Posts: 264
From: Mexico City, MEXICO

Thanks Hyperion for the update! I've installed it without issues on my Pegasos II... just wondering... wasn't partition wizard supposed to be fixed with this update? It still doesn't recognize partitions... unless I'm missing something.

Cheers,
D.

_________________
Powerbook G4 1139/MOS 3.9/OSX 10.5.8. Pegasos II 2B5 Mobo. 2 GB RAM. 400 GB x 2 GB ATA HD, USB 2.0 PCI. SoundBlaster Audigy 2ZS Gold. Quad boot: AmigaOS 4.1 FInal Edition, MorphOS 3.9 regged, Debian Lenny PPC, OpenSUSE 11.1. Rockin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle