Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5605 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 64 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 amigakit

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigakit:  2 mins ago
 eliyahu:  5 mins ago
 zipper:  10 mins ago
 Barret:  11 mins ago
 Beans:  26 mins ago
 Am!ga:  28 mins ago
 Rob:  35 mins ago
 Blade2019NL:  41 mins ago
 zzd10h:  45 mins ago
 tlosm:  51 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 )
PosterThread
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 8-May-2017 1:25:02
#101 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@kas1e

Quote:

kas1e wrote:
Did you buy latest radeonHD ? As if no, then you have basic/simple os4-default driver, which have no hw acceleration (so no compositing), no more than 1024x768, and all the stuff disabled.

edit: and r5-230 didn't supported by 3d (not by warp3d_Si, not by warp3d nova). Few days ago Alfkil ask the same on amigans.net just to found it.



Yep, I bought the RadeonHD driver from AmiStore.

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 8-May-2017 15:48:55
#102 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@outrun1978

Quote:
The R5 240 is now supported for under the latest version of the Radeon HD driver...


Cool, a really low cost GCN option.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 8-May-2017 15:54:40
#103 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@daveyw

Quote:
Yep, I bought the RadeonHD driver from AmiStore.


Great, you've got a drivers for the 6850 you mentioned (and a lot of other cards).

Quote:
and r5-230 didn't supported by 3d...


Didn't think so, its not a good solution anyway.

Frankly, GCN2&3 support would be more important.
Occasionally I can pick up R7 260X cards (GCN2) on eBay for less than the retail cost of an R5 230.

And support for the RX 550 and RX 560 would also be really useful.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 8-May-2017 16:59:34
#104 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 307
From: Stockport, England

Just got an email to advise that my x5000/Cyrus motherboard is arriving tomorrow 🙂.

Just waiting on the rest of the components to arrive from another supplier 🙂

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 8-May-2017 22:38:25
#105 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@iggy

I decided to pass on the 6850. I found a second hand Sapphire R9 270x Toxic on ebay for only 60 quid, so I've bought that. With postage that's about 160 NZD, or probably around 100 USD.

Seemed a bit too good to be true, but fingers crossed...

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 9-May-2017 1:54:01
#106 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3924
From: Australia

@iggy

Quote:

iggy wrote:
@Spectre660

Quote:
time for me to throw in the powerpc towel. Over and out.


Wow!
Not cool at all.
Tabor's not released yet, or the P5040 based X5000, and a PPC/Linux advocate leaves the house.

I'm still buying one last PPC system, but the writing is on the wall folks.
No Freescale no AMCC, no PPCs...as was said....over and out.

Qualcomm takes over NXP Semiconductors which owns Freescale.

Qualcomm is a stronger company when compared to Freescale, NXP and any semiconductor vendor less than rank 3.

Last edited by Hammer on 09-May-2017 at 01:56 AM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-4790K @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR3-2133 16GB RAM, MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti Gaming

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 9-May-2017 19:35:36
#107 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1756
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

Are You still waiting like here many of us some goods for the AmigaOneXE;) ?



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 9-May-2017 19:55:04
#108 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5544
From: S.Wales

@PR

Quote:
Are You still waiting like here many of us some goods for the AmigaOneXE;) ?


I enjoyed the XE for what it offered for many years and then upgraded to an X1000 at the first opportunity.

What are you waiting for on the XE. Have you tried experimenting with upgrading the video hardware? Nobody seems to have made any effort to determine if the SI based RadeonHD cards and therefore Warp3D Nova works.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dandy 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 12-May-2017 11:06:10
#109 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Mar-2003
Posts: 3049
From: Cologne * Germany

@newlight

Quote:

newlight wrote:
@kas1e


...
YAM doesn't help me to send-receive mails.Why not if I have installed AmiSSL later v4.1 before 4.0?
...



Which YAM Version are you using?

_________________
Ciao

Dandy
__________________________________________
If someone enjoys marching to military music, then I already despise him.
He got his brain accidently - the bone marrow in his back would have been sufficient for him!
(Albert Einstein)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 12-May-2017 11:20:16
#110 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@daveyw

Quote:
I found a second hand Sapphire R9 270x Toxic on ebay for only 60 quid, so I've bought that.


COOL! A high performing GCN Gen1 card.
Really good choice, hope it works out, the price seems to good to be true.
Remember to stress test it to check for proper functioning and artifacts.

If its not 100%, ask for a refund, if they balk, get one from eBay.
BUT, hopefully everything will be perfect.

I have an HD7770 I bought through eBay, and it works great.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 12-May-2017 23:04:11
#111 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@iggy

Quote:

Remember to stress test it to check for proper functioning and artifacts.



How would I do that? Cow3D?

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 13-May-2017 15:09:05
#112 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 307
From: Stockport, England

@thread

My set up and installation of my new X5000 went well yesterday. Am currently in the process of transferring across a lot of the software from my Amigaone500/Sam 460 machine so havent had the chance to do too much...

A few things i have noted over the past 24 hours:


The OS- it may a pre-release but it is pretty stable

Sound on the X5000- I bought a cheap CMI-8738 card which worked at first but then the sound disappeared which is a known problem with these types of card so had to swap to use an Envy 24-HT based card from the Amigaone500 machine and that works with no issues. Anyone sourcing components is advised to go for an Envy 24-Ht sound card


Odyssey- It is like using a completely different browser compared to the Amigaone 500/Sam 460 Pages load up and render much quicker on this beast.

Running classic software: On the Sam 460, games like Lotus III and R-Type 2 in particular were full of choppy sound and ran slowly. I often had to skip frames. On the X5000 thankfully there are no issues.

OS4 specific games: Super Tux Kart now runs at a decent speed and been enjoying playing this.



One final thing... Many thanks to Amigakit for their speedy delivery of my board. From ordering to having the board in my posession was less than 72 hours

Last edited by outrun1978 on 13-May-2017 at 03:19 PM.
Last edited by outrun1978 on 13-May-2017 at 03:12 PM.

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 13-May-2017 22:38:14
#113 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@outrun1978

Quote:

My set up and installation of my new X5000 went well yesterday.


Good to hear!

Quote:

Sound on the X5000- I bought a cheap CMI-8738 card which worked at first but then the sound disappeared which is a known problem with these types of card so had to swap to use an Envy 24-HT based card from the Amigaone500 machine and that works with no issues. Anyone sourcing components is advised to go for an Envy 24-Ht sound card


Well, I'd already ordered my CMI-8738 card, but it's only $15 so if it turns out to be buggy, it's not a huge loss. I wonder if its the hardware or our driver that's the issue?

The sticking point for me is that I need PCIe, as I'm using both PCI slots.

Quote:

Odyssey- It is like using a completely different browser compared to the Amigaone 500/Sam 460 Pages load up and render much quicker on this beast.


Couldn't agree more! It's very nice to use, better than Firefox I use on the PC at work.

Wanted to try Timberwolf, but it just crashes.

Quote:

One final thing... Many thanks to Amigakit for their speedy delivery of my board. From ordering to having the board in my posession was less than 72 hours


Couldn't agree less! For me, it was more like a month. Once they have dispatched, it was pretty quick, but it took them awhile to sort my order. Still, I'm not complaining.

As a matter of interest, what GFX card are you using?

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 13-May-2017 22:40:10
#114 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@outrun1978

Quote:

Am currently in the process of transferring across a lot of the software from my Amigaone500/Sam 460 machine


Yeah, I got Samba running yesterday to transfer stuff from my A1XE. But I found the Execute flag kept getting switched off!

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 13-May-2017 23:29:29
#115 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 307
From: Stockport, England

@daveyw

i actually find Timberwolf is pretty usable on the x5000, i am using the version on Aminet btw and not the one from OS4depot as that one crashes.

I am using a Club 3d Radeon R7 250E card in my machine (its a rebadged Radeon HD 7750)

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 17-May-2017 19:25:02
#116 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@iggy

Quote:

iggy wrote:

COOL! A high performing GCN Gen1 card.
Really good choice, hope it works out, the price seems to good to be true.
Remember to stress test it to check for proper functioning and artifacts.

If its not 100%, ask for a refund, if they balk, get one from eBay.
BUT, hopefully everything will be perfect.



Well, the card arrived yesterday. I installed it, powered on, and uBoot came up.

Then, nothing.

The card has a switch to toggle between UEFI and BIOS mode, so I tried switching that.

Same result.

Tried to boot off a CD.

Same result.

Then I tried a reboot. Now, no uBoot, no nothing. Something has happened to the card. The LED on the BIOS/UEFI doesn't power and the LEDs that indicate power consumption don't light up.

So I think I managed to kill it.

Went back to my original Sapphire 7850, and found that I can get that to work - although only from DVI.

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 18-May-2017 4:07:25
#117 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4775
From: New Zealand

@daveyw

Quote:

daveyw wrote:
@iggy

Quote:

iggy wrote:

COOL! A high performing GCN Gen1 card.
Really good choice, hope it works out, the price seems to good to be true.
Remember to stress test it to check for proper functioning and artifacts.

If its not 100%, ask for a refund, if they balk, get one from eBay.
BUT, hopefully everything will be perfect.



Well, the card arrived yesterday. I installed it, powered on, and uBoot came up.

Then, nothing.

The card has a switch to toggle between UEFI and BIOS mode, so I tried switching that.

Same result.

Tried to boot off a CD.

Same result.

Then I tried a reboot. Now, no uBoot, no nothing. Something has happened to the card. The LED on the BIOS/UEFI doesn't power and the LEDs that indicate power consumption don't light up.

So I think I managed to kill it.

Sorry to hear that. Did you have the auxilliary power connector plugged in? That's an easy thing to overlook. Normally the machine won't even boot if you forget that, but there's always a chance that it works until booting the OS (the GPU starts in a very underclocked low-power mode).


Quote:
Went back to my original Sapphire 7850, and found that I can get that to work - although only from DVI.

Glad that's working at least.

Please note that DisplayPort isn't supported. DVI, VGA, & HDMI should all work though, although some cards can have issues (e.g., AtomBIOS bugs).

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 18-May-2017 19:55:18
#118 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 231
From: New Zealand

@Hans

Quote:
Sorry to hear that. Did you have the auxilliary power connector plugged in? That's an easy thing to overlook. Normally the machine won't even boot if you forget that, but there's always a chance that it works until booting the OS (the GPU starts in a very underclocked low-power mode).


I didn't make any hardware changes between reboots. I also tried re-installing the card. I will hang on to it just in case I can get it working - had a similar situation with an AGP card for my A1.

Quote:
Please note that DisplayPort isn't supported. DVI, VGA, & HDMI should all work though, although some cards can have issues (e.g., AtomBIOS bugs).


Yeah, it's weird there's no HDMI output. I've just invested in a DVI-HDMI cable (the monitor I intend to use permanently is actually a TV so doesn't have a DVI input). Haven't tried VGA.

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 20-May-2017 1:01:58
#119 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4775
From: New Zealand

@daveyw

Quote:

daveyw wrote:
@Hans

I didn't make any hardware changes between reboots. I also tried re-installing the card. I will hang on to it just in case I can get it working - had a similar situation with an AGP card for my A1.

True, but weird things can happen.

Quote:
Yeah, it's weird there's no HDMI output. I've just invested in a DVI-HDMI cable (the monitor I intend to use permanently is actually a TV so doesn't have a DVI input). Haven't tried VGA.

Some cards have errors in their AtomBIOS tables. There's also the possibility that the driver isn't interpreting it correctly, even though it works fine with lots of other cards.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle