Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 44 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 BigD

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BigD:  1 min ago
 wawa:  13 mins ago
 Yssing:  16 mins ago
 Raziel:  57 mins ago
 OlafS25:  57 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 Allanon:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 Epsilon:  1 hr 35 mins ago
 retro:  2 hrs 10 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )
PosterThread
Rob 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 2:06:05
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5578
From: S.Wales

@iggy

Quote:
And when are you going to answer my request for the bear statue?


I assume you'll be paying but you've got to give him a bit of an incentive for going to trouble of getting hold of one.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 9:02:52
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3184
From: Russia

@daveyw
Quote:

I'm curious about a pair of jumpers on the motherboard labelled CPU LEDs. What are they for?

I didn't connect it (as my tower seems didn't have it), but probably the same as for other motherboards: if something going wrong, and mb can't start, it will point out on.

@gregor
Quote:

You showed at the beginning of this thread a picture of the AmigaOne System Information Screen. Under the title 'Memory' there is this 'CL=9'... What CL values are possible in the case of X5000/20, and what is it depending on? If you e.g. put a 1333Mhz and 1600MHZ in X5000, do you get different CL values for them...? With what type of Dimm did you get that CL=9?


If i remember right it was 1600mhz one. About memory there is some relevant parts from x5k manual:

Quote:

The P5020 and P5040 variants have two memory controllers.
Each CPU memory controller is connected to a standard DDR3 DIMM slot.

Cyrus Plus uses standard 1.5V DDR3 DIMMs, 2 sockets for P5020/P5040.
The maximum speed supported by the memory controllers is DDR3-1333 for P5020 and DDR3-1600 for the P5040 variant. Faster memory may be fitted but this speed limit will apply.


And with that CL thing not everything as clear like bigger better/worse, all depends:

Quote:

CL:

To know the difference, you have to know what CL means. The CAS latency is the time between accessing memory and being able to read the memory from the output, so 8 is faster than 9 is faster than 10. BUT and this is a huge BUT. Notice the all caps. Sometimes a higher CAS is faster because the memory operates at different speeds. For instance a DDR3 1333 module runs at 666mhz and ha a cycle time of 1.5ns. With a CL of 6 that means it takes 9ns for the memory to be available on the output. However a DDR3 1600 module runs at 800 and has a cycle time 1.25ns. With a CL of 7 it takes 8.75ns. As you can see, even though the CL is higher, it is still faster because the mhz jump increases the cycle time enough to give it a little boost. Going further, DDR3 2000 is just as fast at CL9 as the 1333 is at CL6.

1333vs1600:

You're not going to notice anything different. the only time you would notice, is if you are running one of AMD's new APU processors. It was shown that faster memory did speed up the gaming experience for the integrated GPU. Better to go for 1600mhz cl9.



@dooz
Quote:

The card does not need any any additional power connectors also. I guess it will be fine


Only what i dislike, its noice from fan. Its really loud.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 9:24:02
#43 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1777
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

@kas1e

Can You Clock and Change fan speed like in the NVidia pc?

Very quiet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 10:17:13
#44 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@Rob

Quote:
I assume you'll be paying


ABSOLUTELY!
I wouldn't expect him to do it for free.

Some of you may assume, encouraged by my flippant attitude, that I was joking with our Russian friend.
Far from it, Russians have been some of my BEST customers on eBay.

I've shipped several Amiga components to them, including an A2000 '020 accelerator board.
They have always treated me well (and considering that there is no tracking of deliveries inside of Russia, they could have very well screwed me if the thought had occurred to them).

No, quite seriously, I LIKE the Russian people.
So what if our governments have been "growling" at each other like bears for decades?
Politicians are total a'holes anyway!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 11:32:53
#45 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1474
From: Somewhere in Spain

@kas1e

My Amiga One X-5000 is very fast.Too fast for me maybe haha.But I want to ask here the questions they round on my head since I received on 20th February this year.

YAM doesn't help me to send-receive mails.Why not if I have installed AmiSSL later v4.1 before 4.0?

Games like Return To Castle Wolfstein doesn't run even after unpacking the files from Internet.And I want to play this because it must be a milestone on Amiga gaming.

Smokin' guns crashing

I downloaded the WHDLoad games pack (The same I have on my Amiga 500 with the ACAs) and it doesn't unpack well on my Work: or Games: partition

Simplemail same problem as YAM,doesn't download games

Anymore.Yeah maybe more but I can't remember

Can you help me?

Thanks

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 13:32:05
#46 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

Yes, I can confirm that. The card produce a lot of heat around doing nothing so I guess that is the reason. At one moment (during reboot) I heard max. speed of that fan and that was very loud!

Before I had RadeON HD 5450 passive cooling, but it was very hot also doing nothing so I put small fan to be sure.

I dont know what is normal level of noise for this kind of cards

@dooz
Quote:

The card does not need any any additional power connectors also. I guess it will be fine


Only what i dislike, its noice from fan. Its really loud.
[/quote]

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 13:44:57
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8429
From: Unknown

@newlight

It would be better to start new thread to gain attention.


Quote:
Games like Return To Castle Wolfstein


Do you have all drivers (Warp3D)?

Quote:
and it doesn't unpack well on my Work


An error is reported or extracted files are corrupted?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 13:57:18
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2339
From: Amiga land

@dooz

the fan noise is normal because the radeon dpm are unitialized in uboot. it start initialized after radeon library is loaded or when linux kernel is loaded.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 14:34:33
#49 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1383
From: Cork Ireland

@dooz

With other OSes most ATI cards go into power saving mode (http://www.amd.com/en-us/innovations/software-technologies/mobility/enduro)

it seems it is not enable in our drivers. If you test the same cards in a PC (Linux, or Win) or even on the X5000 itself using Linux, you'll notice they will run cooler and the fan is -I dare say- always running at minimum in normal use (even watching HD movies)

@kas1e

To dampen the noise of the CPU fan you could put some rubber washers between the fan and the heat sink. It's a very easy mod. I don't think it will void the warranty as you you are just rising the fan about 1mm from the heat sink with the washers installed and not taking apart anything.

The 4 washer go one for each screw, between the fan and the heat sink. Do not take away the heatsink from the CPU.

It made a lot of difference on my system.
Using a phone app (so not sure it is reliable) to measure the dB from 30 cm distance, the CPU fan went from 48dB to 31dB. The vibration will not get transferred to the case. Computer case was open, wen it's closed it is even more silent. I did the measuring using a fan-less RadeonHD 5640 card, unfortunately as soon as you put in a more powerful card with a fan, it is going to over sound the CPU fan anyway.


For the X1000 I bought a silent cooler from Marcus Compure in Germany a couple of years ago. The shop appears not to be around anymore but the Cooler seems to fit exactly to the X5000 as well.

edit: emphasised warning.

Last edited by Amigo1 on 01-May-2017 at 02:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 16:53:36
#50 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1474
From: Somewhere in Spain

@daveyw

To activate your Power and HDD lights on the towers.Probably same it has my two Amiga Ones.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 17:55:45
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3184
From: Russia

@newlight

For your problems with mail clients and basic unpacking of things, dunno, its all works as everytime for me.

As for games, they all works. Tested right now on my x5k:

click on image for fullsize






For Wolfnstein you need Return_to_Castle_Wolfenstein_-_The_Platinum_Edition (which is the same as Extended edition, just was released with diffeent name for other countries). So you need to extract from them necessary packs.

As for smoke&guns, it runs as well after unpacking, but, you should aware that it need LibBoostyGFX (without it it can crashes). You can get v1 and v2 from os4depot (both versions should be in your system: sobj directory).


_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 18:18:55
#52 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1474
From: Somewhere in Spain

@pavlor

Yes I have all the drivers of Warp3D Nova installed from my favorite dealer Amedia from France.

About the WHDLoad game complete pack the archive is intact since I downloaded from the Internet months ago.And is to play the games with RunInUAE.

I hope someone here can catch attention for my problems anyway

Amiga Rulessssss!!!!

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 18:28:31
#53 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3184
From: Russia

@newlight

Quote:

To activate your Power and HDD lights on the towers.Probably same it has my two Amiga Ones.

Dave didn't ask about them, he ask about CPU led. Power and HDD one he use as reference.

Quote:

Yes I have all the drivers of Warp3D Nova installed from my favorite dealer Amedia from France.

As i told by 2 posts early: for smoking&guns you need libboostygfx1.so and libboostygfx2.so from os4depot in your sobjs. And for Wolfnstein you need exactly Platinum (or Extended, which is the same) edition of game.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 18:31:20
#54 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1474
From: Somewhere in Spain

@kas1e

I have both all downloaded since months.And I will check is they are installed.I want really to play Smokin Guns onmy X5000.That's a pleasure

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 18:35:34
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3184
From: Russia

@newlight

Quote:

I want really to play Smokin Guns onmy X5000


SmokngGuns playable only on small resolution (i mean 640x480x16, fullscreen). And.. probably that can't be playable, around 25-30 fps whch sometime drops to 10 :)

Probably there will be only help minigl working through w3d nova.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 18:36:06
#56 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2005
Posts: 3569
From: Unknown

@newlight

run this :

version sys:Libs/Warp3D/HWdrivers/W3D_SI.library full

and see if you get this :

W3D_SI.library 1.14 (04/14/2015)



Quote:

newlight wrote:
@pavlor

Yes I have all the drivers of Warp3D Nova installed from my favorite dealer Amedia from France.

About the WHDLoad game complete pack the archive is intact since I downloaded from the Internet months ago.And is to play the games with RunInUAE.

I hope someone here can catch attention for my problems anyway

Amiga Rulessssss!!!!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 20:09:48
#57 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@kas1e

Nice!
Those look VERY cool.
Thanks for the screenshots.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 1-May-2017 21:49:38
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2636
From: Wellington

@ika1e

The production version of the AmigaOne X5000 is supplied with the

Gelid Silent 6 fan which really is silent. I recently changed the fan on my Cyrus beta board and can confirm that the Silent 6 lives up to its name.

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 2-May-2017 5:28:00
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1383
From: Cork Ireland

@TrevorDick

It is indeed, it's the same fan I have on my x5000. Try and put some rubber washers between the fan and the heat-sink and you will hear nothing but a whisper!

We should ask Hans de Ruiter if it is possible to implement power saving modes to the graphics card drivers (probably is but very low on priority ;))

Btw thanks for this great system, to you and of course all involved! 🙂

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: my x5k: have questions and want honest answer ? ask there
Posted on 2-May-2017 7:34:33
#60 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3184
From: Russia

@Trevor
Quote:

The production version of the AmigaOne X5000 is supplied with the

Gelid Silent 6 fan which really is silent. I recently changed the fan on my Cyrus beta board and can confirm that the Silent 6 lives up to its name.


But that one for CPU imho ? CPU ones all silent more or less, problem is those big noice GFX card fans :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle