Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 45 guest(s) on-line.
 4 member(s) on-line.


salass00, klx300r, Overflow, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 tommywright:  53 secs ago
 klx300r:  54 secs ago
 salass00:  2 mins ago
 Overflow:  3 mins ago
 fishy_fis:  6 mins ago
 Tuxedo:  50 mins ago
 int21h:  1 hr 1 min ago
 Vidar:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 Amiboy:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 Raziel:  1 hr 27 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
PosterThread
tlosm 
first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 9-Sep-2017 20:51:17
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

Im try to made x5000 run on qemu
in this shot g5 quad running qemu in multi thread cpu
mate 17.04 ppc distro on 4x e5500 cpu (emulated) one for thread of the host... next step uboot


...im just starting retaking my extra 100 GPB


shot

Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 06:40 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 09-Sep-2017 at 08:54 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 09-Sep-2017 at 08:53 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 09-Sep-2017 at 08:52 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 9-Sep-2017 21:00:15
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1130
From: Oullins, France

@tlosm

Pfffff

Boring.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 9-Sep-2017 21:00:44
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@K-L

i know you can do better

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 9-Sep-2017 21:40:48
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1021
From: Unknown

@tlosm

I don't undestand, what do you want to demonstrate ?

That Linux is better on a Mac than on a X5000 ?
And that OS4 is faster on a X5000 than on a Mac ?

Last edited by zzd10h on 09-Sep-2017 at 09:41 PM.

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 9-Sep-2017 22:02:52
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 352
From: Stockport, England

Well AmigaOS is quicker to use than Linux, and some would say a lot nicer and a lot less frustrating too....

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 9-Sep-2017 22:20:51
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@zzd10h

no is just a vm that will soon (i hope) will be able to run amigaos 4 for x5000 on all Os host and architecture

for now i was running a linux img made for x5000 with the linux kernel of x5000

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 2:37:05
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1130
From: Oullins, France

@tlosm

So, at the moment, absolutely no interest for Amiga users coming on AmigaWorld to get News about Amiga and to talk about AmigaOS.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 6:39:54
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@K-L

x5000 is an?

Quote:
or now i was running a linux img made for x5000 with the linux kernel of x5000


i was pretty sure you was a child...
now im sure you are a child

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 7:52:03
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8425
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Please, refrain from personal attacks.


As of A1 emulation on non-OS4 supported Power(PC) hardware, it is for sure interesting for an Amiga forum, but there is still too long way before it will be at least half useable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 8:10:20
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

im working now for have virtio gpu acceleration it is smp ... pratically for every core/thread of the host qemu use a core of the guest. It mean on a i7 4 core you will have 8 core e5500 running.
for sure not interesting on amigaos view but cool see e5500x8 that are working on linux.
usability can be impreved if the only thing emulated is the cpu and the other parts of the machine are passthru to the host hardware audio,gpu,net,hd

Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 08:10 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 9:13:34
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1130
From: Oullins, France

@tlosm

Yes, refrain from personal attack.

Anyway, we don't understand what you are writing, we don't understand what you are talking about.

The only thing we understand is that you try to emulate the e5500 core of the X5000 (and from what you've written lastly it's not an Amiga since you've already sait it existed befor the appearance of the AmigaOne X5000).

So you try to emulate the e5500 PowerPC core on an x86 (why ?). We already know that the 460 core is slow like hell and unusable.

What is sad is that you think that SMP will help the most powerful Intel or AMD cpu to come closer to a real x5000 whereas I highly doubt it will manage to achieve the performances of a 440ep CPU 400Mhz.

You are trying to make us believe that we must not try the real X5000 since qEmu emulates (well sort of) the e5500 core.

Well, AmigaOS 4.1 will never run correctly on this (and I doubt it will run at all).

And Linux on a PowerPC emulated on a X86 ? Why ?

So, sorry, all this has no interest and you should instead take some time to learn English since at the moment, we don't understand anything (ok a little bit) of what you want to say.

BTW I also speak Italian and I've read your postings there, it's much more intersting to read since it's your native language.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 9:22:12
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8425
From: Unknown

@K-L

Quote:
whereas I highly doubt it will manage to achieve the performances of a 440ep CPU 400Mhz.


Well, integer performance of QEMU on 6 years old computer of my brother is comparable to G3 500 MHz, newer PCs may be even faster (eg. G3 1+ GHz). FPU speed is of course slooooooow.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 9:35:46
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1130
From: Oullins, France

@pavlor

Thanks. Nowadays FPU is really important (less important on Classic systems).

Having tried (and it is still installed) WinUAE PPC (on my AMD FX 9370), I can tell that AmigaOS4.1 emulated is far from being usable as it could be on real systems.

Emulation speed is not the only critaeria to have a fully working system.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 9:56:06
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

im sure of one thing qemu alone not inside winuae will be much more faster.
why have X5000 emulated? because my work will be used on a laptop x86 for os4 mobility or for the future ppc open laptop for have amigaos from very beginning .
the P2080 have iommu for passthru the device (see gpu) plus will full kvm the e5500

Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 09:56 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 10:14:01
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8425
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
im sure of one thing qemu alone not inside winuae will be much more faster.


Well, I benchmarked QEMU emulation with Linux/PPC before WinUAE/QEMU was available. CPU speed is quite similar.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 10:17:54
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

with paravirtualization of the devices ?

edit: plus use the smp threading will made better the emulation.
smp multi threading ppc emulation is available only from 2.10 (the now mainstream)

Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 10:27 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 10:25 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 10:25 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 10:25 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 10:24 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 10:26:16
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8425
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
with paravirtualization of the devices ?


Basic out-of-the-box configuration.

Quote:
edit: plus use the smp threading will made better the emulation.


I will not believe until I see benchmarks.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 10:28:37
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

hehe ... time by time
for now the ram speed is better then the x1000 reported by linux kernel.

Last edited by tlosm on 10-Sep-2017 at 10:28 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 10:32:00
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8425
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
for now the ram speed is better then the x1000 reported by linux kernel.


RAM speed... only when you get better integer/FPU performance it will be interesting.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: first experiment of x5000 on qemu
Posted on 10-Sep-2017 10:34:52
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2335
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

one step by time.
in kvm fpu and cpu are geving good result.
Note i can kvm the x5000 perfecty

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle