Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5647 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 48 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 K-L

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 K-L:  4 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  28 mins ago
 cap:  53 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 cip060:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 OlafS25:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 murakami:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 Drewlio77:  1 hr 37 mins ago
 retro:  2 hrs 7 mins ago
 AmigaPapst:  2 hrs 28 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Most unreliable a1200s
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
g01df1sh 
Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 18:30:54
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

Think I have the most buggy a1200s. My desktop one has not stopped seeing cdrom. And the floppy drive does not even spin up. I have unplugged everything​ so only a1200 power keyboard and floppy drive connected still no life from floppy drive. Floppy power ports is getting power tested by plugging led lights in. I'm confused guess my CIA chips are f**** so hacked of with classic at the minute.

Last edited by g01df1sh on 04-Oct-2017 at 06:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 18:35:51
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4142
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Get some new CIAs then Analogic, AmigaKit or JJB (Amiga France Centre) will do the replacement.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 18:54:10
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2887
From: Westhall, UK

I am a bit of a purist and find having a stock A1200 with modest upgrades and a recap will give a much more pleasant experience than all that rubbish they were selling to make Amiga more like a PC towards the end. Voodoo graphics on an Amiga? Such blasphemy!

Keep it simple and it's less likely to go pop on you. I do run an atx psu though as modern PSU's are powerful and stable.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1220/4 with FPU and 8MB RAM, 4GB KingSpec DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 18:59:01
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@A1200

Desk top one is standard. CIA surface mounted not spending more money on it and having to send it away. Most likely put on eBay or if anybody on here wants it let me know. It's a lemon I look for another one with money I get for it. Which most likely won't be a lot

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 19:12:08
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@g01df1sh

System boots of df1 does df1 still use CIA chips ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 19:19:41
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@g01df1sh

It got frightened of going on eBay it's working now.😀

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 19:20:25
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2887
From: Westhall, UK

@g01df1sh

Yes it does. Likely the drive or cables. If it is the motherboard you can find plenty working/tested on eBay/amibay.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1220/4 with FPU and 8MB RAM, 4GB KingSpec DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 19:41:15
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@A1200

Not sure what it was but ok at min installing wb3.1 from floppies

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 20:13:06
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Happy fish 3.1 installed and cdrom working as well 😀 that's enough for tonight 3.9 Thursday. Amiga are definitely like girlfriends you have your good times and bad times lol

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
danwood 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 1:58:43
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1057
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

It might sound obvious, but is your A1200 recapped?

If not, I'd be looking at caps and replacing them before blaming the CIAs, which in experience I have never seen fail in the A1200. But I've seen lots of weird problems due to failing caps, which is very common in the A1200.

You should get it recapped ASAP if not, you will likely find it cures the problems, if not it will avoid others in the future.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 7:24:21
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@danwood

It has been recapped by Russell cowell. Working last night wake up this morning drive spins then I get df0? Df1: and cdrom still work. Dam dam dam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 10:40:07
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4142
From: UK

@danwood

Quote:
If not, I'd be looking at caps and replacing them before blaming the CIAs, which in experience I have never seen fail in the A1200. But I've seen lots of weird problems due to failing caps, which is very common in the A1200.


All it takes is bad luck whilst hot swapping a printer cable/4-player adapter or joystick/mouse and a CIA can fail.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 11:00:51
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 348
From: Netherlands

@g01df1sh

Another PSU ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 11:14:08
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@bennymee

was wondering about PSU. Have Atx adapter might try that again on PC PSU.

Drive is getting power as it spins but it don't sound right. Normally get little spin and then a few drive grind noises and the disk icons appears. This just spins then df0???

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 11:59:10
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4142
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Sounds like the floppy drive itself. Amigakit fixed one of my External Floppy Drives a few years ago.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 12:03:04
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@BigD

Knew I should of brought from eu amiga not ebay. I'm still not convinced its drive though as it was working fine when I turned it off. Stopped working the next time I turned it on. This is second drive to do this...

Last edited by g01df1sh on 05-Oct-2017 at 12:03 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 12:28:42
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4142
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Not sure what to say really. I'd take it to an Amiga show or Amiga Group Meeting if you spot one close to you and show it to an expert (or AmigaKit) if your worried about postage. Or just remove the drive and send it to AmigaKit to test?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 12:40:36
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@BigD

I could try the drive in my towered amiga to see if it works in that one.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 13:01:44
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 348
From: Netherlands

@g01df1sh

Try remove the floppy, the A1200 will boot if the machine is ok.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 13:13:28
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@bennymee

Amiga boots ok just don't read disks in DF0

Going to take drive lid of tonight and try cleaning it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle