Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5646 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 62 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Overflow:  10 mins ago
 zipper:  21 mins ago
 Frank:  42 mins ago
 graff:  49 mins ago
 tommywright:  1 hr ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 7 mins ago
 Drewlio77:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 AdvancedFollower:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 cip060:  1 hr 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Morphix 
Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 25-Jan-2014 22:44:58
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Aug-2009
Posts: 433
From: Greece

Hello folks. I want to try and install Linux on AmigaOne XE.

There are various topics with many pages to read, I know it. Thanks Amigaworld for this!

To save some time I want to ask two simple questions.

Is there a link for an up to date guide on how to install Linux on XE?

Is there a link to an iso of an up to date installer to download? Of course this iso should fit to the mentioned guide.

Thanks a lot.

Last edited by Morphix on 25-Jan-2014 at 10:55 PM.

_________________
Peg1, Peg2, Efika,
Amiga 500, Amiga 600, Amiga 1230,
Amiga 1200PPC, Amiga 4000PPC,
CDTV, CD32,
Sam 440EP, AmigaOne XE,
MacMini PPC, PowerMac G4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 0:46:06
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1072
From: Surf City - Huntington Beach, Ca.

@Morphix,

I know it's out there. My A1XE shipped with it before OS4 was ready, Was good until I did a "get" command. locked out after that. Must be better now days.

Chris

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 8:16:25
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 222
From: Sacramento, CA

@Morphix

Try intuitionbase.com

lots on amigaone xe

M

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 8:37:58
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2636
From: Wellington

or even this site which was originally dedicated to Eyetech's AmigaOne machines:-

http://amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net/index.php

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 10:42:57
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@Morphix

Quote:
Morphix wrote:
Hello folks. I want to try and install Linux on AmigaOne XE.

There are various topics with many pages to read, I know it. Thanks Amigaworld for this!

Yes, unfortunately the information is spread over several threads and sites.

My plan would be to put all necessary information in the wiki on soureforge.net/projects/amigaone-linux/wiki/browse_pages/.

Quote:
To save some time I want to ask two simple questions.

Is there a link for an up to date guide on how to install Linux on XE?

Sorry, not really at the moment. I think Hypex is preparing something for his Debian installer.

Quote:
Is there a link to an iso of an up to date installer to download? Of course this iso should fit to the mentioned guide.

Hypex prepared a Debian Squeeze installer some time ago, which uses a 2.6.31 kernel. Note however that it may not run flawlessy on G4 machines. I have Debian Wheezy running fine on my A1SE, but I can barely get it to boot on my A1XEG4 at the moment with any 3.2+ Linux kernel.

Maybe Hypex can post the link to the installer.

Quote:
SACC-dude wrote:
@Morphix

Try intuitionbase.com

lots on amigaone xe

Well, intuitionbase.com surely contains a lot of information for Linux distributions based on the 2.4.x kenel versions, but I'm afraid it is not relevant for any distribution that came after Debian Sarge (and that was a long time ago).

Quote:
TrevorDick wrote:
or even this site which was originally dedicated to Eyetech's AmigaOne machines:-

http://amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net/index.php

I only maintain the soureforge.net/projects/amigaone-linux/ project site nowadays as good as time permits. This is were you can find "recent" Debian kernel images.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 10:59:43
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2357
From: Amiga land

@Geri

Interesting post I will try to install Linux on my xe 933 too
Thanks

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Controller 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 11:12:15
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Sep-2003
Posts: 131
From: Unknown

@Morphix

Hi Morphix,

As others have mentioned information about installing Linux on the AmigaOne XE is scattered all over the Internet. When I tried to install Linux on my AmigaOne I tried to gather this information.
Because others asked for my notes on how I did it I prepared these two documents:

How to install Debian Woody on a second harddisk

How to upgrade from Debian Woody

They are not up to date on the newest Linux but they might be a start.

Kind regards
Controller

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 11:24:44
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
tlosm wrote:
@Geri

Interesting post I will try to install Linux on my xe 933 too

Good to hear!

Please note however that I cannot guarantee, if it works on a G4 machone.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 11:25:28
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2357
From: Amiga land

@Geri

ok in case i will report :)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 26-Jan-2014 16:32:30
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1790
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

Nice. Still waiting for the XE to be fully supported;)

(Altivec & all)


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 27-Jan-2014 4:18:40
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1072
From: Surf City - Huntington Beach, Ca.

@PR,

I thought OS4+ was supporting Altivec for for a long time?

Chris

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 27-Jan-2014 13:09:01
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8722
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Morphix

If you like you can try my Debian Squueze Testing ISO.
http://home.lizzy.com.au/dmaen/downloads/Testing/DebianInstaller.lha

However, it is a beta release of what I was working on so may have some bugs. I'd recommend to wait until ny current installer is tested and working.

Still, the beta installer does work and should provide you with a fully installed system. The only thing is there are issues with booting and I don't know if this is just a partition setup thing. It worked with existing Linux volumes but there was some problem on a fresh install.

It needs this once the installer loads off CD.
http://cdimage.debian.org/mirror/cdimage/archive/6.0.8/powerpc/iso-cd/

If I still haven't put you off, you simply insert the CD and autoboot off it, then pick an install option. From then on it's following the prompts. It just needs one volume for Linux and likes another for swap.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 27-Jan-2014 13:25:41
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8722
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Controller

Nice guides Thanks for the mention

Even though I wouldn't recommend this older release anymore, apart from broken package links and needing to manually setup kernel and boot menu, I might as well provide alink to my Etch install guide for reference.

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=26623&start=0&post_id=450653&order=0&viewmode=flat&pid=0&forum=34#450653

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 27-Jan-2014 13:28:52
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8722
From: Greensborough, Australia

@PR

Quote:
Nice. Still waiting for the XE to be fully supported;)


What, in Linux? I thought Linux had good support on the XE. What else is needed? I don't know what's needed for Linux apps to be optimised for AltiVec.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 27-Jan-2014 23:54:21
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1790
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

@QuikSanz

@ Hypex


But we wan't more;)

Where is this thing called an Internet program to "surf" in the wild net and the 2600n HP LaserJet PrinterDrivers etc.

AltiVec I know but Please PM me for any programs that use it seriously.

I would like some kicking stuff to test.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 28-Jan-2014 2:13:43
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8722
From: Greensborough, Australia

@PR

At first I was going to reply in the context of OS4 but then as you asked in a Linux thread I gave a Linux related answer instead.

As such what you ask for is available in Linux. Didn't you see?

If you mean OS4 then it isn't specific to the XE if it doesn't have printer drivers and what not. We do have modern browsers but since none print what do you need a printer driver for?

BTW, AV apps have been talked about in other threads, if not a thread about that exact topic. AFAIR most things using AV would be video or sound converters.

Last edited by Hypex on 28-Jan-2014 at 02:16 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 28-Jan-2014 15:53:49
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@PR

IIRC for Debian there is an inofficial Altivec accelerated MPlayer available in the deb-multimedia.org repository. I don't know however if all the official Debian packages make use of Altivec.

If you talk about OS4, then...dunno

Last edited by Geri on 28-Jan-2014 at 03:54 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 28-Jan-2014 17:10:34
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2005
Posts: 3569
From: Unknown

@Geri

The standard Debian Mplayer uses Altivec.
I had to use official sources and follow instructions to compile a version without Altivec
for Sam machines.

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@PR

IIRC for Debian there is an inofficial Altivec accelerated MPlayer available in the deb-multimedia.org repository. I don't know however if all the official Debian packages make use of Altivec.

If you talk about OS4, then...dunno

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 28-Jan-2014 19:31:46
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@Spectre660

Quote:
Spectre660 wrote:
@Geri

The standard Debian Mplayer uses Altivec.
I had to use official sources and follow instructions to compile a version without Altivec
for Sam machines.

Really? In that case it wouldn't run on Mac G3 machines, too!? Or does Debian's version of Mplayer a runtime check for Altivec support that doesn't work on 4xx CPUs?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Beginner on AmigaOne XE Linux
Posted on 28-Jan-2014 20:06:57
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2005
Posts: 3569
From: Unknown

@Geri

Maybe it is so from Wheezy. I do recall having video playback work in Squeeze .
This was the source of my info.
http://ppcluddite.blogspot.com/2012/03/installing-debian-linux-on-ppc-part-v.html

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@Spectre660

Quote:
Spectre660 wrote:
@Geri

The standard Debian Mplayer uses Altivec.
I had to use official sources and follow instructions to compile a version without Altivec
for Sam machines.

Really? In that case it wouldn't run on Mac G3 machines, too!? Or does Debian's version of Mplayer a runtime check for Altivec support that doesn't work on 4xx CPUs?

Last edited by Spectre660 on 28-Jan-2014 at 08:11 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle