Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5604 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 62 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  WolfpackN64

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BigD:  1 min ago
 WolfpackN64:  3 mins ago
 utri007:  19 mins ago
 vox:  20 mins ago
 amigakit:  32 mins ago
 theamigaman:  35 mins ago
 eliyahu:  35 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  38 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  42 mins ago
 VooDoo:  42 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Register To Post

PosterThread
outrun1978 
New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 14:14:18
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 285
From: Stockport, England

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=72232

Elbox Computer is happy to announce a new tower system for Amiga 1200 computers. BlackBOX 1200 is a perfectly designed, modern, functional, spacious and stylish black tower case.

BlackBOX 1200 allows comfortable use of the most expanded Amiga 1200 computers equipped with Mediator PCI 1200 TX, Mediator PCI 1200 LT4 or Mediator PCI 1200 busboards.

BlackBOX 1200 replaces the discontinued D-BOX 1200, Mirage 1200 and E/BOX 1200 (also known as A1200 Power Tower and A1200 Winner Tower) Amiga tower systems.

BlackBOX 1200 tower systems are just available on preorders at
Elbox Online Store for customers from the European Union,
Elbox Online Store for customers from other countries.

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 14:14:43
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 285
From: Stockport, England

Glad to hear there is finally a new tower system for the A1200, its been long overdue..

However

250.00 for a tower to house the 25 year old motherboard
270.00 for a mediator
100.00 for a Radeon HD card
120.00 for an Indvision so i can get HDMI output
500-600 plus for a 2nd hand PPC board
100.00 for a rapid road so i can use USB joystick, mouse and keyboard
Total 1300-1400 to upgrade my existing A1200 set up

and people think the new Amigaone X5000 is expensive at 1699.00.......

My money is on buying the new Amigaone X5000 rather than using 25 year old hardware from what I have been hearing the X5000 is a quantum leap over my existing Amigaone 500 machine.....

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BoingBear 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 18:32:12
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2015
Posts: 126
From: Unknown

@outrun1978

Yeah, I don't think that using the old Phase5/DCE PPC accelerators is a good option anymore, too expensive and fragile. If users want to run PPC software, it is much better to buy any of the other alternatives to run OS4, or MorphOS, and keep their A1200's in the stock wedge case (or a newly manufactured wedge case), with an 68030, or 68060 without PPC accelerator, for running m68k games and software. Also, you could wait for the Vampire for A1200 FPGA accelerator, assuming it will get produced in the near future (6 months to 2 years).

I just don't see the appeal to struggle running OS4 and PPC software on original Amiga hardware, when there are so many better, and faster hardware options available now. It is not like it was several years ago, when new AmigaOne hardware was not available, and MorphOS had not yet been ported to Apple's PPC Mac computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 20:47:49
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 649
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@BoingBear

I bought a previous tower case for my 1200 awhile back. It drastically increased my expand-ability options. My 1200 Tower sits proudly by my PC and Sam460ex and gets used almost as often.

To me, the price and upgrade options are matter of perspective. If you feel the true Amiga spirit is best captured in the classic hardware, then price is not really a concern. It's nice to see options such as these are still available to Amiga Classic enthusiasts and I am thankful for companies that still offer hardware upgrades for the original platform.

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 14-Apr-2017 at 08:50 PM.
Last edited by Drewlio77 on 14-Apr-2017 at 08:48 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 21:32:57
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5648
From: Unknown

good thing is these prices will prevent butchering the guts out of a genuine 1200 case to put it in some tower. im neither going to buy any os4 hardware any soon, an amiga tower conversion kit, nor would buy mediator today. simply wait a bit for vampire 1200 and otherwise leave the original machine as is.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
stevieu 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 21:37:33
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Apr-2003
Posts: 647
From: England, UK

It would be nice to actually see some pictures available on their website!

I shall stick to making my own modifications these days though... should I need to accommodate any more Amiga 1200 motherboards that is

Steve

_________________
A1200T - OS4.0,OS3.9: 603e PPC 200mhz,060 50mhz, 256mb ram, FastATA MK-III, BVision, 160gb,20gb HDDs

A1200 - OS3.1: Blizzard IV 030, 64mb ram, 400mb HDD

OS4.x - Flying the AMIGA flag

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 21:37:48
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 3919
From: UK

@wawa

Yeah, I always thought A1200 towers were sacrilege! I remember ringing Eyetech about an external Zip Drive for my CD32 SX32 and they thought I wanted to rehouse my CD32 initially because Towers were all the rage! Can you imagine what a mess that would have made of such great miniture Amiga technology! What happened to all the Amiga 1200 cases from that era I wonder? What a waste. If big box Amigas had stayed available after the C= crash there's no way so many A1200s would have been hacked like that.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
evilFrog 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 22:23:43
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jan-2004
Posts: 285
From: UK

@BigD

Yeah, I really love how portable the cd32 is, and yet still capable of being a 'serious' computer if you need one.

_________________
"Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard, be evil."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smartroad 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 10:47:14
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2005
Posts: 175
From: United Kingdom

I have recently de-towered my A1200 back into the desktop case haha

The towers were always ugly to me (compared to the big box Amiga's). I had it in a tower when I was using it as my main computer, but having long switched to PC's nostalga was the order of the day and I didn't need all the expansion ability of the tower.

My only regret is not being able to use my BVision card while in the desktop case as it just doesn't get enough power. I can live with that though then having to have it in a massive tower. Don't really see the point of having an old Amiga in a tower these days.

The only thing I will be getting next is the Apollo/Vampire when they come out and losing the PPC accelerator card (although I may put it into another A1200 to run OS4 on).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 18:50:29
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3144
From: Toronto, Canada

@outrun1978

ah cool Elbox still making nice 1200 cases but need more pics on the site though

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
AspireOS= Amiga on my netbook!
X1000 I BEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kay 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 20:30:50
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 1394
From: Norway

I really liked my old Elbox "Power Tower 1200", but I am planning to move my A1200 back into its original case. Putting the A1200 in a tower case made sense to me when I was expanding it as much as I could in order to use it as my main computer for as long as possible. Back then, I had a Mediator PCI/PPC accelerator/Voodoo 3 setup. These days, I want something which looks and feels more like the original, though.

Anyway, I'm glad to see Elbox are still around, making products for the Amiga. They should put some pictures up, though, I don't see why anyone would want to preorder a tower case without knowing what it looks like.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 16-Apr-2017 22:19:16
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1750
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

E-Box is ok. Sitting beside the dt, XE and pc.

The new A1200:s are just too Great and clean white.

Someone asked where the xxx did You get them?

Maybe a secret;)

Not towerising. Only One+ AmigaOne.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Simon 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 17-Apr-2017 10:38:20
#13 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 977
From: Antwerp / Belgium

I like my towers, the E/BOX aka PowerTower the most. No power problems, no overheating and very easy to add a big harddrive and an optical drive.

It is modular so you do not have to buy all those expansions like a mediator at once. But the initial price of that tower .... that's rather steep and must be based on a "Amigans throw money at everything anyway"-thought.

Last edited by Simon on 17-Apr-2017 at 10:38 AM.

_________________
- Proud Member Of The Belgian Amigaclub Since 2003 -

The Belgian Amiga Club on FACEBOOK !

The Belgian Amiga Club Website

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 17-Apr-2017 22:20:06
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1750
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

It just works with all the Best perhiperals.

A Dream Machine. Classic Really.




 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mcbone 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 18-Apr-2017 12:04:46
#15 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-May-2013
Posts: 500
From: Unknown

@outrun1978

I like to known why do people put their Amiga 1200 or 600 into a tower for ??

world you put your old Amiga 500 into a tower
me no to all 3

i did have one from eyetek with ibm never work from day one

_________________
maybe i am dyslexia

An Apple a day keep bill gates away

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zipper 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 18-Apr-2017 12:43:52
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Jul-2005
Posts: 223
From: finland

@mcbone

Yes for A500, to get Blizzard 2060 and Picasso IV working with it. A nice upgrade in speed and graphics...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 18-Apr-2017 13:35:38
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1750
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

For 060 and PIV too to the Zorro slots and more power and memory and the amazing world of internet card, cooling, CD+DVD drives and...

Maybe the reason. Some wiser could co-help. Can't stick them to a desktop.

We want more.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 18-Apr-2017 15:35:59
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 649
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@mcbone

Easy answer, expand-ability in a neat enclosure. I am a purist as well. Though I have a towered Amiga 1200 with Mediator Bus board, I also have a stock Amiga 1200, 600 and A500 in all their original classic glory.

My A1200 Tower Setup:

Phase5 PPC 060@66 MHz, 603e @ 240 Mhz
128 MB of 60ns RAM
Medaitor 1200TX busboard
Voodoo 3 3000 16 MB Graphics card (also a Radeon 9250 as a backup)
Sound Blaster 16, 16bit Soundcard
DLink 10/100 Ethernet card
Spider 5 Port USB 2.0 Card
Prisma Megamix Audio decoder via clock port (MP3, FLAC, etc decoding)
Fast ATA MK V with 3.1 Roms
2 x 80 GB IDE HDD
Pioneer IDE DVR Rom
Rys MKII adapter (for my Wireless Logitech Mouse)
Sum USB adapter (for my Logitech Wireless Keyboard)

I run most of my productivity programs at 1920x1080 (8 or 16bit). Worrkbench and Web Browsers at 16 bit. This set up is pretty snappy.

Like I said, I love both, the stock Classic experience (un-modded original case) and the Amiga Classic on steroids.

Power to the people :)

Drewlio77


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: New Elbox Tower for the A1200
Posted on 18-Apr-2017 23:34:45
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3144
From: Toronto, Canada

Quote:

Drewlio77 wrote:
@BoingBear

I bought a previous tower case for my 1200 awhile back. It drastically increased my expand-ability options. My 1200 Tower sits proudly by my PC and Sam460ex and gets used almost as often.

To me, the price and upgrade options are matter of perspective. If you feel the true Amiga spirit is best captured in the classic hardware, then price is not really a concern. It's nice to see options such as these are still available to Amiga Classic enthusiasts and I am thankful for companies that still offer hardware upgrades for the original platform.

Drewlio77


+1

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
AspireOS= Amiga on my netbook!
X1000 I BEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle