Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5647 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 65 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OneTimer1:  15 mins ago
 K-L:  23 mins ago
 cap:  40 mins ago
 BigD:  50 mins ago
 cip060:  51 mins ago
 OlafS25:  1 hr ago
 murakami:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 Drewlio77:  1 hr 24 mins ago
 retro:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 AmigaPapst:  2 hrs 15 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Amiga spotted on TV!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
spotUP 
Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:23:47
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2893
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

Hey! A while ago when i turned on my TV i got greeted by this picture. :)



It's a photo of Öppna Kanalen, a local TV station in Gothenburg/Sweden that still use their Amiga 24/7!

Last edited by spotUP on 22-Feb-2006 at 03:25 PM.

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hotrod 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:27:30
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2761
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@spotUP

We had a company called Sweden Online (SOL) that used an Amiga for their info channel... They used it till 2002 or something like that...

Pretty cool I think

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:31:18
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 709
From: Cornwall, UK

@hotrod

Cool :) Miggy on tv...

But oooh.. what a nasty time to have a checksum error.. lol

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
saimo 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:40:56
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2008
From: Unknown

@spotUP

OK, this time I won't refrain from posting about this like I did countless times before - after all, I've never seen this sighting mentioned, so here it comes...
The first Patlabor movie (anime fans should know what I'm talking about) shows a directory listing for merely a second or so and, well, that's definitely the list of the commands in the C: directory
If anyone is interested, I can help locate the precise moment.

saimo

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:42:22
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 709
From: Cornwall, UK

@saimo

A screenshot would be nice ^_^

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
saimo 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:51:17
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2008
From: Unknown

@BinoX

Once I had the VHS... once
I'll see if I can find something on the net...

Edit: IIRC the picture comes just a bit before this frame: http://members.iimetro.com.au/~mwhitley/m1-3.jpg
(I think it's unlikely that there is a grab on the net of the frame we are after, as it just depicts an on-screen listing in green letters on a black background... I guess I'll have to ask for help from a friend who has got the DVD )

saimo

Last edited by saimo on 22-Feb-2006 at 04:11 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spotUP 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:57:39
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2893
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

@BinoX

indeed. :) hah, a cool and wellknown thing for all gothengurglers is that öppna kanalen blasts modules most of the day. to bad their selection sucks, but sometimes you'll find yourself listening to some quality mods. =)

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dirk-B 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 15:57:42
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1180
From: Belgium

@saimo

Here are 2 pics from different places in Belgium from the mosaic screen:

http://users.telenet.be/amigaone/pics/3f80.jpg
http://users.telenet.be/amigaone/pics/f177.jpg

_________________
A1G3-SE + OS4.1 u1 iso (x2)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 16:10:23
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 709
From: Cornwall, UK

@Dirk-B

LOL! That fist pic is great...

reminds me of all those blue screened bank machines that I saw in germany... but a whole lot better :D

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kefallinos 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 16:53:04
#10 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2006
Posts: 24
From: An Athenian in Salonica - Hellas

@BinoX

hey,hee in Greece,they still use them in himitos mounten(there are sever antenas in orderthe tv stations to broadcast in Athens)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomas 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 17:19:29
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2003
Posts: 4286
From: Unknown

@spotUP
Let us hope that this HD crash wont make them switch platform..

Our biggest cabletv operator used Amigas with scala in the past as well for their information channel, though they later on switched to win98+scala

Also i saw a wb desktop on all the info tv sets at our airport, including a HUGE projector tv. These tv sets usually showed some info, like weather of different cities, ads and some other airport related info 24/7. They probably have switched systems now, as this was some years back.

I do know of a couple info tv channels around that still use amigas+scala even today.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dirk-B 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 18:38:30
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1180
From: Belgium

@Tomas

Yes, mostly it is with scala. In our amigaclub there is someone who
has made some scripts in arexx for scala and now he can update
the tv's of his football-club live true an wireless connection with an
A1200 and some other hardware stuff.

As i said it before (many times) the Amiga and the TV where one.
Many people are talking abouth interactive tv now, but actualy
it existed already a long time ago.

Can you imagine a tv with an embedded AOS inside?

Well, now is our change to do something like that.


Last edited by Dirk-B on 22-Feb-2006 at 06:40 PM.

_________________
A1G3-SE + OS4.1 u1 iso (x2)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 19:40:38
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3102
From: Beds, UK

@spotUP

Quote:
hah, a cool and wellknown thing for all gothengurglers is that öppna kanalen blasts modules most of the day.


I see they are using HippoPlayer

Chris

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 23:17:22
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5006
From: Sweden

@spotUP

When i lived with my parents i checked the open channel often as i didnt have work that time. They played all our old emulate/transplant tracks. I just put the tv on and there it was. Our stuff again. However i havent watched this channel for ages. I wonder if i could contact them as some of our tunes get lost from aminet so maybe they have any of them.
If you have their email please tell me Spot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spotUP 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 23-Feb-2006 1:04:38
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2893
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

@Kicko

some up rough members have been in contact with them, but i don't have the addy no more... google for them, or check eniro.se.

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lurkist 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 23-Feb-2006 2:50:02
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Jan-2005
Posts: 114
From: S. Wales

A new British sitcom called The IT Crowd features a pair of bumbling idiots in their basement IT room. There are piles of computer bits everywhere, and a C= Pet has a prominent position in the background!

_________________
A1200T, Blizzard 1260 66 + 64MB, OS3.9, 20GB 7200RPM HD, IDEfix97 + 52X CD-RW + DVD-RW + Zip, IOBlix1200P + Scanner, Internal SD/FF + 15" VGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
saimo 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 26-Feb-2006 15:39:23
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2008
From: Unknown

@BinoX

Quote:

A screenshot would be nice ^_^

OK, so I got hold of my friend's DVD (though note that it is a backup copy of his original VHS, so the quality is good, but definitely not the best possible) and captured the "interesting" frames:
- http://img122.imageshack.us/my.php?image=patlabor14ip.png
- http://img100.imageshack.us/my.php?image=patlabor20gx.png
Moreover, a few minutes earlier there is another passage where a couple of computers resembling Amigas/C=64 are shown:
- http://img124.imageshack.us/my.php?image=patlabor31qk.png

Little reminder: these are from Mamoru Oshii's "Patlabor: the movie".

saimo

P.S. I've used the first free image hosting service I found, but it seems a tad slow...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spotUP 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 27-Feb-2006 2:58:20
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2893
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

@saimo

cool! well spotted!

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
saimo 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 27-Feb-2006 12:32:27
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2008
From: Unknown

@spotUP

Quote:

cool! well spotted!

Well, I gotta be honest: that makes me think I'm really sick
The commands list appears, scrolls and disappears in a second (or maybe even less)... how on earth I realized it was a list of AmigaOS commands (by watching it from a videotape using an old VCR whose heads were certainly not in a perfect state!) is definitely beyond me

saimo

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RoqueFort 
Re: Amiga spotted on TV!
Posted on 27-Feb-2006 22:21:53
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2004
Posts: 5760
From: Norfolk, Great Britain

I've said this before, but this seems to be an appropriate thread to say it again.

Has anyone here been to Centerparcs? Great Britain only AFAIK.

_________________
SEX SUX

Sex doesn't prove to me that sex doesn't suck.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle