Click HereClick Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5238 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 66 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Develin,  Kernel

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Develin:  1 min ago
 Kernel:  1 min ago
 freak:  39 mins ago
 CosmosUnivers:  39 mins ago
 Atheist:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 kinchan:  1 hr 24 mins ago
 marko:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 kriz:  1 hr 33 mins ago
 broadblues:  1 hr 59 mins ago
 QuikSanz:  2 hrs 5 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 Next Page )
PosterThread
adiaux 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 8:45:06
#81 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2006
Posts: 1249
From: Unknown

@herewegoagain

Quote:
Within the scope of the Amiga OS, this is the best CPU option bar none.


I don't agree. OS4 is a non-SMP 32-bit OS, and even if you manage to get it run on *one* of the two cores somehow (thus ignoring the other), you would end up paying 100% of $1500 for a machine that you will use to 50% of its potential. I fail to see how this could be "the best CPU option"...

But wasn't there a single-core version also?

Last edited by takemehomegrandma on 06-May-2007 at 12:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
adiaux 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:01:10
#82 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2006
Posts: 1249
From: Unknown

@CodeSmith

Quote:

CodeSmith wrote:
@herewegoagain

Sorry if I'm starting to sound like Helgis, but this has me pretty excited. I fervently hope that the Amiga Inc/Hyperion squabble doesn't f*k this up.


Some people seem to have an attitude of "they have some kind of disagreement, but that's probably nothing really, and hopefully it will get solved soon enough anyway so we all can move forward again".

I'll tell you what, this is more than "a squabble", it's pretty darn *fundamental*! Maybe it was a squabble sometime back in 2003. Then it became a conflict, then it became a war. A few weeks ago, the war went *nuclear*, and the massive clouds you see blowing in from the sea is not the regular clouds you are used to, but radioactive clouds consisting of dust and ashes of what once was Hyperion VOF, and as they cover up the sun, a nuclear winter will fall over the OS4 community. That's what happens right now.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ironfist 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:03:26
#83 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Dec-2004
Posts: 770
From: Pegasos.org

takemehomegrandma:
"But wasn't there a single-core version also?"

Yes, but neither the single-core, nor dual-core will be
"faster than anything PowerPC Apple ever produced"
so I think we must see a quad-core PA Semi, thus paying
1500 USD and using 25%..

Talk about buying a Ferrari and never go from second gear..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:07:13
#84 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2437
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@ironfist

But having multi-core boards with OS4 running on them allows the OS4 devs to start laying the groundwork for SMP support in a future version.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:09:25
#85 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@takemehomegrandma

Quote:
I'll tell you what, this is more than "a squabble", it's pretty darn *fundamental*! Maybe it was a squabble sometime back in 2003. Then it became a conflict, then it became a war. A few weeks ago, the war went *nuclear*, and the massive clouds you see blowing in from the sea is not the regular clouds you are used to, but radioactive clouds consisting of dust and ashes of what once was Hyperion VOF, and as they cover up the sun, a nuclear winter will fall over the OS4 community. That's what happens right now.

The general tone on here over the past week has been quite melodromatic, but that post takes the cake.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ironfist 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:12:26
#86 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Dec-2004
Posts: 770
From: Pegasos.org

takemehomegrandma:
Spot on!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
adiaux 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:14:58
#87 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2006
Posts: 1249
From: Unknown

@xeron

By concept, Amiga can't be SMP. Forcing SMP into the picture will break Amiga.

Last edited by takemehomegrandma on 06-May-2007 at 12:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
adiaux 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:16:10
#88 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2006
Posts: 1249
From: Unknown

@jahc

Thank you!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Returner 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 9:25:20
#89 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Feb-2007
Posts: 60
From: Unknown

@ackcontrls

Quote:

On Monday you will see the actual specification for the board. Most designs lately with high ball count need at least 8 layers, some 10....12 isn't a stretch, especially in the telecommunications industry. Also, the ball count at 1156 isn't much higher than the ball count of the Tsi108/109/110, which is only a host bridge. For all the functionality in this chip, the overal ball count is reduced, along with total component count.


How many layers does your board(s) have ?

_________________
Selur erutangis siht

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hatschi 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 10:18:03
#90 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 1-Dec-2005
Posts: 2320
From: Good old Europe.

@ackcontrls

Quote:
It must be the North American "can do" attitude that enables us to accomplish goals that others believe impossible.


Did you really say "accomplish"? I've almost spilled my coffee...

POWERVIXXEN LT/TL

23-Dec-2004
http://www.amiga.org/modules/news/article.php?storyid=4457
"Products are presently in prototype form running Linux and will be available in Q1 2005."

-->No products were available in Q1 2005

01-Dec-2005
http://www.amiga.org/modules/news/article.php?storyid=6519

28-Dec-2005
http://os4.exec.pl/IRC/amigaos4pl_28122005
"[22:22:53] ackcontrols: The PowerVixxen LT has gone to production, docs are being polished up.
[22:46:02] ackcontrols: End of january give or take."

-->PV LT never went into production and wasn't released end of january.

18-May-2006
http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=3097
"[01:46:56] AmigaBlitter: I rewrite the questions: When you plan to demo the board for the public?
[01:47:32] ackcontrols: AmigaBlitter: End of June."
[01:52:13] AmigaBlitter: availability? end of June?
[01:52:32] ackcontrols: July time frame for availability.
[01:55:09] ackcontrols: PowerVixxen LT
[02:02:56] jahc: when is the high end board going to come out?
[02:03:55] ackcontrols: Goal is to have several products available for AmiRevival show."

-->Board was never demo'ed end of june, wasn't available in july, not a single product was available when AmiRevival was supposed to be held (canceled)

11-Jun-2006
http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=3144
"Barring any unforseen issues, I'm expecting to have the PV LT at the AmiRevival show."
"I've never done a DPaint mockup, but will release pictures by Tuesday."
"A fully licensed Tsi109 based board running OS4 will be at the AmiRevival show."

-->The PV LT or Adam didn't appear on AmiRevival
-->No pictures were released on tuesday
-->No fully licensed Tsi109 based board running OS4 was demonstrated when AmiRevival was supposed to be held (canceled)

CPU MODULES

23-Apr-2006
http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=3047
"Prototype modules will be demonstrated May 22/2006."
"Estimated Availability June 19/2006"

-->No prototypes were demonstrated May 22/2006
-->No modules were available on June 19/2006 (and are still not available)

22-May-2006
http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=3104
"AmigaOne CPU Module Demonstration Rescheduled to Saturday, June 10th, 2006"

-->Demonstration on June 10th, 2006 was canceled

10-Jun-2006
http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=3142
"CPU demo has been cancelled and will not be rescheduled at this time"

AMIGA, INC. & ACK BOARDS

03-May-2007
http://os4.exec.pl/IRC/IRC-amigaworld-ACK_org.txt
"Developer systems will be ready to ship to the select devs mid May'ish."

-->No developer systems were shipped in May

OTHER

Jens Schoenfeld reports to have sent "numerous connector samples" to Adam, who never paid them, neither returned them.

AmigaAbbatoir reported to have sent Adam a board for repairs in November 2004 and prepaid $575 for the repairs, but Adam still hasn't returned the board or the money.
Update: AmigaAbattoir finally received his mainboard in working order on 20 July 2007.

Ivan reports that he is still waiting for a board that he sent to Adam in July 2006.

Chip reports that Adam fixed his A1 in 2005, but that he had to "wait a lot for it."

KneeDeep is still waiting for Adam to return his board.

Terminator3 reports about his experience with ACK Software Controls.

Last edited by hatschi on 24-Jul-2007 at 12:24 PM.
Last edited by hatschi on 17-Jul-2007 at 09:10 AM.
Last edited by hatschi on 16-Jul-2007 at 03:37 PM.
Last edited by hatschi on 08-Jul-2007 at 02:41 PM.
Last edited by hatschi on 08-Jul-2007 at 02:39 PM.
Last edited by hatschi on 13-Jun-2007 at 05:52 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 11:30:05
#91 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2959
From: USA

@takemehomegrandma

???

The amiga OS is fundamentally multitasking, every one of its major components is a separate process. Ask anyone who knows what they're talking about and they'll tell you that the ideal number of CPUs for a multitasking system is one CPU per task, anything else is cheating to save the end user money. Any task that is not waiting for IO to complete should be doing useful work, not sitting in a queue waiting to get it's 12.5ms worth of CPU time. The more CPUs you have, the fewer tasks will be in that state.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
adiaux 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 11:40:34
#92 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2006
Posts: 1249
From: Unknown

@CodeSmith

Quote:
Ask anyone who knows what they're talking about


I suggest you do the same.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 11:43:45
#93 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2959
From: USA

@takemehomegrandma

Zing! nice rebuttal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Yssing 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 11:48:30
#94 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Apr-2003
Posts: 800
From: Unknown

Ohh great :)

But just one question, just how long will we have to wait to see that this will never materialize??

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
debrun 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 11:56:40
#95 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Oct-2006
Posts: 347
From: New York

@CodeSmith

Quote:
I'm fairly certain that OS4 can be tweaked to run on this CPU,


Thank you, for the intel! This is very reassuring to know!

_________________
If you're going through hell, keep going. -Winston Churchill

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kronos 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 11:57:37
#96 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1864
From: Unknown

@CodeSmith

Sure if you got an OS designed to give each task it's CPU, and more importantly if you got apps that "know" other task are running at the very same time.


Wake me when you worked out those 2.

_________________
- We don't need good ideas, we haven't run out on bad ones yet
- blame Canada

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
debrun 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 12:17:36
#97 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Oct-2006
Posts: 347
From: New York

@takemehomegrandma

Its a lot of horsepower to be sure! Maybe 3-D rendering, emulation and Linux can soak up some of that power...

In college I remember my Amiga printing REALLY SLOW with Final Copy! Was that due to bitmap fonts or something? It was awful & I bought a Mac for printing lengthy term papers. I hope that is something addressed in OS4. I'm not certain it was a CPU power issue.

NEED SOME MODERN APPS TO DRAG RACE THIS BABY AROUND!!!!!!!

_________________
If you're going through hell, keep going. -Winston Churchill

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wizzard_o 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 12:32:50
#98 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Sep-2004
Posts: 682
From: UK, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Solar System, Alpha Quadrant, The Milky-Way, Universe. 1.1.1.3.44.HP

@debrun

Interesting, do you think it would run OS4 faster than AROS running my FX60 setup?

I guess I would have to buy one to find out...

Wizz.

_________________
Amiga OS4.x, The genuine and ONLY continuation of Amiga OS.

A1200HD '040, 34MB RAM, 20 GB HDD, Amiga OS 3.5

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
debrun 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 12:37:48
#99 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Oct-2006
Posts: 347
From: New York

@hatschi

Oompf !!! LOL! Hate to say it, but that was well deserved.

@ACKControls

Shouldn't have boasted & stirred up our comrades across the pond! I think we will ALL remember this:

It must be the North American "can do" attitude that enables us to accomplish goals that others believe impossible.

Dude, if this turns out to be hype & spin.... I will have to move to Germany and drink all their delicious beer to forget this happened. Hmmm... summer vacation...

_________________
If you're going through hell, keep going. -Winston Churchill

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
debrun 
Re: AckOne High-End Will Run PA Semi Multi-core
Posted on 6-May-2007 12:42:35
#100 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Oct-2006
Posts: 347
From: New York

@Wizzard_o

Please do! Maybe a thousand Amiga NG users may start some development (IF this all pans out.)

_________________
If you're going through hell, keep going. -Winston Churchill

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2011 Amigaworld.net.

Page took 0.088758 seconds to load.