Click HereClick Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
4474 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 56 guest(s) on-line.
 5 member(s) on-line.


TheDaddy, ajs, sundown, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DAX:  10 secs ago
 sundown:  34 secs ago
 eliyahu:  2 mins ago
 TheDaddy:  2 mins ago
 ajs:  3 mins ago
 padrino:  5 mins ago
 fiath:  6 mins ago
 Franko:  7 mins ago
 1Mouse:  7 mins ago
 Robinausdemwald:  8 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Glames 
http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 5-Nov-2009 18:29:07
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 212
From: Nantes, France

Hi,

I'd like to know if there is any plan to bring back online http://www.amigaos4.com ?

I think it is very important to have an official website, no?
Notably for new comers or interested people.

Previous content was very good.

Now that things are clearer, is it planned?
Does anybody know? Maybe Hyperion MP?

Thanks.

Glames

_________________
Tcho,

Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 5-Nov-2009 18:58:34
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 415
From: Unknown

@Glames

It belongs to a bloke in Oxfordshire, Stuart Elliot, an Amiga Geek. Maybe he'll put something up on it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mikey_C 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 5-Nov-2009 19:02:59
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 2813
From: Unknown

@persia

Wrong! Hyperion now own that web domain. - It was traded.

_________________
No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 5-Nov-2009 19:40:11
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 415
From: Unknown

@Mikey_C

I didn't notice the nameservers!

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.HYPERION-ENTERTAINMENT.BIZ
ROBOTNS2.SECOND-NS.DE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 6-Nov-2009 10:32:47
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 1975
From: UK

@Mikey_C

Quote:
Wrong! Hyperion now own that web domain. - It was traded.


Great news! I would have thought www.amigaOS.com would have been more useful in the long run though! It's for sale but probably for a high price.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 6-Nov-2009 10:43:46
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 176
From: Netherlands

@BigD

Yepp I owned it in the past, see other post...

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Glames 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 6-Nov-2009 17:51:06
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 212
From: Nantes, France

@all

Thank you for news.

Hope to see it soon online.

Glames

_________________
Tcho,

Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 6-Nov-2009 22:49:25
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3335
From: Sweden

Why call it amigaos4.com??? Isn't it better to have it called amigaos.com?
I mean when they release OS5 the OS4 site will be obsolete.. Then users will have to enter
different sites for OS information..

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] µA1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Troels 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 7-Nov-2009 9:36:12
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1641
From: Unknown

@Samwel

Since AmigaOS is a registered trademark wouldn't it be pretty easy to get hold of amigaos.com?
I have seen many cases where domain hawks had to return a hijacked domain. Apart from that I guess amigaos.com wouldn't even cost much.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dirk-B 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 7-Nov-2009 9:43:38
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 871
From: Belgium

@Troels

What about "www.amigaos.eu" or "www.amigaos.biz", those are still available.

Look here: link.

Last edited by Dirk-B on 07-Nov-2009 at 09:47 AM.
Last edited by Dirk-B on 07-Nov-2009 at 09:45 AM.

_________________
A1G3-SE + OS4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigauser 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 7-Nov-2009 10:59:46
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2009
Posts: 100
From: Unknown

i think its great that hyperion have amigaos4.com :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 7-Nov-2009 13:55:04
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 3579
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Samwel

Quote:
I mean when they release OS5 the OS4 site will be obsolete..


Depends who releases it. If Hyperion then yes it will replace OS4. If Amiga then OS4 is still current with us as that is a different product.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Glames 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 8-Nov-2009 9:40:20
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 212
From: Nantes, France

Why not both? amigasos4.com and amigaos.com



_________________
Tcho,

Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 8-Nov-2009 10:12:26
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 1875
From: Italy

@Hypex
Only Hyperion can release OS5 that's part of the settlement.

_________________
SamFlex Complete System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 2
Amiga 2000 040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
2iceaday 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 8-Nov-2009 10:22:09
#15 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Jan-2007
Posts: 12
From: Unknown

@Hypex

maybe Hyperion instead of calling it AOS5 will call it "AmigaOS4 5.0" this way they will be able to use the same domain name

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 8-Nov-2009 13:06:47
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 3579
From: Greensborough, Australia

@DAX

Quote:
Only Hyperion can release OS5 that's part of the settlement.


Well that kills off Amigas OS5 x86.

@2iceaday 

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
herewegoagain 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 8-Nov-2009 13:47:12
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jan-2003
Posts: 3268
From: Charlotte, NC

@Samwel

Quote:

Samwel wrote:
Why call it amigaos4.com??? Isn't it better to have it called amigaos.com?
I mean when they release OS5 the OS4 site will be obsolete.. Then users will have to enter
different sites for OS information..


A simple redirect would take care of that. Once they decide to go to a different name for the website, just use a redirect for the old domain name and point it to the new one.

An example would be if you go to playstation2.com or playstation3.com, they will redirect you to playstation.com without any additional input from you.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Glames 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 9:07:00
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 212
From: Nantes, France

@all,

Still no official website on AmigaOS 4

It is very difficult to introduce a system to "outside world" if there isn't any official website. the first thing people ask me is: "on which website"?

As I already said, the previous amigaos4.com content was very good to show adavantages and features of AOS4.

Anyone from Hyperion?

IMHO, it is a very importantthing to do, no?

_________________
Tcho,

Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
steril606 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 10:14:07
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Oct-2008
Posts: 432
From: Munich/Bavaria/Germany

Maybe Hyperion won't call the next evolutionary step of their OS "Amiga OS 5", but something different. Like "Amiga OS V", or "Amiga OS Encore", or whatever...

It would certainly generate more interest than a just adding a "5". "Amiga OS 5" has some not so good connotations anyway after all that weird stuff happening with A inc.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: http://www.amigaos4.com ?
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 12:03:37
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 2785
From: Lyon, France

@Glames

You mean this: http://elwoodb.free.fr/os4/
I got the files a very long time ago. I even translated a part of it in french but Hyperion didn't seem interested.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Jay Miner Society member
Amiga Translator Org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2009 Amigaworld.net.

Page took 0.146203 seconds to load.