Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5651 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 48 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BigD:  12 mins ago
 kolla:  22 mins ago
 wawa:  44 mins ago
 BCP:  51 mins ago
 ErikBauer:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 DruggedBunny:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Severin:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 khayoz:  2 hrs 16 mins ago
 Amiboy:  2 hrs 23 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Register To Post

PosterThread
Amigo1 
AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 15-Jun-2010 17:45:45
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1389
From: Cork Ireland

is it possible?

Explicitly I'm looking for Lucid Lynx (10.4x) and kernel 2.6.34
(because of singletouch/multitouch LCD screen support)

mmh.. I should run and get an armor while waiting for responses..

but thanks in advance for what to come..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Varthall 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 15-Jun-2010 18:09:55
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2004
Posts: 1548
From: Up Rough

@Amigo1






















Varthall

_________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram
MPlayer for OS4: https://sourceforge.net/projects/mplayer-amigaos/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Johan 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 15-Jun-2010 19:14:12
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2004
Posts: 156
From: Behind dikes, on seabottom. Netherlands, that is. More exact: Flevoland.

@Varthall

Fair enough, dear friend. But I must say I stand with Amigo1...


johan

_________________
~~~/\___Flevoland___/\~~~

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 15-Jun-2010 19:19:52
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@Amigo1

Quote:
Amigo1 wrote:
is it possible?

Explicitly I'm looking for Lucid Lynx (10.4x) and kernel 2.6.34
(because of singletouch/multitouch LCD screen support)

Sure, it's possible somehow (probably with some restrictions). But creating a Ubuntu install CD needs time and that is usually the limiting factor.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 15-Jun-2010 22:48:10
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 724
From: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

@Amigo1

I think it's possible using the Debian kernel instead of the Ubuntu kernel... so not really Ubuntu but the same GNOME setup etc...

@Geri

Is this correct, I'm sure the Ubuntu kernel doesn't support the AOne. Infact Ubuntu is stopping or has stopped support for many Apple PPC devices...

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB/AmigaKitWiFi/MOS 1.4.5 WinUAE, Lenovo Intel J2900 Quad,4GB,500GB HD,Win 10 x64 Mac Mini 1.5Ghz PPC Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 1:53:37
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8729
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Amigo1

Quote:
is it possible?


Yes it is. In fact with inspiration from a few people I've been working on it myself.

Quote:
Explicitly I'm looking for Lucid Lynx (10.4x) and kernel 2.6.34


I'd like to run the Lynx as well. And a later kernel would be nice, especially as later releases tend to rely on it. But 2.6.18 is the latest stable we have. Geri was working on a 2.6.31-32 but it isn't ready yet. There is a 2.6.32 in testing but AFAIK it isn't up to the standard of 2.6.18 yet.

So it depends on what release is compatible with our kernel.

Last edited by Hypex on 16-Jun-2010 at 01:59 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 1:58:27
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8729
From: Greensborough, Australia

@DBAlex

Quote:
Is this correct, I'm sure the Ubuntu kernel doesn't support the AOne. Infact Ubuntu is stopping or has stopped support for many Apple PPC devices...


The A1 uses a custom kernel, as does the Sam. However the Pegasos looks like it has it easy here as it has it's own boot scripts on the official CD!

But regarding Ubuntu on PPC we have these in the ports secton:
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ports/releases/lucid/release/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 8:15:43
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@DBAlex

Quote:
DBAlex wrote:
@Geri

Is this correct, I'm sure the Ubuntu kernel doesn't support the AOne.

There's no Linux distribution that supports the A1. So it's "just" a matter of compiling a kernel with an adequate kernel config and modifying an installer to use this kernel.

Quote:
Infact Ubuntu is stopping or has stopped support for many Apple PPC devices...

A small group of Ubuntu developers still works on PowerPC support (but inofficially).

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 9:13:18
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1389
From: Cork Ireland

@Varthall

haha! Thanx, this may come handy one day, i'll store it!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 9:47:00
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1389
From: Cork Ireland

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@Amigo1

Quote:
Amigo1 wrote:
is it possible?

Explicitly I'm looking for Lucid Lynx (10.4x) and kernel 2.6.34
(because of singletouch/multitouch LCD screen support)

Sure, it's possible somehow (probably with some restrictions). But creating a Ubuntu install CD needs time and that is usually the limiting factor.


I've found a Jaunty Jackalope PPC install, would it be possible to then dist-upgrade to LL?

anyway, the kernel is what i'm looking for; mainly for touch screen support.
I've read through some ubuntu pages, and the basic support is in 2.6.32 too, but it's missing the patches to USB-HID (as far as I understood).
Would it be possible for you to compile the patches into the 2.6.32?

I have no working linux ATM, but this is what I've researched so far..
Quote:

General procedure:
have a source tree of your Linux kernel, ready for recompiling modules in it. As we'll have to make changes in the hid subsystem, you might want to make sure that hid is compiled as a module and not a static part of the kernel. In the following, '/' means the root of your source tree and '//' the root of your file system.
- in /include/linux/hid.h, change the end of the macro IS_INPUT_APPLICATION to (a >= 0xd0002 && a "less than symbol"= 0xd0006).
- in our hid-core.c, take the lines that refer to your hardware (check for MOSART, QUANTA, STANTUM or 3M) and put them in /drivers/hid/hid-core.c, replacing lines if necessary.
- same in hid-ids.h
- put the hid-{yourpanel}.c file in /drivers/hid/
- in drivers/hid/Makefile add a line obj-m += hid-{yourpanel}.o
- make sure that /Module.symvers exists. Otherwise, the only solution we found is to compile the whole kernel and have the file produced during the process.
- in /drivers/hid, 'make -C ../.. SUBDIRS=`pwd` modules'
- copy the files hid-{yourpanel}.ko and hid.ko into your OS modules, that is in //lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/hid. If you don't have hid.ko, this means that hid is not configured as a module but as a static part of the kernel; you will need to change this or compile and install the whole kernel.
- load the new module hid-{yourpanel}.ko for the first time: insmod /lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-{yourpanel}.ko
- re-load the modules each time you modify and compile them. For this, you need to unload them (rmmod hid-{yourpanel}, for instance) then reload them (modprobe hid-{yourpanel}). You need to do it at least once for hid; for this, you need to unload all modules that use it ('rmmod hid-{yourpanel} usbhid hid') then load them again ('modprobe hid', 'modprobe usbhid', 'modprobe hid-asus').

link to the patches

edit: aaarrghh, the website is eating my post because of unsupported characters!!? I hope it's complete now..
edit 2: no it wasn't...

Last edited by Amigo1 on 16-Jun-2010 at 10:00 AM.
Last edited by Amigo1 on 16-Jun-2010 at 09:56 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 10:04:49
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1389
From: Cork Ireland

@Hypex

Post #6

Great!! This is great news!!


edit: Thanks!

Last edited by Amigo1 on 16-Jun-2010 at 10:06 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 16-Jun-2010 11:00:40
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@Amigo1

Quote:
Amigo1 wrote:
@Geri

I've found a Jaunty Jackalope PPC install, would it be possible to then dist-upgrade to LL?

There should also be an Ubuntu 10.04 PPC install image, so I don't think it is necessary to upgrade from an older version. I'm just afraid that we run into huge problems with the new radeon graphics drivers that come with the latest Ubuntu release. They don't work well on my A1.

Quote:
anyway, the kernel is what i'm looking for; mainly for touch screen support.
I've read through some ubuntu pages, and the basic support is in 2.6.32 too, but it's missing the patches to USB-HID (as far as I understood).
Would it be possible for you to compile the patches into the 2.6.32?

If the patches apply cleanly, then yes.

Quote:
I have no working linux ATM, but this is what I've researched so far..
Quote:

General procedure:
have a source tree of your Linux kernel, ready for recompiling modules in it. As we'll have to make changes in the hid subsystem, you might want to make sure that hid is compiled as a module and not a static part of the kernel. In the following, '/' means the root of your source tree and '//' the root of your file system.
- in /include/linux/hid.h, change the end of the macro IS_INPUT_APPLICATION to (a >= 0xd0002 && a "less than symbol"= 0xd0006).
- in our hid-core.c, take the lines that refer to your hardware (check for MOSART, QUANTA, STANTUM or 3M) and put them in /drivers/hid/hid-core.c, replacing lines if necessary.
- same in hid-ids.h
- put the hid-{yourpanel}.c file in /drivers/hid/
- in drivers/hid/Makefile add a line obj-m += hid-{yourpanel}.o
- make sure that /Module.symvers exists. Otherwise, the only solution we found is to compile the whole kernel and have the file produced during the process.
- in /drivers/hid, 'make -C ../.. SUBDIRS=`pwd` modules'
- copy the files hid-{yourpanel}.ko and hid.ko into your OS modules, that is in //lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/hid. If you don't have hid.ko, this means that hid is not configured as a module but as a static part of the kernel; you will need to change this or compile and install the whole kernel.
- load the new module hid-{yourpanel}.ko for the first time: insmod /lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-{yourpanel}.ko
- re-load the modules each time you modify and compile them. For this, you need to unload them (rmmod hid-{yourpanel}, for instance) then reload them (modprobe hid-{yourpanel}). You need to do it at least once for hid; for this, you need to unload all modules that use it ('rmmod hid-{yourpanel} usbhid hid') then load them again ('modprobe hid', 'modprobe usbhid', 'modprobe hid-asus').

link to the patches

edit: aaarrghh, the website is eating my post because of unsupported characters!!? I hope it's complete now..
edit 2: no it wasn't...

Ouch, that sounds quite complicated. Do they have a simple diff/patch for kernel v2.6.32?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 19:41:58
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1389
From: Cork Ireland

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@Amigo1

Ouch, that sounds quite complicated. Do they have a simple diff/patch for kernel v2.6.32?


I have not had any reply still. As soon as I get, I will post it or forward it to you.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne and Ubuntu
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 20:52:33
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@Amigo1

Quote:
Amigo1 wrote:
@Geri

I have not had any reply still. As soon as I get, I will post it or forward it to you.

Okay, thanks for the info.

BTW: which multitouch device do you use?
(as reference: http://lii-enac.fr/en/projects/shareit/multitouch-devices.html )

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 512MB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle