Click HereClick Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5153 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 65 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 wa9yoz:  6 mins ago
 Varthall:  13 mins ago
 noXLar:  16 mins ago
 AmiDARK:  22 mins ago
 klx300r:  25 mins ago
 mcbone:  30 mins ago
 Merc:  50 mins ago
 phoenixkonsole:  53 mins ago
 Vidar:  53 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  1 hr ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Turboprint SORTED
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
sicky 
Turboprint SORTED
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 12:48:19
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2749
From: Essex, UK

Hi all, just wondering if Turboprint is still available (been away from Amiga scene for several years) to purchase or buy off someone to install on my SAM460, assuming it runs okay on OS4.1 update 2?

I have a HP PSC 1317 printer at home which I cannot get working with my Amiga.

If I can't get it working with OS4 was considering getting another printer, heard the HP Photosmart all in one printer (available from Currys fo £50) works on OS4.1, can anyone confirm this?

Sorry for all these silly questions but it's all new to me as a returning Amigan

Last edited by sicky on 09-Dec-2012 at 01:55 PM.
Last edited by sicky on 17-Jul-2011 at 12:49 PM.

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 13:01:02
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2053
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@sicky

Quote:
Hi all, just wondering if Turboprint is still available (been away from Amiga scene for several years) to purchase or buy off someone to install on my SAM460, assuming it runs okay on OS4.1 update 2?

Turboprint runs fine on OS4.2u2, but there is a conflict if you use NoTurbo to remove Turboprint, as the current public printer driver won't allow it. Tetrisoft tweaked onr of the previous updates, but that has been lost subseqently. But Turboprint itself works great.

As for getting hold of it, I purchase and downloaded the latest version from the IrseeSoft website.

Last edited by Swoop on 17-Jul-2011 at 03:07 PM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1 upd6, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 14:34:22
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 2759
From: Palencia (capital of the mythical Vaccean Kingdom)

@sicky
We need a new version for 68k, OS4, AROS and M.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9 running on Intel Atom board.
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.5.1.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 15:08:30
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2053
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Templario

Turboprint is only 68k, and I don't think there is any chance of a new version.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1 upd6, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 16:39:55
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2817
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@Swoop

Hijacking sicky's thread, I know, but HOW did you get TP working? Tried it several times to no avail.

Care to post an article about it on IntuitionBase? Might be interesting to others.

OldFart

Last edited by OldFart on 17-Jul-2011 at 04:40 PM.

_________________
When in a stiff debate one calls me arrogant I am of a mind that one grudgingly has to admit that I have made a point.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 17:40:42
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 836
From: Germany

@OldFart

Its quite simple: you need a working 68k installation of TP to make it work on OS4.x

As soon as you have a fully working 68k installation, you could copy it over to your OS4.x machine. Additionally, you have to make a "TurboPrint:"-Assign to make TP find its printer drivers and other configuration data.

For those without a "real" 68k Amiga, it might help to install TP on an E-UAE (or WinUAE) emulated OS3.x environment and copy it over from there. I never tried myself, so I dont know if E-UAE“s floppy emulation is matured enough to provide the compatibility necessary for the registration process of TP. Worth a try

Last edited by whose on 17-Jul-2011 at 05:42 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 19:19:53
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 2759
From: Palencia (capital of the mythical Vaccean Kingdom)

@Swoop

Yes, I know that TurboPrint is only for 68k machines, I have one old version that I used with my Amiga 500, but is a good idea to port it to the new machines and Amiga OSs, with new drivers for the newest printers.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9 running on Intel Atom board.
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.5.1.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 20:10:07
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1951
From: Unknown

@Templario

Quote:

Templario wrote:


Yes, I know that TurboPrint is only for 68k machines,..


It was (is ?) integrated in MorphOS 1.x but I doesn't know if it was completely PPC or still 68k.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BillE 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 21:59:51
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Nov-2003
Posts: 1113
From: Northern Scotland

@sicky



There have been no new drivers for TP for years now so getting one that is specifically for your HP PSC 1317 is unlikely.

Turbo print works quite well under OS4.

I never had any problem using NoTurbo to remove Turboprint as Swoop seems to have, I could always switch between using TP and the native FILE driver when I needed to.

What I did find a problem was when printing plain text then TurboPrint would lock up the A1, it would print the text but I always had to reboot the Amiga after doing so.

I now have an HP Photosmart which ha a native OS4 driver so no longer use TurboPrint, so can print plain text without problem. I miss the lack of control TP gave you in adjusting the printout colours etc. but it works.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 22:06:51
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 8505
From: In the village

@whose

Quote:
Its quite simple: you need a working 68k installation of TP to make it work on OS4.x
As soon as you have a fully working 68k installation, you could copy it over to your OS4.x machine. Additionally, you have to make a "TurboPrint:"-Assign to make TP find its printer drivers and other configuration data.


Yep. That's how I did it long ago.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eliyahu 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 17-Jul-2011 22:50:24
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2010
Posts: 1369
From: Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)

@BillE

Quote:
There have been no new drivers for TP for years now so getting one that is specifically for your HP PSC 1317 is unlikely.

and as far as i remember, i don't think turboprint supports any of the LIDIL printers from HP. these printers are also not supported by the OS4 native deskjet or postscript drivers, either, i'm afraid, nor the third-party drivers (such as the DOT4 and photosmart drivers) on os4depot.

does anyone have any ideas as to how @sicky could get his printer working with OS4?

-- eliyahu

_________________
"... don't get the impression that you arouse my anger. you see, one can only be angry with those he respects." --richard nixon

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 0:45:09
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 836
From: Germany

@eliyahu

sicky wont get the printer working at all... youre right, there is no LIDIL support for AmigaOS. Heck, theres even restricted LIDIL support for Linux, so... (btw., I really like the title of HPs hplib site... "open source"... with the major parts in a closed source link library, haha...)

@sicky:

Could you tell us which Photosmart printer you mean exactly? There are some LIDIL-Photosmart printers, too...

You could find out yourself, if it works (to some extend): Printers which use the PCL3GUI printer language will work with the OS4.x Photosmart driver, but with restrictions in resolution and accuracy. Using TurboPrint, one or the other driver like the 970Cxi driver might work, too. This will give you much better results, even if full print resolution might not be possible.

PCL5 printers or PostScript printers still works best with AmigaOS. There are some laser printers out there, not too expensive, which work fine with AmigaOS. There are even some cheap Kyocera color laser printers with PCL5/PS support.

Oh, btw.: You cant use the scanner option with AmigaOS. There is absolutely no support for this.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 8:01:20
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 215
From: Unknown

@sicky

HI all

After all this time I would of thought os 4 would have a good printer driver system by now and not require turbo print. Still turbo print was a great printer system for Amiga as even commodore did not update the printing system.

Major things missing in os4

USB 2
Printer support
Wifi
3D Driver
dual CPU support

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 10:02:31
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2749
From: Essex, UK

@whose

This is the one I was going to buy http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/hp-photosmart-e-all-in-one-wireless-multifunction-printer-07374406-pdt.html

Quote:
Could you tell us which Photosmart printer you mean exactly?

Last edited by sicky on 18-Jul-2011 at 10:04 AM.

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 10:22:22
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 2723
From: Unknown

@sicky

i do not think there is a chance that turboprint becomes freeware or opensource. But i have contact to the author of studio and he promised to send me a version as freeware (68k). i do not think he will make it opensource.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 10:25:16
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 836
From: Germany

@sicky

This one is a PCL3GUI printer, so it should work with the OS4 Photosmart driver and several TuroPrint drivers.

@g01df1sh

Well, the printer system doesnt need an update such badly... in fact, the AmigaOS printing system isnt that bad at all. It may need some modernization regarding colour correction and scaling functions, but in the end all leads to missing drivers.

And thats a problem even CUPS wont solve, because most of the printer manufacturers tend to release "open source" drivers that rely on a closed source link library (available for *nix x86 only). "Best" example is HP... you wont find much information regarding PCL3GUI anywhere in the "open source" hplib or drivers, because its hidden in a closed source link library. Other manufacturers do it this way, too.

IMHO this is the reason for TurboPrint being available for Linux x86 only since some time.

Last edited by whose on 18-Jul-2011 at 10:32 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_analogkid_ 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 10:35:09
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2005
Posts: 163
From: Here and there

@Arko

It was an old 68k version (7.16 IIRC), and the only native thing was/is (it's still integrated into MorphOS 2.x) its prefs editor.

I'm using a Postscript capable Laserjet, and it's the best thing you could do on Amiga/MorphOS/whatever.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 11:02:08
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1254
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

@sicky

Having turboprint and the "Classic" for a HP560C worked really fine for advertising at the times but now with a HP Colour Laser with a pc. Could it work with the A1? Maybe too much work and got to install a new power supply for it. A new version I could buy for OS4.

Hopefully we could get a printer and a driver for it. I think that a manufacter would want sales for us for a good one, maybe only one and everybody would buy one for os4? I hope Hype/Cube is reading this for an idea?

Just my free cents:)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 12:24:23
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6493
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh Quote:
Major things missing in os4

USB 2
Printer support
Wifi
3D Driver
dual CPU support


Errrm, no. OS4 already has hardware 3D support (it's just not as optimised for modern cards as it could be, which is why we await the port of Gallium 3D).

Wifi: OS4 also has (3rd-party but free) driver for particular model of Wifi card.

Printer support: Well of course OS4 has printer support, just not all modern (esp not cheapo) printers. BUT we also know that Hyperion is looking at porting CUPS or similar.

USB 2: Sounds like we will get this with Update 3 (to my surprise).

Dual Core support: We can't buy any dual-core OS4 hardware yet, so no need for supporting it yet! Of course that will hopefully change...

_________________
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
Don't forget the official support forum for AmigaOS4!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gerograph 
Re: Turboprint
Posted on 18-Jul-2011 12:30:41
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Dec-2007
Posts: 862
From: Moers - Germany

Some experiences about printers from my point of view:

Like Whose said, making a printer run even on PPC Linux isn't easy at all, because vendors donnot supply Linux PPC drivers. You cannot even recompile them as some of the source is closed and bounded to x86 (like hplib). I went through all this already with Brother and HP, trying to get an PS All in One to run on SAM440 Debian Lenny Linux.

Most printers using 600x600 DPI or above (Colorlaser and inkjet) are only supported via Turboprint with resolutions upto 300x300 DPI. This results in a bad qualitiy at least for photo printing. This means you have to stick to postscript printers, which will give a very good result on Linux but a worse result on Amiga OS, as all photos get printed to dark. Seems there is no color correction (?).

So overall, best thing to do is getting a PS printer and live with the fact, that your photo prinouts are getting quiet dark. Using a network capable printer is also a good idea, as not all printers are supported by USB.

About All-in-One:
Printout will be O.k. (see above), most of them are network capable as well.
Epson scanning might be supported via AmiCygnix (but untested as far as I know).
Brother and HP Scanning are definitly not supported either by PPC Linux nor AmiCygnix, because they use x86 only closed source libs. Some older HP (like Officejet 7400) are however supported, as they havn't closed source parts. See XSane website for infos. So they are already or might be available for AmiCygnix as well.
A good solution for scanning from Amiga (regarding all in one) is using:

- Scanning via Webinterface (like on HP 7400)
- Scanning to USB Stick/ USB stick will then be in moust cases mounted if your AIO is connected via USB
- Scanning to FTP or SAMBA share

I myself use a Xerox Phaser 6180, which prints via PS/Network and scans to SAMBA Share. Works well for Amiga OS and PPC Linux. Using a scanner GUI (XScan or whatever) from AmiCygnix or PPC Linux doesn't work though (same for brother and HP AIO Color Laserjets).
See here for more details (sorry it is in German):

link A1k.org

and yes, new drivers for OS4 incl. colorcorrection are defnitely needed !

_________________
Geomarketing at
www.geobiz.de
www.gebietsplanung.net
www.geomarketing-consultant.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2011 Amigaworld.net.

Page took 0.15223 seconds to load.