Click HereClick Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5219 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 58 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 samo79,  stefanjo

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 stefanjo:  49 secs ago
 samo79:  3 mins ago
 lumby:  5 mins ago
 Chuckt:  11 mins ago
 Bondy:  14 mins ago
 tbreeden:  14 mins ago
 logicalheart:  20 mins ago
 Rob:  25 mins ago
 tlosm:  28 mins ago
 strim:  29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X1000 - It's arrived...
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )
PosterThread
CritAnime 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 31-Jan-2012 23:48:35
#61 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 703
From: UK

If we didnt have a baby on the way I would save up and buy one. However I have to shift my priorities and the A600 project is the last thing I am gonna be able to do for a while :(

So jelous.

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 31-Jan-2012 23:49:50
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 2764
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@sundown

Quote:
No you're not, the s/w drivers are not optimized yet.


i realise that - be interesting to see how they improve over time. It certainly feels fast and snappy in use though.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 31-Jan-2012 23:53:02
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 2764
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@Zylesea

Quote:
Are you sure the program is right?


This is a direct output from Ragemem. If it's 'right' or not I cannot say - I'm just giving you the honest output. I think we have deduced that the video speed is exceptionally low at the moment too.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:01:07
#64 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 2764
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@CritAnime

Quote:
If we didnt have a baby on the way I would save up and buy one.


Congratulations! In my experience what you are about to receive will be far more entertaining than any Amiga!

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:03:41
#65 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 1768
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@-Sam-

Well, the VRAM speed that may increase quite a lot with better drivers. So nothing to worry about too much. And the RAM numbers are really impressive! The thing where I am really worried about the values is the MIPS thing. Will be interesting whether the X1000 can handle 720p or 1080. The mini with slower RAM but more MIPS can do with the usual codecs 720p, but fails at 1080 with the usual codecs at 1500MHz.
I remember a video of the 8610, which is slower clocked thatnthe 7447A but with a faster bus and in the MIPS rage of your provided Ragemem output value that did 1080 video.
Then again video decoding is rather done by Altivec. Dunno the details about PA6T's Altivec/VMX implementation. Publically accessible information on that issue is sparse.

_________________
www.via-altera.de
blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigasociety 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:04:45
#66 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 683
From: Unknown

@djrikki

Quote:

djrikki wrote:
@-Sam-

Took about 9 months or so... on-going project really. Thanks, I am glad you like it. :)

Don't forget to sign up to the 'App-store' as well - when you are signed up you can rate software by simply giving software star ratings. Helps new users.

*hint hint to everyone*


Where is this app store you mention?

Must of been linked to before but I never saw it.

tj

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:10:40
#67 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 2764
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@amigasociety

Quote:
Where is this app store you mention?


It is part of the Jack software available on OS4 depot.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigasociety 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:13:50
#68 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2010
Posts: 683
From: Unknown

@-Sam-

I guess I will need to download this Jack app then too once my X1000 arrives.

tj

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:26:47
#69 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2506
From: Wellington

@-Sam-

I'm glad your AmigaONE X1000 arrived safe and sound.

You are right about real use speed as opposed to benchmarks though. For example, on my Pegasos II, the Alpha version of Timberwolf takes ~35 seconds to fully open to the "First Run" welcome screen. My X1000 takes ~10 seconds. Similarly, feature laden webpages (such as www.bbc.co.uk) open in under half the time.

Anyway enjoy your new "Amiga". I certainly am.

Trevor

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

(Posted from Timberwolf on the AmigONE X1000)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:38:17
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 1820
From: Perugia, ITALY

@-Sam-

RageMem test seems not so reliable atm...
maybe the nbench and other benchs on the road(like ffmpeg, lame or quake1) can be really much valuable...
plz test they on my thread I signaled you :)

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:40:07
#71 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4521
From: New Zealand

@-Sam-

Quote:

-Sam- wrote:
@Zylesea

Quote:
Are you sure the program is right?


This is a direct output from Ragemem. If it's 'right' or not I cannot say - I'm just giving you the honest output. I think we have deduced that the video speed is exceptionally low at the moment too.


You'll get a higher GfxBench2D score if you run the test at 1920x1080 instead of 1440x900. See the FAQ for why (second Q + A). You have to be careful that you're "comparing apples with apples" when comparing results.

I do hope to make it easier to compare graphics cards, but I cannot say when I'll get round to it. Like the RadeonHD driver, the GfxBench2D results server needs quite a bit of work before it will deliver what I want it to.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CritAnime 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 0:53:16
#72 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 703
From: UK

@-Sam-

Thanks ;) I can't wait till August for him/her to turn up. But still.....

JELOUS!!!!!

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Seiya 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 2:13:06
#73 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2006
Posts: 1016
From: Italia

@realize

true, you can play with Arkham City on X1000 :) or BattleField 3 or maybe Office 2010...

what kind of software there is currently?
x86 emulation is a good test for X1000 cpu



Last edited by Seiya on 01-Feb-2012 at 02:15 AM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
realize 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 2:19:26
#74 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2003
Posts: 1630
From: nyc

@amigasociety

Quote:
I guess I will need to download this Jack app then too once my X1000 arrives.


Definitely get Jack. Its really cool and people dont talk about it enough. The App Store is nice. Lets you easily catch up with Amiga software for oS4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 3:02:06
#75 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 2357
From: Toronto, Canada

@-Sam-

congrats on your new X1000 & welcome to the club

Half the fun with any Amiga system I've ever owned was just messing around and exploring so enjoy the adventure and, as sundown already noted, don't hesitate to ask any questions you might/will have over at Hyperion Message Board. under the X1000 thread.

Last edited by klx300r on 01-Feb-2012 at 03:03 AM.
Last edited by klx300r on 01-Feb-2012 at 03:03 AM.

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200-060@50(working on it)
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
AspireOS= Amiga on my netbook!
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 3:16:24
#76 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 2357
From: Toronto, Canada

Quote:

CritAnime wrote:
If we didnt have a baby on the way I would save up and buy one. However I have to shift my priorities and the A600 project is the last thing I am gonna be able to do for a while :(

So jelous.


big time congrats . As the father of a 7 and 3 year old I can safely say that the birth of your first child will be no doubt one of the best experiences of your life!

P.S don't worry you'll soon learn to live with very very very little sleep

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200-060@50(working on it)
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
AspireOS= Amiga on my netbook!
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigadave 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 3:56:40
#77 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Jul-2005
Posts: 1440
From: Big Bear Lake

@-Sam-

Congrats on your new arrival!

My payment was delayed until about 14 hours from now and then my X1000 will be on it's way to my house. I can't wait until it arrives, but will have to read your experiences until I get to unpack my very own X1000.

A huge thank you goes out to Trevor Dickinson for making this all happen. Without his persistence and dedication, this could never have happened.

I am already looking forward to this year's AmiWest Show and wondering how many users will show up there with their own X1000 computers. I will probably be there again with my MorphOS display, but will also have the X1000 sitting next to them, which will be strange for some users to understand.

Keep your reviews and comments coming as you explore your new toy, so all the rest of us can share in your fun. I for one will be interested to read what you choose to install first and what you use most often and what your reflections are about the look, feel and fun factor are.

Again, congrats and enjoy the excitement of having a new Amiga to play with (remember my definition of a new Amiga can be anything, including Mac w/MorphOS, x86 w/AROS, Natami, FPGA Arcade Replay, and any of the AmigaOne computers).

_________________
"Amiga" - The computer that inspired people to invent and create!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CritAnime 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 3:58:34
#78 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 703
From: UK

@klx300r

Thanks :) I am going to teach it the ways of the Amiga from an early age :)
Maybe byb the time it's 2 or 3 I may have my own X1000 :)

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheKorn 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 4:32:31
#79 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2008
Posts: 158
From: Washington State

@-Sam-

Static benchmarks are nice and serve their purpose but real world application tests are where it is at. If you find the time could you post results of Blender's speed as discussed in this thread.

You can obtain it here.

Thanks.

_________________
Amiga 4000 3.9 / Pegasos II 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tommysammy 
Re: X1000 - It's arrived...
Posted on 1-Feb-2012 4:36:22
#80 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jan-2010
Posts: 421
From: Isselburg,Germany

@-Sam-

The mips result from RageMem is wrong
Have a look here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Instructions_per_second
The CPU have 8800MIPS at 2GHZ

And this show the readme


GENERAL NOTES:
-Displayed CPU speed may be wrong with some custom CPU. Exec returns my 1.4Ghz
G4 to run 400Mhz.

MIPS NOTES:
-Benchmarking MIPS is NEVER relevant. From a benchmark to another, the loop used
is not the same, giving different results.
-Benchmarking MIPS is in most case optimised for a particular CPU, and
irrelevant for a CPU with a different architecture.
-The real "maximum MIPS" capability of a CPU can be known just with its
datasheet, without any benchmark. It's "CPU Frequency * Instruction dispatcher
outs".
-This is the value I try to bench.

IU32 vs FPU64 NOTES:
-Since v0.37, benchmarks are done two times. Integer 32 and Floating point 64.
-Depending of the benchmak done (L1, L2, Memory...), of CPU architecture, of bus
bandwidth, sometime IU32 is faster, sometime it's FPU64.

AONE NOTES:
-Some people use SetA1. Superb tool, thanks to its author!
-ECC ram are a bit slower.



HISTORY

v0.37
-Added a small MIPS benchmark.
-Now bench with IU32 and FPU64 instead of only FPU64.
-Maybe the "Slow L1" problem on Sam440 is solved.

_________________
A1200T /D-Box/ BPPC 603e+ 240MHz/060 50MHz/ 256MB FastRAM / Mediator LT4 / Voodoo3 16MB /SB128/RTL8029/ SubwayUSB/DVD+/CD+/FastATAMk3/OS3.9/4.1
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2011 Amigaworld.net.

Page took 0.152024 seconds to load.