Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5602 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 48 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Barret

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Barret:  2 mins ago
 Glennbojones:  15 mins ago
 Templario:  36 mins ago
 BigD:  45 mins ago
 wawa:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 eliyahu:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 amigasociety:  1 hr 56 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 AlicePPC:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 dommer416:  2 hrs 23 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  *** SOLVED *** OS4.1 FE classic in WinUAE, CD problems
Register To Post

PosterThread
jonssonj 
*** SOLVED *** OS4.1 FE classic in WinUAE, CD problems
Posted on 8-Feb-2015 20:22:53
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 242
From: Unknown

Hello!

I have a working installation of OS4.1 FE in WinUAE with blizzard PPC and IDE emulation. Yes I know that it is much slower than cyberstorm PPC, but I get more memory.

My question thouhgh, is that I can't see any CD anymore. I think it is because I added a harddrive after the installaiton and then I moved my CD from IDE:1 to IDE:2. I do not know how I change the OS to reflect this?

I have looked in all folders in the OS, but I can't seem to find any clues of how the OS mounts the CD. I don't think it uses the DEVS/Dosdrivers anymore, because I have no CD there.

If I move my second harddrive to IDE:2 and my CD to IDE:1, I can see my CD but not my second harddrive.

So, where do I change which device is connected where in the OS? Where do I change my CD:s unit number in the OS?

BR
Jörgen

Last edited by jonssonj on 09-Feb-2015 at 12:07 PM.

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: OS4.1 FE classic in WinUAE, CD problems
Posted on 8-Feb-2015 22:32:24
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1084
From: Germany

@jonssonj

You can only have two devices on an IDE bus, one master and one slave.

In order to use the secondary port you need IDEfix software.

I remember that during installaiton I was asked whether IDEfix support should be activated or not. Don't know how to activate it later. You probably have to uncomment a module in Kickstart/Kicklayout.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
*** SOLVED *** Re: OS4.1 FE classic in WinUAE, CD problems
Posted on 9-Feb-2015 12:07:21
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 242
From: Unknown

@thomas

Ok, I succeeded... :)

In the "Sys:Kickstart/KickLayout-A1200" I removed the leading semicolon on the line:

"MODULE Kickstart/A1200/ATAPIismajik"

and now I can have up to four devices.

I have only used the change for a short time now, but it seems to work anyway.

I'm very happy... :)

Thanks Thomas for the hint you gave me!

BR
Jörgen

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: *** SOLVED *** Re: OS4.1 FE classic in WinUAE, CD problems
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 23:05:28
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 23
From: Unknown

Sorry, didn't realise this was the emulation forum I'll post my issues elsewhere.

Last edited by spud101 on 07-Jul-2017 at 11:10 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle