Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5552 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 42 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 vox:  5 mins ago
 kaffeine1:  6 mins ago
 Dandy:  8 mins ago
 broadblues:  12 mins ago
 thellier:  14 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  20 mins ago
 Nimrod:  21 mins ago
 monstercoder:  24 mins ago
 BCP:  25 mins ago
 Drewlio77:  37 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
utri007 
Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 18:46:17
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

Chris has made his 68k version of Netsurf publicly availlable from his homepage.

http://www.unsatisfactorysoftware.co.uk/index.php?pg=netsurf

It starts to be quite useable and stable. Downloading / rendering amigaworld.net has took 22-45 secondes, debending version. He has been very active lately, new build prety much every day.

It requires OS3.5/9 and about 32 mb ram to be useable.

Quote:

I've put a new version up, but there's not much change. I've changed the way it calls the font code which might speed it up a tiny bit, but really I want to get to the bottom of those layout problems. It's something in http://git.netsurf-browser.org/netsu...ont_diskfont.c if anybody wants to look at it.


I asked him about donations to speed up develobment. His answer was this :

Quote:

If you donate then it's for work already done, not future progress. But, actually, the feedback is more motivating and useful than donations.




Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 09:37 PM.
Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 06:50 PM.
Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 06:47 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 18:54:36
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 1913
From: Amiga land

@utri007

on 060 66mhz and 604e 366mhz ... load and rendering time 1:30 to 2 minutes for this page :P


https://scontent-mxp1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/542777_3932810000286_1858708502_n.jpg?oh=d000e8833b4acaef0301a8651d249cf4&oe=57435D51

Last edited by tlosm on 18-Jan-2016 at 06:55 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 18-Jan-2016 at 06:54 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,RadeonHD 4650;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000 16GB,SSD,SSHD, Radeon 6570 2G

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 19:02:38
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

@tlosm

No wonder :D There is no way to use 68k amiga for general web browsing ever again. But you should try Chris version, you have tried sdl / frambuffer version from Arthur.

I would be happy just possibility browse amiga sites and ocasinoaly download some files, without need a another Computer.

Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 07:03 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 19:18:41
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 1913
From: Amiga land

@utri007

yes it can browse some modern websites slow but works

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,RadeonHD 4650;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000 16GB,SSD,SSHD, Radeon 6570 2G

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 19:27:20
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

@tlosm

I'm curious, could you test Chris' version, how long it will take render your Facebook page?

Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 07:41 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 19:48:38
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 1913
From: Amiga land

@utri007

I dont know Utri i sold my machine couple of years ago

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,RadeonHD 4650;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000 16GB,SSD,SSHD, Radeon 6570 2G

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 20:48:56
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 756
From: UK

@utri007

What he hell has happeded to webpages over the years for them to take so long to load. Hell I use to browse using a 56k modem on Amiga 1200 060 back in the day and it was quick. I know a lot of web sites have flash crap enbeded in them which is the most shity bit of software known to man.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 21:04:28
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

@g01df1sh

:D Those those were the days!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lh_h-KdbBrE

But seriously, web developers counted size of images and how long they will download. That simply doesn't happen anymore and there is also much more active contents in web pages, they are nost just displayed.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 21:12:21
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 756
From: UK

@utri007

I would prefer speed over some fancy looking website. Its bad enough with all the crappy flash enabled adverts on a lot of sites. Thank god for add blocker

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 21:31:21
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

@g01df1sh

user/choises file add these lines :

foreground_images:0
background_images:0
use_diskfont:1
font_sans:Topaz
font_serif:Topaz
font_mono:Topaz
font_cursive:Topaz
font_fantasy:Topaz

I use Xen font, any font is ok it just must be in system:fonts folder.

Use_diskfont is ON as default, but I ques it is not a disadvantage have it in choises file also.

With those settings my 68040 amiga is fast as my 66mhz 68060 amiga. So I ques with 060 it will be very fast with those lines in choises file, I haven't tested.

Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 09:34 PM.
Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 09:32 PM.
Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 09:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
clebin 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 21:42:57
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Oct-2003
Posts: 1673
From: Cardiff

@g01df1sh

Not so many websites use Flash these days, thankfully, but a ton of CSS and JavaScript.

Speaking as a web developer, there's a lot more going on in your average web-page than before but a lot of it is good IMO. I'm not denying there's a lot of badly optimised sites out there too but that's not the whole picture. 10-15 years ago the switch from table-based layouts to the CSS box model was a big jump as it required a lot more CPU power. It was done to improve things for visually impaired users, so you can't fault the intention,though I always felt they could've done more to make tables accessible.

Nowadays, a lot of sites use big high-res imagery, custom fonts that need to be downloaded, long stylesheets with complex designs that adapt to mobile, tablet, etc (so-called responsive design) and large javascript libraries. There's a lot of scope for abuse obviously, but even optimised to the 9th degree it's still way too much for a classic Amiga to cope with. If the downloading doesn't wear out the poor 680x0, then the layout and JavaScript definitely will!

_________________
AROS - verb (Welsh) - To wait, to await, to stay, to abide.
- Clebin Games - www.clebin.co.uk -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 22:09:59
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

@clebin

I used to make table based web siten back then. Still remember that there was a bug in IE wich effected only if I made return in wrog point of line. Needed to make all codes in single line to be sure.

Chris hasn't compiled java for this version.

Last edited by utri007 on 18-Jan-2016 at 10:10 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 18-Jan-2016 23:19:48
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3070
From: Beds, UK

@utri007

Quote:

Chris hasn't compiled java for this version.


Javascript, not Java.

It's not built in because of a GCC bug which optimises away the contents of the NewObject taglist (so I can't build with any compiler optimisation, which the Javascript library requires). If anybody knows how to fix this please speak up (I've tried a ton of fixes involving the macro in the includes, but none of them work).

Last edited by Chris_Y on 18-Jan-2016 at 11:20 PM.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jsixis 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 0:23:06
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 8-May-2009
Posts: 83
From: Unknown

@clebin

Quote:

clebin wrote:
@g01df1sh

Not so many websites use Flash these days, thankfully, but a ton of CSS and JavaScript.

Speaking as a web developer, there's a lot more going on in your average web-page than before but a lot of it is good IMO. I'm not denying there's a lot of badly optimised sites out there too but that's not the whole picture. 10-15 years ago the switch from table-based layouts to the CSS box model was a big jump as it required a lot more CPU power. It was done to improve things for visually impaired users, so you can't fault the intention,though I always felt they could've done more to make tables accessible.

Nowadays, a lot of sites use big high-res imagery, custom fonts that need to be downloaded, long stylesheets with complex designs that adapt to mobile, tablet, etc (so-called responsive design) and large javascript libraries. There's a lot of scope for abuse obviously, but even optimised to the 9th degree it's still way too much for a classic Amiga to cope with. If the downloading doesn't wear out the poor 680x0, then the layout and JavaScript definitely will!



Nice to know. My personal website still uses tables. Its faster then CSS but does look old.
Oh well, people still visit it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 6:35:23
#15 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

@all

If any one is tested this alredy, does ti takes long time to clear it memory cache?

downloading / rendering amiga.org takes about 35 seconds. However going to amigaworld.net takes about 29 seconds, but surfing from amigaworld.net to amiga.org takes about 94 seconds, wich means that Netsurf clears ti memory cache almost minit.

Does this happent others?





 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 14:14:37
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8244
From: Greensborough, Australia

@utri007

How long to render a Facebook page?

Quote:
I dont know Utri i sold my machine couple of years ago


There's your answer! A Facebook page will take a couple of years to load.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 14:16:45
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8244
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Chris_Y

That's a bizzare one. If it has content why does it erase it? What about that attribute used keyword?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 19-Jan-2016 15:38:52
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3070
From: Beds, UK

@Hypex

Don't know, that's what I'm trying to figure out.

The previous discussion is on or around here: http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=63990&page=28

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Raffaele 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 21-Jan-2016 7:36:12
#19 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Dec-2005
Posts: 1689
From: Naples, Italy

@Jsixis

Link please... I want to visit your site...

Last edited by Raffaele on 21-Jan-2016 at 07:36 AM.

_________________
"When the Amiga came out, everyone [at Apple] was scared as hell." (J.L. Gassée, former CEO of Apple France and chief of devs of Mac II-fx, interviewed by Amazing Computing, Nov 1996).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Netsurf for Amiga OS3.5/9
Posted on 21-Jan-2016 8:58:35
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 881
From: United States of Europe

Has anyone tested this?

I would like to know does any one have Network or memory/disk cache problems with this.

Seems that Emulator and A4000 users doesn't have them but A1200 and A2000 users have.

I have these problems :

Surfin from amigaworld.net to amiga.org takes 94 seconds, when surfing just amiga.org takes 35 seconds. Wich means that Netsurf clears it's memory cache 59 seconds. Tested with 2 A1200 compters 040/060

Setting disc_cache_size:0 makes surfing from site to site about 10 seconds faster. 104 seconds to 94 seconds

My Network dies randomly, need to restart genesis if I left browser open for a 10 minits. Tested with 2 A1200 compters 040/060

I would like some others confirm this also.

If Chris could compile Netsurf optimisations ON, speed would be acceptable level. Current speed is "semi useable".

Last edited by utri007 on 21-Jan-2016 at 10:06 AM.
Last edited by utri007 on 21-Jan-2016 at 09:01 AM.
Last edited by utri007 on 21-Jan-2016 at 08:59 AM.
Last edited by utri007 on 21-Jan-2016 at 08:59 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle