Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 63 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 soviet,  AmigaMac

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 soviet:  53 secs ago
 AmigaMac:  3 mins ago
 tonyw:  13 mins ago
 Barana:  28 mins ago
 Rob:  29 mins ago
 pavlor:  29 mins ago
 lionstorm:  32 mins ago
 Amiboy:  43 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 25 mins ago
 rob_d:  1 hr 25 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Commodore name come back
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
g01df1sh 
Commodore name come back
Posted on 31-Aug-2016 22:27:13
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1164
From: UK

Hi guys this could get interesting https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/33/items/commodore-back-in-germany.html

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 31-Aug-2016 22:35:00
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8429
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

Nice!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 31-Aug-2016 22:51:40
#3 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2141
From: www.amigakit.com

Well done Jens!

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | AmigaOne X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 1-Sep-2016 5:27:37
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5577
From: S.Wales

@g01df1sh

My first thought was oh no, not again, then I saw that Jens was involved.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Nibunnoichi 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 1-Sep-2016 5:49:00
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 18-Nov-2004
Posts: 944
From: Roma + Lecco, Italia

@g01df1sh

Glad to see it in the hands of a sane guy, at last...

_________________
Proud Amigan since 1987
Owner of various Commodore and a SAM440ep\OS4.1FE
See them on http://retro.furinkan.org/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 1-Sep-2016 8:31:34
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2339
From: Amiga land

@g01df1sh
Idividual computers ... really a wonderful company that made great product that im glad to have. Turbo Chamaleon 64 is really fantastic dongle

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 1-Sep-2016 8:40:47
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 774
From: United Kingdom

@Rob

True, I thought the same, then I saw it was regarding Jens, this is good news for once about the Trademark

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 1-Sep-2016 16:33:24
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3311
From: Unknown

@thread

Great!

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 1-Sep-2016 19:16:40
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10707
From: Norway

@g01df1sh

Probably not big market for it, but Jens is right man to keep the C64 alive as it was, not as some thing else.

Maybe he build one with HDMI/DVI port instead of TV coax port.
And a standard serial port instead of round one won't hurt.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Sep-2016 at 07:22 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
andres 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 2-Sep-2016 11:30:28
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Nov-2008
Posts: 324
From: Firenze (Italy)

It would be nice to see A-EON machines sold with the Commodore mark.

_________________
A1200/020+68882 - 6 MB RAM - AmigaOS 3.0

Home Recording Audio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 2-Sep-2016 12:17:03
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5577
From: S.Wales

@andres

Quote:
It would be nice to see A-EON machines sold with the Commodore mark.


No. I think Escom did the right thing when the separated the two brands. There'd be huge hissy fits if they did anyway.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chuckt 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 2-Sep-2016 16:11:52
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2008
Posts: 445
From: Unknown

@andres

I have Vice running on my Pocket Chip.

Pocket Chip is a Linux device has HDMI, an LCD, a Lithium battery, Bluetooth and it can use a thumb drive.

https://bbs.nextthing.co/t/commodore-64-in-your-pocket-chip/6150

I made mistakes installing it and when I did make mistakes, I just repeated the steps (installing it) and it works.

I suggest people get a Bluetooth keyboard to use this puppy.


Last edited by Chuckt on 02-Sep-2016 at 04:13 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 4-Sep-2016 10:32:34
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Rob Quote:
There'd be huge hissy fits if they did anyway.

Why? From who? Surely having something Amiga-related with the C= logo is what we want? Rather than another C= monitor/windows-pc/hair-dryer/tampon.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TRIPOS 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 4-Sep-2016 14:06:07
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2014
Posts: 830
From: Unknown

I wonder if the Commodore brand will be used for the Amiga Reloaded computer as well? There are new A1200 cases coming as well!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 4-Sep-2016 21:28:28
#15 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 688
From: Trondheim, Norway

@ChrisH

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
@Rob Quote:
There'd be huge hissy fits if they did anyway.

Why? From who? Surely having something Amiga-related with the C= logo is what we want?


Not really, why? Commodore bought Amiga and, in their own words, "f*cked it up".

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 4-Sep-2016 21:39:50
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5577
From: S.Wales

@ChrisH

Let's just say that not everyone who holds the Commodore name dear is as enthusiastic about Hyperion and Amiga OS4.x. They see A-EON as being guilty by association and if A-EON were to license the Commodore name for their AmigaOne products it would be taken as some kind of insult.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 4-Sep-2016 22:26:05
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 441
From: Bear Delaware USA

@Rob

It would also be kind of pointless.
Look I'm glad you are so fond of Commodore.
I like Sears, so we are both into clueless mass merchandisers.

But, really, insult?

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 5-Sep-2016 5:35:44
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5577
From: S.Wales

@Beans

Quote:
Look I'm glad you are so fond of Commodore.


I don't personally give a damn about the Commodore name. I never owned one of their 8-bit machines and they were only around for just over a year of my Amiga ownership so I barely associate the Commodore name with Amiga.

Quote:
But, really, insult?


Without naming names, I've seen someone describe OS4 as defiling the memory of Commodore and Amiga. So yes, really.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ne_one 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 5-Sep-2016 5:47:00
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jun-2005
Posts: 735
From: Unknown

@kolla

That comment came from West Chester? ;)

At this point I think most people would be receptive to good product offerings regardless of the branding.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: Commodore name come back
Posted on 5-Sep-2016 12:53:55
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 441
From: Bear Delaware USA

@Rob

Quote:
Without naming names, I've seen someone describe OS4 as defiling the memory of Commodore and Amiga. So yes, really.


Well, I don't use OS4, so I'm not in a place to advise anyone on their opinion, but that still seems overly melodramatic.

OS4 is only a PPC port of AmigaOS. It seems to be reasonably faithful to its source.

And as far as hardware goes, Amiga definitely would have moved away from proprietary chipsets.

So, "insulting", "defiling"?
Fanatical to the point of sounding silly.

Last edited by Beans on 05-Sep-2016 at 02:54 PM.

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle