Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5647 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 47 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 simplex

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 simplex:  33 secs ago
 Barret:  31 mins ago
 retro:  40 mins ago
 fishy_fis:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 Jasper:  2 hrs 17 mins ago
 Yssing:  2 hrs 17 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  2 hrs 29 mins ago
 busytech:  3 hrs 24 mins ago
 daveyw:  4 hrs 7 mins ago
 A1200:  4 hrs 45 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Register To Post

PosterThread
tbourdon 
OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 7-Sep-2016 0:05:16
#1 ]
New Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2016
Posts: 3
From: Unknown

Does anyone know if it's possible to get higher screen resolutions than 1024X768 with OS 4.1 FE Classic on Amiga Forever PPC emulation?

I've gone through the install and fiddled with all the settings I can but I can't get a higher resolution except for 8 bit color.

At 1024X768 it's quite unusable....

Sigh :(

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 7-Sep-2016 1:04:37
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 519
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@tbourdon

It's a limitation of 4MB of VRAM with PicassoIV. 24bit is 3 bytes per pixel. What resolution were you trying to use? Higher ones should work with 16bit up to about 1680*1050. If you switch to the official WinUAE binary you can use uaegfx instead of PicassoIV. Amiga Forever 2016 came out before the uae boot rom was supported in PPC emulation. Now you can switch on a lot more options like auto mounting PC drives, uaenet, uaescsi, uaegfx, clipboard sharing etc. You'll also need to install Picasso96.lha from Aminet.

Edit: Read post #8.

Last edited by MickJT on 19-Sep-2016 at 02:02 PM.
Last edited by MickJT on 07-Sep-2016 at 01:09 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 7-Sep-2016 6:08:11
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1086
From: Germany

Quote:

MickJT wrote:
You'll also need to install Picasso96.lha from Aminet.



DON'T DO THIS!! OS 4 has a PPC-native version of P96. If you install the 68k version on top of it, you will screw it up completely!

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 7-Sep-2016 18:18:40
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8486
From: Unknown

@tbourdon

As written above, Picasso IV has only 4 MB RAM. You can set higher resolution manually via Picasso96Mode - eg. 1680x1050 16 bit I use right now, probably maximum you can get (3.5 MB).

Other option is UAEGFX (bundled with UAE or in 68k Picasso 96 distribution - you need only UAEGFX monitor file): no GFX RAM limitation, supports 32 bit colour etc. However, it is a little bit slower than Picasso IV emulation and there are some compatibility issues. As both monitor files may exist together (OS4 chooses right one automatically), you can try, which one suits your needs better.


And of course...

Welcome!

Last edited by pavlor on 07-Sep-2016 at 06:19 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tbourdon 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 7-Sep-2016 22:45:41
#5 ]
New Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2016
Posts: 3
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Thanks for the tips. You and @MickJT seem to be on the same page in terms of options so I will explore UAEGFX and see if I can get OS 4.1 FE running in the WinUAE environment.

Again, thanks for the reply.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tbourdon 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 7-Sep-2016 22:48:11
#6 ]
New Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2016
Posts: 3
From: Unknown

@MickJT

I'd like to run at 1900x1080. Your advise seems to be in line with @pavlor. I'll do some research on UAEGFX and see if I can get 4.1 running in WinUAE.


Thanks for the response.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 9-Sep-2016 2:02:37
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 519
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@thomas

If I remember correctly, the installer tells you which files already exist and what versions they are, so I think I just skipped the ones that already existed, but still used the normal installer. I don't remember if the installer has the Novice/Intermediate/Expert modes, but if it does I usually choose Intermediate.

Last edited by MickJT on 09-Sep-2016 at 02:04 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 19-Sep-2016 13:58:31
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 519
From: Adelaide, South Australia

I thought I should bump this thread so I could correct some information.

This is the bare minimum you need to do to use UAEGFX on OS4.1 on WinUAE.

Extract Picasso96.lha from Aminet.
Copy Picasso96(.info) from Picasso96Install/Devs/Monitors/ and rename it (optional) to uaegfx.
Edit uaegfx.info and add the tooltype BOARDTYPE=uaegfx (necessary).

That's it. You don't need the .card file, or to edit kicklayout or install any libraries or anything else.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 19-Sep-2016 14:21:45
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4132
From: Portsmouth England

@MickJT

Why do you need to download Picaso96.lha from aminet to get a Monitpr driver icon when AmigaOS comes with ooodles of nice shiney OS4 ones you could rename in exactly the same way?

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 28-Sep-2016 18:04:19
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 519
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@broadblues

If your question is only in regards to the .info itself, then yeah you're right, you can use an existing .info and set the right tooltypes. You'll still need the Picasso96 file itself (Picasso96Install/Devs/Monitors/Picasso96) as far as I know.

Last edited by MickJT on 28-Sep-2016 at 06:35 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 28-Sep-2016 19:32:26
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4132
From: Portsmouth England

@MickJT

Quote:

You'll still need the Picasso96 file itself (Picasso96Install/Devs/Monitors/Picasso96) as far as I know.


Why? What does it do that an OS4 Picasso96 monitor file doesn't ? have you tried using the PPC one? They are all the same as far as I can see apart from the icon....

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MickJT 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 11-Oct-2016 13:39:21
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Jan-2005
Posts: 519
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@broadblues

Quote:
What does it do that an OS4 Picasso96 monitor file doesn't ?


There is no OS4 Picasso96 monitor file. I just searched the CD and couldn't find one.

Quote:
have you tried using the PPC one?


Where?

Last edited by MickJT on 11-Oct-2016 at 01:40 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 11-Oct-2016 14:11:36
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2685
From: Finland

@MickJT

Quote:

There is no OS4 Picasso96 monitor file. I just searched the CD and couldn't find one.


Look in "AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition:System/Devs/Monitors".

Any one of the files there should do as they are identical apart from the file name.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 18-Sep-2017 12:44:55
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3315
From: Unknown

@salass00

I have the same problem.

I copied the monitor in System/Devs/Monitors, but i still unable to have the uaegfx monitor.

Last edited by AmigaBlitter on 18-Sep-2017 at 12:58 PM.

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: OS 4.1 FE Classic Screen Resolution
Posted on 18-Sep-2017 14:06:33
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3315
From: Unknown

@AmigaBlitter

solved. Duplicated picasso IV and changed board name in uaegfx

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle