Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5582 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 44 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BSzili:  53 mins ago
 Templario:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 dooz:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 Tarzin:  1 hr 29 mins ago
 resle:  2 hrs 26 mins ago
 billt:  2 hrs 27 mins ago
 Drewlio77:  2 hrs 29 mins ago
 noXLar:  3 hrs 14 mins ago
 BoingBear:  4 hrs 6 mins ago
 Rob:  4 hrs 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  WinUAE: Filename from host
Register To Post

PosterThread
Wanderer 
WinUAE: Filename from host
Posted on 5-Oct-2016 21:45:41
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Aug-2008
Posts: 653
From: Germany

I was wondering if it is possible under WinUAE to get the file name of the host, if a device is file mapped.

E.g. my AmigaOS runs on Sys:, and is mapped to "C:\WinUAE\HD0"

So when the Amiga side sees "Sys:myfile.xzy", I want to get the string "C:\WinUAE\HD0\myfile.xyz"

Background: I am using native code as a *.dll from Amiga side. Everything works pretty badass except I cannot select files on the Amiga side and make the native code load it. Currently I would need to read it on Amiga side (which may be complex and already done by the DLL) or I need to enter a Windows filename on AmigaOS side which is awkward since I cannot use ASL requesters or anything.

_________________
--
Author of
HD-Rec, Sweeper, Samplemanager, ArTKanoid, Monkeyscript, Toadies, AsteroidsTR, TuiTED, PosTED, TKPlayer, AudioConverter, ScreenCam, PerlinFX, MapEdit, AB3 Includes and many more...
Homepage: http://www.hd-rec.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: WinUAE: Filename from host
Posted on 6-Oct-2016 6:42:56
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1082
From: Germany

@Wanderer

You can read the UAE configuration from AmigaOS. Check the source code of the uae-configuration program.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
paolone 
Re: WinUAE: Filename from host
Posted on 6-Oct-2016 21:23:35
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2007
Posts: 916
From: Unknown

@Wanderer

Should you get this host-perspective path from the emulated (amiga) side, or from the host (PC) one? better worded: is your program running in either the host or the guest environment?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wanderer 
Re: WinUAE: Filename from host
Posted on 6-Oct-2016 23:45:38
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Aug-2008
Posts: 653
From: Germany

@paolone

Let's imagine a Video encoder/decoder GUI. (this is not what I am doing)

The GUI runs on AmigaOS, it lets you select files etc.

Then, when you hit "convert", it would call a Windows .DLL to convert the source file to the target file.

Problem: The path of the file under AmigaOS is of no use for the Windows .DLL, since it the Windows .DLL runs within WinUAE exectuable context and knows only the Windows file system.

Last edited by Wanderer on 07-Oct-2016 at 12:06 AM.

_________________
--
Author of
HD-Rec, Sweeper, Samplemanager, ArTKanoid, Monkeyscript, Toadies, AsteroidsTR, TuiTED, PosTED, TKPlayer, AudioConverter, ScreenCam, PerlinFX, MapEdit, AB3 Includes and many more...
Homepage: http://www.hd-rec.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
paolone 
Re: WinUAE: Filename from host
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 17:33:02
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2007
Posts: 916
From: Unknown

@Wanderer

Well, I guess you should go for a server/client approach, with the server running on your host and the client running on WinUAE. Since your GUI would NOT call ANY Windows DLL to convert anything (it would simply not run), then you'll have your GUI to send a signal over the fake network, have your server catching the message, and pass the parameters to the part of the program that will actually call, on Windows, the DLL and perform the conversion.

That's the difficult part. The easy part would be simply parsing your .uaerc file in search of your devices windows path, and convert from to HD0:mypath\myfile C:\MYHD0\mypath\myfile.

kind regards and good luck

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle