Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5548 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 40 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Dandy

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Dandy:  35 secs ago
 Blade2019NL:  19 mins ago
 Overflow:  34 mins ago
 vox:  43 mins ago
 Rob:  48 mins ago
 dovi:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 ferrels:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 ChrisH:  1 hr 24 mins ago
 apsturk:  1 hr 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Frustation
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Templario 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 17:36:44
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3182
From: Palencia (capital of the mythical Vaccean Kingdom)

@ribdevil
Pasate al MorphOS como hize yo, me frusto menos y por lo menos los MAC de segunda mano son más baratos que las SAM, que sólo sirven como adorno, ejemplo la Sam440ep que todavía tengo..de adorno por supuesto.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6. K.O.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ribdevil 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 17:46:51
#22 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2010
Posts: 208
From: Vigo - Galicia - Spain

@Templario

Ya tengo un portátil con el Morphos 3.8, pero a pesar de que es a 1.4 GHz, me parece más lento que la SAM, y creo que aún le falta un poco al S.O.

Pero gracias por la idea.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ribdevil 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 17:49:09
#23 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2010
Posts: 208
From: Vigo - Galicia - Spain

@Hypex

Because, if boot in Linux, I have the same problem.
So, no kickstart problem.

:(


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 18:01:45
#24 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 314
From: Netherlands

@Rob

Speed is not a point, the availibility of RadeonHD cards are much better the the old ones.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ribdevil 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 18:09:01
#25 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2010
Posts: 208
From: Vigo - Galicia - Spain

@bennymee

And 3D, Warp3D and the new Warp3DNova only works in the 7XXX and the R7, R9 series.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 18:15:37
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8100
From: Unknown

@ribdevil

Quote:
Warp3D


This one works also with Radeon 9250.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 18:23:10
#27 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 251
From: Bear Delaware USA

@Rob

So no 3D drivers below the 7000 series?
Uncool.

Initially I plan to use a Radeon X1950XTX in the X5000 I hope to buy so that I can have 3D video drivers under MorphOS, I guess I'll have to settle for 2D only under OS4.

And since it appears to be the plan of the MorphOS developers to work up from the current card they support 3D on (the latest being the R500s) with 3D support for all cards as they go, its going to be awhile before a card that will have 3D support under both OS' is common.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ribdevil 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 18:30:16
#28 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2010
Posts: 208
From: Vigo - Galicia - Spain

@pavlor

Yes, but, for example:
WINGS (demo) Warp and composite, are approximately the same speed with my Radeon 9200.

With the Radeon HD 6850, the composite version is much faster than in the 9200. And I think it will be faster in WARP.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 18:34:33
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5378
From: S.Wales

@bennymee

Quote:
Speed is not a point, the availibility of RadeonHD cards are much better the the old ones.


It's fairly easy to find a Radeon 9250 and it will cost less then a PCI to PCIe bridge alone. There is also no Radeon HD driver for 68k.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 8-Oct-2016 19:04:31
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3182
From: Palencia (capital of the mythical Vaccean Kingdom)

@ribdevil
Si la verdad es que el MorphOS 3.9 sobre el portátil va algo peor que sobre un Mac Mini, pero por lo menos frusta menos el OWB de MorphOS que el de OS4.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6. K.O.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ppcamiga1 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 2:54:08
#31 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Aug-2015
Posts: 34
From: Unknown

@ribdevil

Maybe try something else.

What do you think about "amiga classic way" (sandwich):

sam440 connected to 2-Slot PCI Expansion Riser Card

2-Slot PCI Expansion Riser Card connected to radeon R200 card

2-Slot PCI Expansion Riser Card connected to pci-pcie riser

pci-pcie riser connected to 7xxx radeon

for ex.

http://www.dx.com/p/2-slot-pci-expansion-riser-card-21208

In theory it should works.







 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ribdevil 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 7:55:42
#32 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2010
Posts: 208
From: Vigo - Galicia - Spain

@ppcamiga1

Hey, thanks.

When the boys from ACube took an article on the installation of dual display, I thought of something similar, but so far had not found any adapter. It is not expensive, so I can do the test. Thank you very much.



P.S.

I have a Pci-e extension cable, so I can put the cards in a vertical position.

Thanks again

Last edited by ribdevil on 09-Oct-2016 at 07:59 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cool_amigaN 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 9:14:05
#33 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2006
Posts: 1153
From: Athens/Greece

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@ribdevil

You want HD 7000 card for SAM440?

When these boards were released back in 2008 (flex) nobody expected support for anything beyond Radeon 9250. Be content with what you have or sell it, there is no need for frustration.


You would have too felt the same way if for once have put the money where your mouth is.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 13:13:22
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3462
From: Unknown


http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/viewtopic.php?post_id=104051#forumpost104051

RIBDEVIL wrote
Quote:
Frustration, that's the word, and also abandoned. That's how I feel, I have long been trying to find some graphics card of the 7xxx series that works in my Sam440. No, all other series work correctly, but just the only valid for new drivers and probably future programs do not work. And that's very frustrating. I don't know if the fault is ACube (if it still exists, for years no signs of life), for not to update the UBoot, as was done with the 460. Or worse, of A-Eon, who has just made new drivers for 7xxx, so the others will stay behind in everything that comes. Who guarantees me that when buying a X5000, not the same thing happen in a couple of years? Finally, frustrated and abandoned, so I am, I would not have to say (as they sang Led Zeppelin) "babe, I'm gonna leave you."



m3x wrote
Quote:

@RIBDEVIL Does your 7xxx card show any video signal when starting the machine (ie the u-boot output) and then stop displaying after loading the kickstart files, or there isn't any video signal at all ? If the former, the problem is that you need both the pcigraphic.library kmod and the RadeonHD lite driver from the AmigaOS 4.1 FE Sam460 CD (or the full driver from A-Eon)

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 13:27:31
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8100
From: Unknown

@Cool_amigaN

Quote:
You would have too felt the same way if for once have put the money where your mouth is.


My English language skills are weak. Just for clarification (and please excuse my question), is this some attempt to insult me?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 14:10:17
#36 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 882
From: United States of Europe

@Spectre660

It is well known fact that it is uboot issue. Somehow it doesn't initialice HD7XXX cards.

aCube has addmitted problems.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 14:18:41
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3462
From: Unknown

@utri007

It is not a fact it is a theory.Acube have never confirmed Uboot to be the actual cause .
mx3 one of the partners in Acube.
He is putting forward an actual solution to the problem.
Up some one with the hardware to try .

Quote:

utri007 wrote:
@Spectre660

It is well known fact that it is uboot issue. Somehow it doesn't initialice HD7XXX cards.

aCube has addmitted problems.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thinkchip 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 14:33:16
#38 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 1078
From: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

@ribdevil

Well, Mr. Frustration, consider the plight of AmigaOne micro owners. The micro Uboot doesn't support any graphics cards. You're stuck with the internal graphics. Luckily I also have a SAM 460. I suggest upgrading. It's useful to have two AmigaNG machines in any case.

_________________
AmigaOne 500(OS4.1 FE) / microA1(OS4.1 FE) / Cubic IDE / Imagine
Amiga 4000/1200/500/2500/1000 / VIC20 / C64 / SX64 / C128 / C16 / C116 / Plus/4 / PET B500
Windows 10 / 3GHz AMD Phenom 8GB RAM / Lightwave 11.6.3 / Visual C++

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 15:02:09
#39 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3462
From: Unknown

So this file may be the solution .

version AmigaOS_4.1:Kickstart/PCIGraphics.card full
PCIGraphics.card 53.9 (07/20/2014)


It is included in most of the the RadeoHD driver archives .

Last edited by Spectre660 on 09-Oct-2016 at 03:27 PM.
Last edited by Spectre660 on 09-Oct-2016 at 03:23 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Frustation
Posted on 9-Oct-2016 15:35:05
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8280
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Spectre660

Now this is bizarre. First RadeonHD.chip identifies it as a VERDE card. Then RadeonHD.chip says it is an Unidentified card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle