Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5600 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 53 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 juMa:  11 mins ago
 BCP:  20 mins ago
 TrevorDick:  23 mins ago
 CosmosUnivers:  25 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  41 mins ago
 ferrels:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 Overflow:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 hr 50 mins ago
 Signman:  2 hrs 8 mins ago
 Wildstar128:  2 hrs 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Disabling advertisements
Register To Post

PosterThread
tonyw 
Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 2:06:56
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3082
From: Sydney (of course)

Is there any way that OWB or Odyssey can be made to ignore included references to advertisements?

For instance, can I tell either of them to skip fetching content from "googleadservices" or "ad.doubleclick.net"?

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 5:04:57
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2700
From: Gloucestershire UK

@tonyw

You can use the content blocking function. look in the windows menu.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 7:41:52
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 540
From: .fi

And also enable it from Preferences->Content->Content blocking.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Raziel 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 7:42:54
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Apr-2004
Posts: 2405
From: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

@tonyw

Yes, you can

By using a special HOSTS file you simply have to install over the one in DEVS:Internet/HOSTS

Here is a list of candidates (scroll down to see the variants)

I added a line to my network startup to make the list update on every start, so i'm always having the latest one installed before i start browsing (you need wget for that to work).
Quote:

wget -q --no-check-certificate https://raw.githubusercontent.com/StevenBlack/hosts/master/alternates/fakenews-gambling-porn-social/hosts -ODEVS:Internet/HOSTS

After that i'm adding my own list of installed machines in my home network to be able to access them by name
Quote:

type Tools:Internet/Network/IP-List >> DEVS:Internet/HOSTS


I tried and it doesn't slow down the overall internet speed (benchmarked), but it does speed it up with ad heavy sites once installed.

As a bonus it will block known phishing and malware sites, so nothing can be accessed "in or from the background".

I have those installed on all of my computers where possible.

PS: You need the ---no-check-certificate because wget still relies on outdated SSL and needs to be rebuild with AmiSSL4, but it works as good without (need to contact the author about it)

PPS: Be aware that "social" means you cannot access Twatter, Fakeblock and others anymore

PPS: As a bonus you can leave the "Content Blocking" (as others have mentioned) untouched, this way no site will "warn" you about you using one anymore, well one or two might still be smart enough...

Last edited by Raziel on 14-Feb-2017 at 07:45 AM.

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 10:49:20
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1571
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@Raziel

I tested Download (v1.4) utility and it loaded the linked hosts file just well.

Quite long list of hosts with all kinds of them included.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me.
X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 13:38:14
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4117
From: Portsmouth England

@Raziel

Using a bulk host blocker like that is not such a good idea as you can't selectively allow access for example, you might want to lweave ads enabled on this site, where they are both minimal and help support the site costs, similarly on my own site I have minimal adverts and those help pay my site running costs.

The built in content blocker in oddyssey can be used on a per site basis and so is much more descriminating.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 15:49:02
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1206
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@broadblues
I don't see any Odyssey docs that explain how to determine what to add to the Odyssey content blocker. How would the average user determine what to enter to block a certain add on a particular WEB page? I've never been able to add anything to Odyssey content blocking that actually works. Maybe I'm missing something obvious.


_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 17:59:01
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4117
From: Portsmouth England

@Xenic

I admit I haven't used it much, but IIRC it comes preloaded with blocking rules already?

Just chacking I see there is a menu entry Window->ContentBlocking

This window contains a list of rules, they appear to be regular expressions. I don't know if there are any resources with ready made expressions for new advaert srcs, I'd guess there are, maybe as part of the adblock src code? Writting your own is likely beyond the average amiga user these days...

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 22:02:19
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3082
From: Sydney (of course)

@broadblues

Yeah, the AdBlock in Odyssey works OK for me. My main annoyance is the ads that take ages to load, holding up access to the page when I only want to click on a link (like on this site), but I have to wait while the ads load first.

And in OWB, sometimes the ads freeze the browser with their animations and Javascript.

I assume OWB never had AdBlock added?

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 14-Feb-2017 23:25:36
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4117
From: Portsmouth England

@tonyw

Quote:

I assume OWB never had AdBlock added?


No unfortunatly it's very minimal and has no blocking facilties, I still prefer it due to the way it renders text, but many sites are getting very slow, and not just because of the adverts.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 15-Feb-2017 10:24:51
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3082
From: Sydney (of course)

@broadblues

Agreed about the text, Odyssey's text rendering is awful compared to that of OWB.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BillE 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 15-Feb-2017 10:45:29
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Nov-2003
Posts: 1147
From: Northern Scotland

Does anyone know of any adblock settings that will get rid of all the annoying Facebook, Twitter and other social media banners, links icons etc.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Raziel 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 15-Feb-2017 20:48:24
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Apr-2004
Posts: 2405
From: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

@broadblues

That is the nice thing about this hosts file...95% of the amiga ads arent blocked because they normally dont use the big expensive ad farms but private servers.
the hosts maintainers arent bothered by those as they dont stumble over them, so do not fear, your site and all the amiga sites tend to not be affected.

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Raziel 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 15-Feb-2017 20:54:34
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Apr-2004
Posts: 2405
From: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

@BillE

Hi Bill,
take a look at my first post in this thread, follow the link to the github page and choose the hosts file to your liking.

"social" is the one you should look for, it blocks every known social media page, faceblock, twatter...you name it.

not sure if the *icons* will be blocked aswell, you might need to empty your entire cache for that first.
the nice thing is that it blocks everything that will load in the background from those sites and speeds up page generation/loading.

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 15-Feb-2017 22:31:04
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4117
From: Portsmouth England

@Raziel

The adverts on this site (as opposed to the sponsored banners at the top) are served by googleads, reasonably sure they count as big player....

Like wise the ads on my site are also googlead based, I limited to one ad block per page with no video ads so as not to penalise vistors...

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 16-Feb-2017 1:29:44
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2700
From: Gloucestershire UK

@Raziel

I tried the hosts thing you suggested but it causes more problems than it fixes, for example it kills the search bar at amazon.co.uk makeing the site totally useless.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 16-Feb-2017 8:53:42
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 540
From: .fi

Quote:

Xenic wrote:
@broadblues
I don't see any Odyssey docs that explain how to determine what to add to the Odyssey content blocker. How would the average user determine what to enter to block a certain add on a particular WEB page? I've never been able to add anything to Odyssey content blocking that actually works. Maybe I'm missing something obvious.


AFAIK it's based on the popular Adblock Plus standard, so the best bet is to go on documentation made for mainstream browsers, for example https://adblockplus.org/filters

You can even use Adblock filter files made for mainstream browsers, just rename them to conf/blocked.prefs in Odyssey's drawer (make backup of the original first). Although in my quick tests those can be too heavy for us making browsing too slow, so I think it's best to stick with the provided conf and just add your own rules there when needed.

BTW. you can also add new rules to block images from certain sites by right clicking an image and selecting "Block Images from site..." from the context menu.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Raziel 
Re: Disabling advertisements
Posted on 22-Feb-2017 17:09:32
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Apr-2004
Posts: 2405
From: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

@Severin

Not sure what you did, but i just browsed to the search bar and it's working perfectly fine.

Saying that i wouldn't know what in the host file should make it unusable as there is no adware or any other site covered by the hosts file attached to the search bar.

Sorry to say that, but you did something wrong

It works for all sites for me, minus having to deal with the annoying ads, spam, phishing and popups

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle