Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5572 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 54 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Dandy

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Dandy:  40 secs ago
 DJBase:  19 mins ago
 severs:  31 mins ago
 CosmosUnivers:  31 mins ago
 Barret:  1 hr 58 mins ago
 broadblues:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 BCP:  2 hrs 19 mins ago
 Atheist:  2 hrs 24 mins ago
 Overflow:  2 hrs 25 mins ago
 stevieu:  2 hrs 54 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Register To Post

PosterThread
smartroad 
Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 18-Mar-2017 17:31:57
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2005
Posts: 157
From: United Kingdom

So I have finally been able to get my A1200 working with AmigaOS 4.1 FE

I have been having issues getting RuninUAE working, which I understand will be too slow due to the PPC being a 'slow' early generation version.

So I got to thinking, is there anyway to dual boot my A1200? Have 4.1 for more "modern" stuff and 3.x (probably 3.9) for playing older games etc?

My thought on this is to have OS4 on the first partition and OS3.x on another bootable partition. Setting OS4 to have a higher boot priority and getting into 3.x using the early startup options to pick its partition to boot from.

Would this even work? Wanted to ask as I am waiting for a new higher capacity CF card to arrive but wanted to get the ground work done first :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zipper 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 18-Mar-2017 17:40:58
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Jul-2005
Posts: 222
From: finland

@smartroad

Yes, I did it on my A4000. Sometimes slipped with the timing and got the wrong kick in and had to cold reboot 10 secs to start again.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 18-Mar-2017 18:17:01
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 238
From: Unknown

@smartroad

HI again! :D

My recommendation to dualboot os4.1 and os3.9 is to set os4.1 to the lowest boot priority.

Create a textfile in you kickstart drawer in os4.1 called BootDevice
In that te×tfile you just specify the name of your os4.1 partition. For example "DH1"

add a line to your kicklayout like this:

MODULE Kickstart/BootDevice

Poweron your amiga and select your OS4.1 partition as boot partition from the early startup screen and when the os4.1 kickstart is loaded it will use your os4.1 installation partition as boot device until you do a hard reboot.



Last edited by smf on 18-Mar-2017 at 06:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
alpyre 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 18-Mar-2017 21:46:33
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Oct-2008
Posts: 18
From: Samsun / Turkey

@zipper

Wouw! I didn't know that was possible. It is a cool way to do it. But that way every time you reboot in OS4.1, you'll have to go to early startup.

I did it in my system (where I've installed both OS3.1, OS3.9 and OS4.1 on separate partitions) by making OS4.1 partition the only bootable partition and adding the following lines at the start of its startup-sequence.

Quote:

;BEGIN OS Selector
DH0:C/Assign SYS: DH0:
DH0:C/Assign C: DH0:C
Assign T: RAM:
Version exec.library VERSION 52 >NIL:
IF WARN
  Assign >NIL: LIBS: DH0:Libs/
  Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:
  RequestChoice "Amiga 1200 OS Selector" "Please choose OS version to boot" " OS 3.1 | OS 3.9 | OS 4.1 "
  SET OS $RC
  Avail >NIL: FLUSH
  Assign >NIL: LIBS:
  Assign >NIL: ENV:
  IF $OS EQ 1
    Assign SYS: DH0:
    Cd SYS:
    Assign ENVARC: SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive
    Assign Locale: SYS:Locale
    Assign C: SYS:C
    Assign S: SYS:S
    Assign LIBS: SYS:LIBS
    Assign DEVS: SYS:DEVS
    Assign FONTS: SYS:FONTS
    Assign L: SYS:L
    Assign T:
    Execute S:Startup-Sequence
    EndCLI
  EndIF
  IF $OS EQ 2
    Assign SYS: DH1:
    Cd SYS:
    Assign Envarc: SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive
    Assign Locale: SYS:Locale
    Assign C: SYS:C
    Assign S: SYS:S
    Assign LIBS: SYS:LIBS
    Assign DEVS: SYS:DEVS
    Assign FONTS: SYS:FONTS
    Assign L: SYS:L
    Assign T:
    Execute S:Startup-Sequence
    EndCLI
  EndIF
EndIF
Assign SYS: DH2:
DH0:C/Assign C: DH2:C
DH0:C/Assign T:
;End OS Selector


Notes:
* As obvious I have OS3.1 on DH0:, 3.9 on DH1: and 4.1 on DH2:

* How it works:
- It first migrates the SYS: to DH0: (where OS3.1 is) to be able to use 68k AmigaDOS commands.
- Then checks the exec version.
- If it is higher than 52 (which means OS4.1 kickstart is already loaded) migrates SYS: back to DH2: and keeps on executing startup-sequence (which eventually boot up OS4.1 WB).
- If it is lower than 52, brings up a requester (using RequestChoice command) that asks which OS to boot.
- Migrates the SYS: to the partition in respect to users choice, and executes the startup-sequence there.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 19-Mar-2017 2:04:14
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1721
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

There is the "Killer App"

Instead of the Black&White a good point and click:

Which OS would You prefer today?

-Amiga

-PC

-xx whatever installed


" Good choice, loading in 5 seconds"



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smartroad 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 20-Mar-2017 9:44:58
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2005
Posts: 157
From: United Kingdom

@alpyre

Having problems with both methods. The upshot is the same for both, I can get it to boot but after first boot it will report as DH1 (my 4.1 install) is not inserted/available.

Do I need to keep both under the 4gb limit?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RussellB 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 20-Mar-2017 12:58:13
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2002
Posts: 48
From: Cheshire, UK

@smartroad

How I have it set up is to split the first 2GB on the hard drive into 2 x 1GB partitions. 1 for OS3.9 and 1 for OS4.1FE.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 20-Mar-2017 15:32:45
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5585
From: Unknown

its pita to set up and pita work with this. i have messed with this forever years ago and the final solution was afaik that i ve put the os3.x kickstart in the deneb flash, switching it on and off with the key on the a4000 box frontb resulted in switching the os on hard reboot. of course some check in the s-s was necessary, dont remember details , though. which all kinda almost reliably worked. but then i got tired of os4 and removed it altogether. problem solved.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
alpyre 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 21-Mar-2017 3:50:04
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Oct-2008
Posts: 18
From: Samsun / Turkey

@smartroad

My OS4.1 partition is only 1GB big. And it works flawlessly. OS4.1 uses 30% of it so it is more than enough.

Of course you can create bigger but always keep both system partitions inside the first 4GB's of the harddrive. Then I belive things will be ok.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smartroad 
Re: Dual boot A1200 with OS3 and 4?
Posted on 25-Mar-2017 18:22:39
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2005
Posts: 157
From: United Kingdom

Thanks for all the help guys, giving up on it. I need 3.1 more than I need 4 and none of the suggestions above have worked for me :(

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle