Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5599 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 58 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  wawa

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BigD:  1 min ago
 wawa:  4 mins ago
 Overflow:  12 mins ago
 clint:  13 mins ago
 pavlor:  14 mins ago
 DJS:  15 mins ago
 amigakit:  21 mins ago
 Comi:  23 mins ago
 Rob:  33 mins ago
 broadblues:  37 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Register To Post

PosterThread
newlight 
Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 28-Mar-2017 20:25:24
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1450
From: Somewhere in Spain

Hello

Where can I download Return to Castle Wolstein PAK files?

I don't find it on the web

Any link will be highly appreciated

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 28-Mar-2017 20:27:48
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 285
From: Stockport, England

@newlight

Buy the PC version on Steam or GOG and transfer them across which is what i did

Its the same for any of HunoPPC's games you need to purchase the original PC version and copy across the Pak files into the OS4 executable.

Don't forget to tip HunoPPC for all his hard work

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 29-Mar-2017 3:33:10
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1698
From: Australia

@outrun1978

There's multiple ports for various systems.
Novacoder has done ports for 68k Amiga and I did ports for AROS, and there's MorphOS ports too.
Point being the "don't forget to tip hunoppc" suggestion may not be appropriate and makes assumptions. :)

p.s. I found that exact plush Yoshi toy from your avatar pic while walking home about a week ago. Looks brand new. Some poor kid out there was probably devastated to have lost his new toy.

edit: ah, actually depends on which RTCW one means. I first thought of the original '92 game, but afterwards realized it may have been the game from the late 90's based on the q3 engine.
That being the case credit for AROS version goes to Bszili, not me. :)

Last edited by fishy_fis on 29-Mar-2017 at 03:44 AM.
Last edited by fishy_fis on 29-Mar-2017 at 03:39 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 29-Mar-2017 8:29:11
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1084
From: Oullins, France

@fishy_fis

There is only ONE Return To Castle Wolfenstein.

The 1st version was name Castle Wolfenstein.

And yes, Huno has worked hard to optimize RTCW on OS4 and yes "don't forget to tip hunoppc" is a valid suggestion.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 29-Mar-2017 15:54:30
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 285
From: Stockport, England

@fishy_fis

looking at what system newlight is using, it should have been pretty obvious he was talking about the OS4 version

And big size Yoshi can be found at Nintendo World in New York, My Yoshi requests you leave him alone so he can go back to playing Mario Kart via Snes9X

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 4:11:29
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1698
From: Australia

@outrun1978

Newlight's Sig mentions both "classic" and "ng" systems, and he doesn't specify which it is he's talking about, so no, its not really all that obvious.

@K-L

Not exactly true. While the original '92 title does get referred to as Wolfenstein3d, there's an argument to be made that it's called Return To Castle Wolfenstein. Heck, some versions title screen even call it that.
Also, has it really been optimized for OS4, or just recompiled? Its a very light game with low resource requirements. Based on the quake3 engine released last century. Runs fine on a higher end pentium1 or low spec p2, even OS4 hardware should deal with it without issues.
All credit to hunoppc for the recompile, but its hardly much effort. The real effort was done by the people who removed the DX dependencies (which was people outside of this community).

Last edited by fishy_fis on 30-Mar-2017 at 04:13 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 4:15:49
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1698
From: Australia

@Newlight

The game can be found on site removed under Roms/PC.

Staff Note: We cannot condone linking to these kinds of sites

Last edited by _Steve_ on 01-Apr-2017 at 07:56 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 7:59:09
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 285
From: Stockport, England

@fishy_fis

I think you will find Newlight has also posted on amigans.net where he mentions that he is using Amiga OS4.1

And as for encouraging piracy by directing him to an illegal download site..... tut tut....

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 11:48:31
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1084
From: Oullins, France

@fishy_fis

Do you know anything about Huno's work or do you just want to bash him publicly ?

Have you tested all his ported games ? Do you really think he's just doing a "make" when porting ?

Huno puts a lot of hard work porting and (yes) optimizing games for OS 4.1 since Warp3D and miniGL has really some flaws regarding GL games.

And no, Wolf3D has never been named RTCW : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wolfenstein_(series)#Wolfenstein_3D_.281992.29

Edit : typos

Last edited by K-L on 30-Mar-2017 at 11:48 AM.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 17:23:46
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1698
From: Australia

@K-L

Care to show me where I "bashed" hunoppc's work?
I did no such thing. In fact I even gave kudos to him for his efforts.

And I've still to see any indication of much in the way of much OS4 optimizations. That doesn't mean its a simple case of just using make.
Are they using intuition and/or p96, AHI directly, or still SDL for everything? (Obviously some form of gl is being used as well, but that's not the question). Input handling? Audio?

Having ported dozens of games and apps to Amiga os and clones myself I'm more than a little familiar with what is required, and honestly stuff like RTCW isn't hard, especially when the majority of the actual work is done before any amiga-oid developers even touch the sources.

Additionally, which part of, "Some versions of the original Wolfenstein even have 'Return To Castle Wolfenstein' on the title screen" is it you're finding difficult to comprehend?

I suggest you untwist your panties, take a deep breath, and try to read things without the assumption there's any bashing going on. Just because a person doesn't hail all work done by fans of the platform doesn't mean they're bashing, nor unappreciative.

Some of us simply have better insight into the effort involved for certain things.

Seriously, this community can be irritating at times. So much so that I really consider adding new, OS4 specific viruses to some ports. Wouldn't be hard to write some stuff that could do serious damage.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 17:33:48
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1450
From: Somewhere in Spain

@fishy_fis

Thank you fishy_fis I will check it now!!!

You make my day

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 17:42:54
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1450
From: Somewhere in Spain

@newlight

Sorry I didn't find on this page

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 17:53:08
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1698
From: Australia

@newlight

Sorry, I noticed the non mobile browser layout is different.
There's a list on the left hand side of systems, with "more" down the bottom.
Select that and you'll get a larger list of systems, including PC.

edit: damn, sorry, looks like the page has been changed a bit. RTCW is no longer there, just Enemy Territory.
I'll p.m. you another link.

Last edited by fishy_fis on 30-Mar-2017 at 05:57 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 19:31:29
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1450
From: Somewhere in Spain

@fishy_fis

I finally I'm downloading now the file!!

If someone wants it type on google rtcw.rar and find it!!

Good luck to you too

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 19:41:19
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1698
From: Australia

@newlight

lol,... after all that a simple google of the archive name was all that needed. :)

Oh well, took the scenic route, but you got there. :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Where can I download Return to Castle Wolfstein PAK files?
Posted on 30-Mar-2017 23:26:15
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1450
From: Somewhere in Spain

@fishy_fis

I extracted the files but now somes are missing.

Don't know what to do really

_________________
AMIGA 500 1MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
CD32 unexpanded
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/512 MB/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SIL0680/X-Arcade double for M.A.M.E. emulator and Multiboot system consisting of

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle