Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5616 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 62 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 TRIPOS,  OneTimer1

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 TRIPOS:  1 min ago
 OneTimer1:  4 mins ago
 OlafS25:  19 mins ago
 Fransexy:  20 mins ago
 AndyGarton:  21 mins ago
 Daedalus:  42 mins ago
 paolone:  43 mins ago
 smf:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 fjudde:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 walkero:  1 hr 21 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Amithlon Screen modes
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 5-May-2017 18:08:11
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10677
From: Norway

@Hypex

I believe Amithlon unlike UAE has access to PCI buss, allowing for USB support and direct hardware access from inside Amithlon.

OpenPCI should work I believe.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 06-May-2017 at 07:38 AM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 6-May-2017 2:00:18
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1722
From: Australia

@g01df1sh

If nvidia gfx, and not just vesa modes show up then so long as you use an nvidia mode (its possible to have both vesa and nvidia modes defined concurrently) it'll be 2d accelerated.

A video file is a good visual indicator though if you want something you can see. Vesa modes will generate more tearing.

A few software suggestions under Amithlon BTW:

Payback
Genetic Species
Quake
Napalm
Nemav IV
Quake2
Ffmpeg
Froggerng
Riva
fpse (PlayStation emu)
Scummvm
PC Task
Pcx
Shapeshifter/fusion/etc
Foundation
Alienbreed3d2. (via rtg patch)
Trapped
Trapped2
Doom
Heretic
Hexen
Netsurf. (probably both branches)
Amiblitz


I could go on forever, but there's a few there that are both system friendly an utilize Amithlon strengths.

Last edited by fishy_fis on 06-May-2017 at 08:15 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 6-May-2017 10:06:42
#23 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1060
From: UK

@fishy_fis

Great list thanks. I tried napalm but got flashing screen so not playable. That was with fb screen mode though will try again now I know how to get Nidia modes working.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 6-May-2017 10:14:12
#24 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1722
From: Australia

@g01df1sh

It definitely works. I've played it :)
Perhaps there's a dependency or 2 missing from your system?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 6-May-2017 22:51:37
#25 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1060
From: UK

@fishy_fis

OK got napalm working but no audio. Did not think I would say this but screen scroll is a bit fast lol

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 7-May-2017 2:02:08
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1722
From: Australia

@g01df1sh

Napalm needs you to use Nalle de puh or similar for audio (basically a piece of software that reroute Paula audio through ahi). There's a few similar tools on aminet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Amithlon Screen modes
Posted on 7-May-2017 5:33:32
#27 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1722
From: Australia

@g01df1sh

In regards to the actual threads topic, its definitely worthwhile learning to create extra screenmodes for things like emulators, or even just to create that "sweet spot" for performance for 3d games. Personally I have screen modes to mirror all those of the custom chip set amigas (each of 320,640,1280 by each of 200,256, 400 and 512), plus a few marginally over scanned variants. Additionally I've made screen modes that are matches for some Mame games, resolutions for software warp3d (512*384) games with eye candy enabled (payback, fpse, etc) and so on and so forth.

Given the limited acceleration of gfx, lower resolutions return a lot more CPU time than it might on other systems, so you can get quite a speed-up using lower resolutions rather than simply scaling software designed to run at a lower resolution up to a higher one. Very handy for things like uae/custom chip set software.

Last edited by fishy_fis on 07-May-2017 at 05:34 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle