Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5605 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 58 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 amigakit,  eliyahu

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigakit:  0 secs ago
 eliyahu:  2 mins ago
 zipper:  8 mins ago
 Barret:  9 mins ago
 Beans:  23 mins ago
 Am!ga:  25 mins ago
 Rob:  32 mins ago
 Blade2019NL:  38 mins ago
 zzd10h:  42 mins ago
 tlosm:  48 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Register To Post

PosterThread
Hypex 
Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 12-May-2017 17:42:36
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8566
From: Greensborough, Australia

Hi there.

This wasn't a problem until lately but everytime I open Odyssey it goes through the fonts which slows it down. According to the readme it should only do this once and then save the result. But that doesn't happen here. I'm opening through the standard launcher if that makes any difference.

I've tried running FixFonts, then opening and closing Odyssey. Then FixFonts after. But it's made no difference. It keeps doing the same thing.

Is this a known issue with an easy fix?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 12-May-2017 18:46:36
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1112
From: Oullins, France

@Hypex

Well known issue :

http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/viewtopic.php?post_id=106102#forumpost106102

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Morphix 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 13-May-2017 4:50:41
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Aug-2009
Posts: 433
From: Greece

@Hypex

Indeed a well known issue

Last edited by Morphix on 13-May-2017 at 04:52 AM.

_________________
Peg1, Peg2, Efika,
Amiga 500, Amiga 600, Amiga 1230,
Amiga 1200PPC, Amiga 4000PPC,
CDTV, CD32,
Sam 440EP, AmigaOne XE,
MacMini PPC, PowerMac G4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 13-May-2017 14:48:06
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8566
From: Greensborough, Australia

@K-L

Thanks.

I looked in that font drawer for things to delete but didn't want to wreck anything without asking.

I also only searched here and not world wide on the web but at least now we have a local reference.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lazi 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 14-May-2017 12:59:05
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Apr-2005
Posts: 602
From: Pomaz, Hungary

Here the Odyssey font drawer can not be deleted.
Moved out from the Odyssey folder and that solved the the same problem as the subject said.

6.Data:font> dir
076632dfc0747cebd47d96470394e408-x86.cache-2.NEW
6.Data:font> delete 076632dfc0747cebd47d96470394e408-x86.cache-2.NEW
076632dfc0747cebd47d96470394e408-x86.cache-2.NEW Not Deleted: Error 81
6.Data:font> why
WHY: The last command did not set a return code
6.Data:font>

SFS\00 Filesystem. What is that error 81, and how should I remove that file?

6.Data:font> version smartfilesystem
SmartFilesystem 1.293

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 14-May-2017 16:00:50
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8566
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Lazi

81 isn't listed as a known error. No other problems on that volume? Only that files you can't delete?

Maybe get out PartitionWizard and check the volume. (If it works.)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lazi 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 14-May-2017 19:48:58
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Apr-2005
Posts: 602
From: Pomaz, Hungary

@Hypex

You are right, there was problem with the partition.
Launched MorphOS and repaired it with SFSDoctor. Then OS4 successfully deleted the file.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 15-May-2017 15:43:27
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8566
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Lazi

Good stuff. That SFSDoctor sounds very useful and especially being able to boot MorohOS and run it. Does that mean you have FE with a broken PartitionWizard?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lazi 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 16-May-2017 13:43:01
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Apr-2005
Posts: 602
From: Pomaz, Hungary

@Hypex

The PartitionWizard from the Enhancer package is working, but not able to fix any partition but FFS.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Odyssey keeps rebuilding font cache
Posted on 16-May-2017 15:43:22
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8566
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Lazi

Yes good point. I found that out. And just recently. How soon I forget.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle