Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5605 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 57 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 zipper:  5 mins ago
 Barret:  6 mins ago
 amigakit:  7 mins ago
 Beans:  20 mins ago
 Am!ga:  22 mins ago
 Rob:  29 mins ago
 Blade2019NL:  35 mins ago
 zzd10h:  39 mins ago
 eliyahu:  40 mins ago
 tlosm:  45 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Booting X5000 via ethernet?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Gregor 
Booting X5000 via ethernet?
Posted on 19-May-2017 6:51:44
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 82
From: Unknown

I remember someone (was it Spectre...?) mentioned here once that he regularly boots his Sam460 via ethernet...

Is the same possible with X5000, and how should it be done...?

If it is doable, do you need to setup some sort of 'server' in another machine? Is there the needed software available for a classic Amiga (OS 3.x)? Or for Linux?

in what format the 'boot source' should be? Can it be simply a bootable partition (SFS or FFS) prepared in a classic Amiga...?

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: Booting X5000 via ethernet?
Posted on 19-May-2017 9:42:43
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 774
From: United Kingdom

@Gregor

You can boot via TFTP. But I think this only gets the 'boot image' so has to be smallish, so for us its the Kickstart and bit of workbench. Although once this hits the s:startup-sequence you could easily mount a NAS: drive and then continue workbench loading from the remote drive

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: Booting X5000 via ethernet?
Posted on 19-May-2017 9:48:01
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 774
From: United Kingdom

@TheAMIgaOne

With regards to Classic Amiga, Envoy was a good network filesystem, simple TCP stack and filesystem that could fit on a single ADF/Disk, and again load Workbench from the network. Although this will need a another amiga (or WinUAE) as a server.

I once made a setup with WinUAE as a Envoy host, and 2x A1200 and 1xA600 on a single disk envoy boot, which would connect to the Envoy host. (used for mass disk->add backup system)

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: Booting X5000 via ethernet?
Posted on 19-May-2017 9:58:34
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 82
From: Unknown

@TheAMIgaOne Quote:
You can boot via TFTP. But I think this only gets the 'boot image' so has to be smallish, so for us its the Kickstart and bit of workbench. Although once this hits the s:startup-sequence you could easily mount a NAS: drive and then continue workbench loading from the remote drive


In what format this 'boot image' has to be...??? And how to create it...? (I hope not ".iso" as I cannot create a bootable one with my classic system!)

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle