Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5615 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 75 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 50mm

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 50mm:  2 mins ago
 Beans:  6 mins ago
 Deniil715:  11 mins ago
 amigasociety:  23 mins ago
 Rob:  24 mins ago
 eliyahu:  33 mins ago
 K-L:  41 mins ago
 Amiboy:  45 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  54 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 21 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  A1222 and CPU multiplier
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Spectre660 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 16-Jul-2017 23:10:05
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3560
From: Unknown

@dooz

Sam460ex

CPU Blowfish (lower is better)
This Machine 1155 MHz 57.522

CPU CryptoHash (higher is better)
This Machine 1155 MHz 19.424

CPU Fibonacci (lower is better)
This Machine 1155 MHz 16.196

CPU N-Queens (lower is better)
This Machine 1155 MHz 41.481

FPU FFT (lower is better)
This Machine 1155 MHz 56.793

FPU Raytracing (lower is better)
This Machine 1155 MHz 48.580

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 16-Jul-2017 23:25:13
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@Spectre660

Thanks for confirming what I'd already been fairly sure of, that the Applied Micro cpus used on Acube's boards were weaker than Freescale's cpus.
I've made more than a few denigrating comments about Tabor's cpu, but the fact is that as 32 bit PPC cpus go, its not that bad.
It has a crappy fpu, but so what, that's not a major part of the performance equation.

The fpu issue is a stickler for the MorphOS community (which already has plenty of supported systems in this performance range, so the compromise isn't really attractive to us).
But, as a low cost OS4 system, I can see why it might appeal to some of you.

This discussion about over clocking though...its kind of like trying 'to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear'.
Even if you can get it to over clock, the improvement will be minimal considering the risks involved.
Burn out that cpu and you've pretty much trashed the board.

And for what? A tiny performance gain that would still come nowhere near what an X5000 can manage. Really, it would be best not to go there. Its not worth the potential cost.

Last edited by iggy on 16-Jul-2017 at 11:26 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 17-Jul-2017 8:27:52
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@Spectre660

X5000/20
35,7
41,42
8,86
20,39
30,21
30,09

X1000

60,33
32,14
15,08
24,54
17,49
37,67

Quad G5
42,27
46,23
10,89
17,5
12,97
17,07

G5 2. 0 ghz (dual)

49,53
43,1
15,3
26,98
13,3
22,91

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 17-Jul-2017 13:41:51
#24 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@tlosm

I assume those are all under Linux.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 18-Jul-2017 16:59:28
#25 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@iggy

Strange FPU test results for X5000/20 compared to G5? It seems that G5 is a lot faster....at least in FPU tests.

With X5000/40 you can get 200 MHz more and 1600MT DDR3 performance gain. Additional cores are not supported.

Is it worth buying X5000/40 over 20 without multicore support?

The similar situation is with SAM460 users. They will not upgrade to A1222 for sure because performance gain is small. There is no multicore support for A1222.

For me the upgrade makes sense because A1222 is a big jump from A1200/BPPC/BVision configuration.

And overclocking A1222 is something that is not advisable like you suggested.

-Dooz

Last edited by dooz on 18-Jul-2017 at 05:15 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 18-Jul-2017 at 05:00 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 18-Jul-2017 17:59:47
#26 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 343
From: Netherlands

@dooz

Quote:
The similar situation is with SAM460 users. They will not upgrade to A1222 for sure because performance gain is small. There is no multicore support for A1222.


Well you will have warrenty again and there is more memory, 2x sata on the Tabor and a maybe a better soundchip :)


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 18-Jul-2017 18:25:48
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@iggy

yes

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 18-Jul-2017 18:28:14
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@dooz

i think the fpu is really slow compared the g5 because the kernel isnt really optimized.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 18-Jul-2017 18:45:14
#29 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@dooz

Yes, the PowerPC 970 has a very good fpu, it outperformed X86 cpus from that period, and it has AltiVec instructions that the X5000's P5020 lacks.

SO, in a nutshell, yeah, it got better fpu performance.

AND, the X5000's use of DDR3 offers it no memory throughput advantages over a DDR2 equipped G5 (IBM's memory controller are probably just more efficient than Freescale's).


Quote:
Is it worth buying X5000/40 over 20 without multicore support?


If you plan on dual booting with Linux (and I do), then of course the extra cores are useful (and the P5040, as you point out, is the faster cpu). Plus SMP is on the roadmap for OS4 (if not MorphOS).

You ARE right that SAM460 owners gain little benefit from upgrading to an A1222 (a very modest boost in frequency and performance, AND a non-standard fpu).

But upgrading from a PowerMac G5 to an X5000?
Well, currently the G5 is only supported by MorphOS, and then only the AGP models are supported.
This severely limits graphic card selection.
Currently the best video cards supported are the AMD R500 cards (the best being the X1950Pro which won't display open firmware prompts, you want those prompts...then its the R400 based Apple X800XT).
New R600 and R700 drivers are being worked on, but there is no guarantee that the AGP variants of those cards will be supported.
AND, even if they are, the best AGP cards available are the Radeon HD 3850, 4650, and 4670.
Pretty dated compared to the HD7750 or R7 250 shipping with most X5000 system, eh?

So, YES, there are still good reasons to upgrade from a G5 to an X5000, even if you aren't interested in OS4.

Now if the PCIe G5 is ever supported, those reasons become a lot slimmer, BUT it still would be NEW hardware, rather than used hardware.

These question will get SO much more complicated should the T2080 based laptop get produced.
The cpu in that is slower than either X5000 model.
But it does have AltiVec, and its a quad core, dual thread cpu, so it supports eight concurrent thread.
Under an SMP enabled OS, that would be twice as many threads as an X5000/40.

Of course, the number of situation where this many threads is needed...that's hard to analyse.
But, as I already have an eight core AMD X64 cpu, and will soon upgrade to a Ryzen cpu capable of sixteen concurrent threads...
Hey, the more the better.

Last edited by iggy on 18-Jul-2017 at 06:49 PM.
Last edited by iggy on 18-Jul-2017 at 06:47 PM.
Last edited by iggy on 18-Jul-2017 at 06:46 PM.
Last edited by iggy on 18-Jul-2017 at 06:45 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 19-Jul-2017 7:54:15
#30 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Maybe Linux kernel is also not optimized for A1222 SPE part....probably less than fir X5000. But we have nice results from benchmarks for A1222 already 😀

If A1222 can catch SAM460 on FPU performance that would be nice.

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@dooz

i think the fpu is really slow compared the g5 because the kernel isnt really optimized.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 19-Jul-2017 11:17:41
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@dooz

the thrut is ... is more optimized the kernel of a1222 compared the x5000 in linux side.
x5000 is more complicated because the two dma channels, all the expansion slots, the core net cache and areally different hardware compared the small and light a1222.

Last edited by tlosm on 19-Jul-2017 at 11:18 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 19-Jul-2017 at 11:18 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 19-Jul-2017 18:45:47
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8415
From: Unknown

@dooz

Quote:
If A1222 can catch SAM460 on FPU performance that would be nice.


Not possible. e500v2 FPU is weak, period. Even Freesscale in its marketing materials openly says it is weak... cca 600 MHz G3 performance with native applications is best you can get from it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 19-Jul-2017 19:53:22
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

im really courious to see how will perform a timedemo demo2 on 640x480 a1222 of quake warpos . it is software rendering and on X5000 perform really good. 138 fps on x5000/020

G5 Quad quake gave me 119 fps at same resolution in software rendering

Last edited by tlosm on 19-Jul-2017 at 07:54 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 19-Jul-2017 at 07:53 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 19-Jul-2017 22:57:02
#34 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Ok that is the fact then. But P1022 has two cores and each of them have e500v2 weak FPU with 600 MHz performance. SAM460 has only one core. Maybe that can catch SAM460 performance in the future.

I got about 80% speed of SAM460 performance on lame test on my A1222. I watched performance monitor on Linux and I saw that both cores go to 100% busy during lame and two other FPU tests from my previous posts.

That is valid only for Linux of course. Funny thing is that when I run benchmarks on A1222 on Linux the actual benchmark task is getting only about 60% of CPU....other is system itself. Linux is always doing something and uses certain procentage of both cores all the time. In fact very high....like 40%.....droping...then 40 or more again and so on.

- Dooz


Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@dooz

Quote:
If A1222 can catch SAM460 on FPU performance that would be nice.


Not possible. e500v2 FPU is weak, period. Even Freesscale in its marketing materials openly says it is weak... cca 600 MHz G3 performance with native applications is best you can get from it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 0:09:37
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2635
From: Wellington

@dooz

I also tried to find a silent fan for my Tabor motherboard but there are none available in the correct size for the tiny CPU assembly.

I'm not sure fitting an oversized fan off-centred is a very elegant solution? (although I appreciate it may be quieter )

TrevorD

Last edited by TrevorDick on 20-Jul-2017 at 12:14 AM.

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 7:40:12
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@dooz

about fpu the only way to know how it perform is in linux with a blender test (if it was full spe optimized). there you can know how much time will need to render the scene and compare it with others ng, this because on blender you can set the multy core support for therad rendering.

Last edited by tlosm on 20-Jul-2017 at 07:46 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 9:35:53
#37 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@tlosm

I tried but there is still no Blender for PowerPCSPE version available on Debian Linux


Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@dooz

about fpu the only way to know how it perform is in linux with a blender test (if it was full spe optimized). there you can know how much time will need to render the scene and compare it with others ng, this because on blender you can set the multy core support for therad rendering.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 10:04:52
#38 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 374
From: Vienna/Austria

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@dooz

Quote:
If A1222 can catch SAM460 on FPU performance that would be nice.


Not possible. e500v2 FPU is weak, period. Even Freesscale in its marketing materials openly says it is weak... cca 600 MHz G3 performance with native applications is best you can get from it.


I made an interview for Amiga Future with Daniel Muessener (Tower57) and at least Tower57 (which makes heavy use of FPU) is significant faster on Tabor (in comparison with SAM 460 and with optimized code for Tabor).

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 10:07:39
#39 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2301
From: Amiga land

@dooz

it is no simple. just need Adrian port it
you can check if is present hardinfo and bench the machine single core there in integer and in fpu

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 10:16:58
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5042
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@TrevorDick

Someone could try adapters...
GoogleLink

Or 3D print a suitable adapter.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle