Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5620 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 57 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 Srtest,  kilaueabart,  terminills

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Srtest:  2 mins ago
 terminills:  4 mins ago
 kilaueabart:  4 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  15 mins ago
 klx300r:  52 mins ago
 Spectre660:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 sibbi:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 Signman:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 amigasociety:  1 hr 26 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  A1222 and CPU multiplier
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )
PosterThread
pavlor 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 18:18:48
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8416
From: Unknown

@AP

Quote:
You mean a benchmark without using FPU?


I mean FPU emulation in OS4 for regular applications. All current 3D games (Quake, Jedi Knight, Alien vs Predator, Wolfenstein etc.) aren´t compiled for SPE and we don´t know how hard is the performance penalty caused by FPU emulation.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 18:31:16
#62 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 374
From: Vienna/Austria

@pavlor

Quote:
I mean FPU emulation in OS4 for regular applications. All current 3D games (Quake, Jedi Knight, Alien vs Predator, Wolfenstein etc.) aren´t compiled for SPE and we don´t know how hard is the performance penalty caused by FPU emulation.


But are there really that much regular applications with FPU (beside this games and lame)? As I said before, software that needs FPU (and isn´t compiled for SPE) is slower because of the FPU-emulation (Tower57: 20 fps on Tabor with FPU-emu, 30 fps on SAM460ex with FPU, 50 fps SPE). But as this result was on AmigaOS4Beta on Tabor there could be room for improvement regarding the FPU-emulation.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 19:58:52
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8416
From: Unknown

@AP

Quote:
beside this games and lame


Games are important!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 21:29:31
#64 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@pavlor

No they're not, my computer use predates graphics!
Although, now that I think about it, even on text only mini-computers we had games.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 21:43:38
#65 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@TrevorDick

Well....yes... its not a pretty solution but it is functional and quiet.

It was supposed to be a temp solution until I figure out what to do because I also could not find silent fan 😀

-Dooz


Quote:

TrevorDick wrote:
@dooz

I also tried to find a silent fan for my Tabor motherboard but there are none available in the correct size for the tiny CPU assembly.

I'm not sure fitting an oversized fan off-centred is a very elegant solution? (although I appreciate it may be quieter )

TrevorD

Last edited by dooz on 20-Jul-2017 at 10:20 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 22:01:26
#66 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@TrevorDick

Look at this crazy solution with a size of fan that is between original and the one that I used. I think that I used 5 cm fan for the big one.

Somehow I did not liked this solution Small fans are noisy....the bigger... the better.

The truth is that P1022 CPU needs minimum of active cooling, so anything is OK.



- Dooz

Last edited by dooz on 20-Jul-2017 at 10:17 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 20-Jul-2017 at 10:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 22:44:17
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@dooz

Um, yeah, if they fit (or you actually mount them over the heatsink).
That kind of just blows air in the general direction it needs to go.

Sheesh! What ever happened to the hacking spirit in this community?

BTW - Nice picture of the logo letting us know the current board is revision 1.1!

Last edited by iggy on 20-Jul-2017 at 10:45 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 7:23:56
#68 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5045
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@iggy

>>@TrevorDick
>>Quote:
>>Thanks, will check this out

>Trevor, I'm not sure this constant fixation on comparisons to the G5

Trevor post was about the earlier fan adapter post.
( Post #40 )

Last edited by KimmoK on 21-Jul-2017 at 07:25 AM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 11:26:50
#69 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 374
From: Vienna/Austria

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@AP

Quote:
beside this games and lame


Games are important!


Amiga and ganes? No way!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 13:07:18
#70 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 741
From: The Interrogative Lair

@dooz

I find it somewhat funny and a little sad that the most useful information in this thread I started has been about silent fans.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 21:04:08
#71 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@PhantomInterrogative

Its hard to control in what direction will discussion go 😉

Well...it was all about performance of A1222. Overclocking issue led to fans. After we figured out that is not possible then we started to benchmark and comparing with other machines. Somehow....silent fans also came up in discussion!

At least I done every single Linux benchmark that I can on my A1222. I think that performance of A1222 is now much clearer than before. Maybe that is also usefull info in this thread except silent fans 😀

Quote:

PhantomInterrogative wrote:
@dooz

I find it somewhat funny and a little sad that the most useful information in this thread I started has been about silent fans.

Last edited by dooz on 22-Jul-2017 at 12:50 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 09:24 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 09:09 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 09:06 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 09:05 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 22-Jul-2017 2:09:41
#72 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 741
From: The Interrogative Lair

@dooz

I was being a bit tongue-in-cheek. The benchmarks have been helpful to me for making a decision as to whether to get an A1222 when they become available, or continue to save up for the X5000/20.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 22-Jul-2017 12:34:10
#73 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

@iggy

No...there are two holes and little movable nuts where bolts of the fan goes. This fan fits perfectly diagonal. In this position DDR3 is also cooled down. Heatsink is very small.

When fan is working heatsink is not even warm. I tried without and then its hot but not that much. It would be perfect candidate for overclocking but I am sure there are other obstackes like you suggested already since this is SOC. Imagine Tabor with 1.4 or 1.5 GHz P1022 😉

Somebody will try eventually. The board is not that expensive. Maybe worth a risc!?

Quote:

iggy wrote:
@dooz

Um, yeah, if they fit (or you actually mount them over the heatsink).
That kind of just blows air in the general direction it needs to go.

Sheesh! What ever happened to the hacking spirit in this community?

BTW - Nice picture of the logo letting us know the current board is revision 1.1!

Last edited by dooz on 22-Jul-2017 at 12:58 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 22-Jul-2017 at 12:35 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
A1222 and Audio capability
Posted on 16-Aug-2017 15:08:14
#74 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 741
From: The Interrogative Lair

Edit: Off topic of CPU power. Starting new thread.

Last edited by PhantomInterrogative on 17-Aug-2017 at 07:54 PM.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle