Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5662 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 66 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 anchor

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 anchor:  19 secs ago
 wawa:  6 mins ago
 TRIPOS:  14 mins ago
 AndreasM:  18 mins ago
 clint:  26 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  27 mins ago
 tonyw:  46 mins ago
 KimmoK:  51 mins ago
 wolfe:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 Darrin:  1 hr 35 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  A1222 and CPU multiplier
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )
PosterThread
pavlor 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 17:18:48
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8552
From: Unknown

@AP

Quote:
You mean a benchmark without using FPU?


I mean FPU emulation in OS4 for regular applications. All current 3D games (Quake, Jedi Knight, Alien vs Predator, Wolfenstein etc.) aren´t compiled for SPE and we don´t know how hard is the performance penalty caused by FPU emulation.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 17:31:16
#62 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 380
From: Vienna/Austria

@pavlor

Quote:
I mean FPU emulation in OS4 for regular applications. All current 3D games (Quake, Jedi Knight, Alien vs Predator, Wolfenstein etc.) aren´t compiled for SPE and we don´t know how hard is the performance penalty caused by FPU emulation.


But are there really that much regular applications with FPU (beside this games and lame)? As I said before, software that needs FPU (and isn´t compiled for SPE) is slower because of the FPU-emulation (Tower57: 20 fps on Tabor with FPU-emu, 30 fps on SAM460ex with FPU, 50 fps SPE). But as this result was on AmigaOS4Beta on Tabor there could be room for improvement regarding the FPU-emulation.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 18:58:52
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8552
From: Unknown

@AP

Quote:
beside this games and lame


Games are important!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 20:29:31
#64 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@pavlor

No they're not, my computer use predates graphics!
Although, now that I think about it, even on text only mini-computers we had games.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 20:43:38
#65 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

Last edited by dooz on 13-Jan-2018 at 05:43 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 20-Jul-2017 at 09:20 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 21:01:26
#66 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

Last edited by dooz on 13-Jan-2018 at 05:43 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 20-Jul-2017 at 09:17 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 20-Jul-2017 at 09:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
iggy 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 21:44:17
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2010
Posts: 1175
From: Bear, Delaware USA

@dooz

Um, yeah, if they fit (or you actually mount them over the heatsink).
That kind of just blows air in the general direction it needs to go.

Sheesh! What ever happened to the hacking spirit in this community?

BTW - Nice picture of the logo letting us know the current board is revision 1.1!

Last edited by iggy on 20-Jul-2017 at 09:45 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 6:23:56
#68 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5069
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@iggy

>>@TrevorDick
>>Quote:
>>Thanks, will check this out

>Trevor, I'm not sure this constant fixation on comparisons to the G5

Trevor post was about the earlier fan adapter post.
( Post #40 )

Last edited by KimmoK on 21-Jul-2017 at 06:25 AM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AP 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 10:26:50
#69 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 380
From: Vienna/Austria

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@AP

Quote:
beside this games and lame


Games are important!


Amiga and ganes? No way!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 12:07:18
#70 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 743
From: The Interrogative Lair

@dooz

I find it somewhat funny and a little sad that the most useful information in this thread I started has been about silent fans.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 21-Jul-2017 20:04:08
#71 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

Last edited by dooz on 13-Jan-2018 at 05:44 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 22-Jul-2017 at 11:50 AM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 08:24 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 08:09 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 08:06 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 21-Jul-2017 at 08:05 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 22-Jul-2017 1:09:41
#72 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 743
From: The Interrogative Lair

@dooz

I was being a bit tongue-in-cheek. The benchmarks have been helpful to me for making a decision as to whether to get an A1222 when they become available, or continue to save up for the X5000/20.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dooz 
Re: A1222 and CPU multiplier
Posted on 22-Jul-2017 11:34:10
#73 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jul-2013
Posts: 39
From: Unknown

Last edited by dooz on 13-Jan-2018 at 05:44 PM.
Last edited by dooz on 22-Jul-2017 at 11:58 AM.
Last edited by dooz on 22-Jul-2017 at 11:35 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
A1222 and Audio capability
Posted on 16-Aug-2017 14:08:14
#74 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 743
From: The Interrogative Lair

Edit: Off topic of CPU power. Starting new thread.

Last edited by PhantomInterrogative on 17-Aug-2017 at 06:54 PM.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle