Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5602 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 42 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Barret

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Barret:  4 mins ago
 Glennbojones:  17 mins ago
 Templario:  38 mins ago
 BigD:  47 mins ago
 wawa:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 eliyahu:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 amigasociety:  1 hr 58 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 AlicePPC:  2 hrs 22 mins ago
 dommer416:  2 hrs 25 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  Wii Amiga
Register To Post

PosterThread
g01df1sh 
Wii Amiga
Posted on 6-Jul-2017 20:48:04
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 931
From: UK

Hi all

Been playing with homebrew on wii. Have to say it emulates A500 very well. Dont like A1200 option will have to look into why that causes it to crash badly. Xenon mega blast on 22" LCD via wii to VGA adapter looks great.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 6-Jul-2017 21:10:02
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 220
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

the Wii uses a PPC but MorphOS is still missing.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 6-Jul-2017 21:51:09
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 931
From: UK

@OneTimer1

Think low ram is issue with full blow OS use.

Wiki info

Memory 88 MB (total), 24 MB MoSys 1T-SRAM, 324 MHz, 2.7GB/s bandwidth

Maybe Wii U would be better

CPU 1.24 GHz Tri-Core IBM PowerPC "Espresso"
Memory 2 GB DDR3

Last edited by g01df1sh on 06-Jul-2017 at 09:53 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 6-Jul-2017 22:26:05
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 220
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

Quote:


Think low ram is issue with full blow OS use.



There is a Linux Version for the Wii but an AmigaOS should be less resource hungry ...

Linux running on the Wii: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oPdRIagtFE

Last edited by OneTimer1 on 06-Jul-2017 at 10:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
F0L 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 11:47:02
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2009
Posts: 32
From: amiga.online, amigakit.com

@g01df1sh

What do you mean crashes really badly. As I helped work on that Emulator in the past and never had any issues with A1200 settings. Infact I added alot of options to it. Were you using adf's? or HDF's?

_________________
FOL - PSPUAE Admin / Dev

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 12:22:12
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3211
From: Palencia

@OneTimer1
The wii has harddisk and the options to put one mouse and keyboard?

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6. K.O.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
F0L 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 13:14:31
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2009
Posts: 32
From: amiga.online, amigakit.com

@Templario

Take it your talking about linux???
Confusing as the OP title is Wii Amiga.

_________________
FOL - PSPUAE Admin / Dev

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 13:35:08
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 931
From: UK

If I select A1200 it give. Black screen with lots of numbers and stuff looks like memory dump. Also if I select A1200 kick.rom it does not show boot screen like a500 kick.rom does

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 16:07:59
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3211
From: Palencia

@F0L
I understand to run MorphOS on Nintendo wii.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6. K.O.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.9
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 7-Jul-2017 19:38:11
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2258
From: Amiga land

@g01df1sh

The problem of linux ppc BE is:
no full gpu acceleration, no compositing and no full video accelleration available.
It mean on wii u you will have little faster performance compared the wii .
if you consider the gpu of wii u ... it will mean all will run in fbdev no gpu driver an it mean all more slow than normal linux use.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lou 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 10-Jul-2017 19:24:54
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2004
Posts: 3833
From: Rhode Island

The WiiU is also fully hacked. It has a 3-core version of the PPC750 running at 1.24Ghz and has 2GB of RAM.

So even running a single-core process should do a better job with emulation...

Graphically, there is the old GX1 graphic chip[possibly hardware emulated] as well as GX2 which is akin to the RADEON HD4800 gpu...

Last edited by Lou on 10-Jul-2017 at 07:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ErikBauer 
Re: Wii Amiga
Posted on 20-Jul-2017 6:34:07
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Feb-2004
Posts: 1049
From: Italy


I have an Homebrewed Wii too, and a couple of years ago I played a bit with it's Amiga emulator.
Not bad, but a bit stiff if compared with WinUae

I managed to run Dungeon Master, Leander and another couple of games I can't remember right now, but never tried AGA ones.

Too bad Wiimote + Nunchuck mapping to Amiga is limited, but major issue is Wiimote pointer not so well translated to Amiga mouse movement.
I Worote to the programmer and he told me it was due to absolute -> relative positioning conversion (Amiga seems to use relative movement from mouse) and some weird coordinate re-positioning when the Wiimote pointed out of the screen for any reason (And it happens quite often if you think about it). I'm not an Amiga programmer but programming was my job for 20 years and I tried but never had a chance (time and commitment, to be honest) to help him handle it.




_________________
God created Paula so that Allister Brimble and Dave Whittaker could do music

Check my Amiga gameplays (ITA)!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle