Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5665 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 54 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 CygnusEd:  6 mins ago
 ErikBauer:  22 mins ago
 AdvancedFollower:  22 mins ago
 nikosidis:  24 mins ago
 Hypex:  24 mins ago
 OlafS25:  33 mins ago
 zipper:  40 mins ago
 Gebrochen:  41 mins ago
 paolone:  52 mins ago
 apsturk:  1 hr 40 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Tabor audio headers
Register To Post

PosterThread
PhantomInterrogative 
Tabor audio headers
Posted on 17-Aug-2017 19:57:34
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 747
From: The Interrogative Lair

When I had a SAM460ex lite, the motherboard had connections (J25) for SPDIFi/o, SURR_L/R, CEN_OUT, etc. The only audio connectors I have seen on the Tabor motherboard are the external mic, aux, and stereo speaker jacks. Can any of the GPIO on the A1222 be used for SURR_L/R, CENTER/BASS, etc audio headers?

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 17-Aug-2017 23:47:57
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3117
From: Sydney (of course)

@PhantomInterrogative

I doubt it - the GPIO pins are all digital (programmable In/Out).

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 18-Aug-2017 2:51:29
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 447
From: Bear Delaware USA

@PhantomInterrogative

Hmm, curious missing feature.
No front case outputs for you, sir.

And no SPDIF?

I wonder who forgot those option?

Ah, well, you can always use a sound card.
Oh, yeah, its doesn't have expansion slots outside of the PCI-E slot for the video card, deso it?

Well, there's always USB, which would slow the system down, but you're not watching video with this anyway.

So why worry about Dolby?

Last edited by Beans on 18-Aug-2017 at 02:52 AM.

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 18-Aug-2017 13:38:36
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 747
From: The Interrogative Lair

Okay. It is what it is... a starter system to attract people who want a low priced NG Amiga. I'll try to save up some for a X5000/20. Perhaps by the time I have enough funds for it, a mid-range system will be released?

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy the X5000... or Amiga Reloaded... or an A1222... and OS4.2 FE update 9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 18-Aug-2017 23:43:18
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10792
From: Norway

@PhantomInterrogative

There are sound cards that can be connected to GPIO pins, the issue here.
it depends on number of available GPIO pins, and you need to write your own AHI driver for it.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=120798&p=816498

Again it depends on a SDK for Tabor that allows users use the GPIO pins.

There are also sound cards that connect to I2C, again same thing you need to write a driver.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 18-Aug-2017 at 11:45 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 19-Aug-2017 4:13:51
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3037
From: Maryland, USA

Quote:

Ah, well, you can always use a sound card.
Oh, yeah, its doesn't have expansion slots outside of the PCI-E slot for the video card, deso it?


About time we get audio drivers for hdaudio inside gfx chips... Hdmi, problem solved...

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 19-Aug-2017 20:28:41
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 447
From: Bear Delaware USA

@billt

Good point, Bill.
Sound over HDMI should at least provide a way to output sound other than using the back panel outputs.

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Tabor audio headers
Posted on 21-Aug-2017 7:13:13
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5088
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@billt

"About time we get audio drivers for hdaudio inside gfx chip"

+1

Where can one donate?

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle