Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5618 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 62 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 AmigaBlitter

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 AmigaBlitter:  2 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  11 mins ago
 Vidar:  18 mins ago
 K-L:  22 mins ago
 RetroManCave:  23 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  32 mins ago
 Frank:  34 mins ago
 outrun1978:  39 mins ago
 tonyw:  40 mins ago
 kamelit0:  50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Reboot and ShutDown
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Kremlar 
Re: Reboot and ShutDown
Posted on 22-Aug-2017 16:59:43
#21 ]
Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2010
Posts: 71
From: Unknown

@A1200

Quote:
Modern drive heads park as they are powered down now. No need to command the park to take place.


Right, which is why I said "was desirable". Hypex said he use to park his heads every time he turned off his Amiga. I was just pointing out that there was no need unless the drive was being moved.

Of course nowadays modern drivers park their own heads - been that way for a LONG time.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Reboot and ShutDown
Posted on 22-Aug-2017 17:15:12
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2703
From: Gloucestershire UK

@jabirulo and the rest....

Please read the original post again, It's been posted in the wrong forum.

It specifically asks about shutting down AmigaOS3 so most of your posts are irrelevent.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Reboot and ShutDown
Posted on 22-Aug-2017 17:44:17
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8628
From: Greensborough, Australia

@r-tea

It's been brought to me attention I didn't finish my answer or wandered off as usual. Reboot: Yes, but don't see it in OS3.1, likely third party. ShutDown: No, not as standard. As mentioned Mediator has it. For most Amiga users the closest thing we had is the one called: PowerSwitch.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: Reboot and ShutDown
Posted on 22-Aug-2017 19:03:34
#24 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 309
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@Severin

I just replied to a question by Amigo1 #5 as he asked for a shutdown for X5000 too.

Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Aug-2017 at 07:07 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Aug-2017 at 07:07 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Aug-2017 at 07:05 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle