Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5617 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 53 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  g01df1sh

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 g01df1sh:  1 min ago
 BigD:  4 mins ago
 clusteruk:  10 mins ago
 smf:  11 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  24 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  36 mins ago
 Trixie:  40 mins ago
 Seiya:  41 mins ago
 sTix:  52 mins ago
 sicky:  1 hr 19 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  What FKeys do you use?
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
tonyw 
What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 12:01:12
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3097
From: Sydney (of course)

I'm conducting a poll to find out what people use FKey for - in particular, what Function keys do you define and use as an integral part of your Amiga controls?

Or do you only use them to order pizza and pancakes?

For instance, a number of people use F1 to open a new shell, but that often clashes with applications that use F1 for something else...

Last edited by tonyw on 13-Sep-2017 at 12:01 PM.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 12:31:51
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 556
From: .fi

I don't use F-keys usually for anything my own. I couldn't remember next day what I have assigned to them :) And since many programs use those keys for their own things, I'll leave the keys for them.

I rather use letters with some qualifier, which is way more descriptive. For example, I've used lamiga-s for the shell since the first HD I ever got :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 16:20:17
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8628
From: Greensborough, Australia

@tonyw

I just looked and actually use all my function keys with LAlt Ctrl.

I also have F11 by itself but the combo doesn't work that way. I wonder now if multiple combos to the same function key should work in FKey?

Pizza. Haha. I do use FKey to map a script to a combo but not for ordering pizza.

Last edited by Hypex on 14-Sep-2017 at 05:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mritter0 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 16:32:50
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Sep-2013
Posts: 12
From: Unknown

@tonyw

In Workbench Explorer:

F1 Help.
F2 Inline rename.
F3 Search.
F5 Reload.
F6 Toggle metadata pane.
F11 Toggle full screen.


In a Shell:

F5 Make
F6 Make clean
F8 run the program
F9 make all catalogs

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 21:50:12
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3392
From: Lyon, France

@tonyw

I use it a lot.

I open many programs with F2, F3, F4... (with ot without Shift)
I "insert text" with Ctrl Esc and Ctrl Return (into a shell)
I close the active window with Esc.
Lalt Tab cycles screens
Lcommand Tab cycles windows
Lalt Space alternates the window size

Last edited by elwood on 13-Sep-2017 at 09:58 PM.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 23:48:55
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 233
From: New Zealand

@tonyw

I use AllKeys instead.

PrintScreen = Take a full-screen snapshot with SGrab, save it to RAM
Ctrl-PrintScreen = Take a full-screen snapsot with SGrab, copy to clipboard
LShift-PrintScreen = Snapshot current window with SGrab, save it to RAM
Menu = Launch Exchange
Ctrl-Home = Launch Screen Switching Done Right (SSDR)
Ctrl-Numberpad-5 = Launch calculator
5th mouse button = (flip through screens, can't even remember the combo its mapped to!)
6th mouse button = Escape
Middle Mouse Button = (toggle thumbnail view in WB windows; again, can't remember the actual key combo)
Ctrl-Numberpad 9 = Volume Up on Mixer
Ctrl-Numberpad 3 = Volume Down on Mixer
Ctrl-Numberpad 7 = Mute Volume on Mixer

On my PS/2 keyboard for the A1XE, I had specific sleep and power keys which I mapped to-
Ctrl-Power - Launch reboot command
Sleep - Switched blanker on

With my X5000, I have a custom keyboard that has some of these combos printed on it (I have some photos here somewhere), and I use Ctrl-Amiga-Amiga to launch reboot instead.

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 0:08:19
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3097
From: Sydney (of course)

Wow! What a range of uses I never thought of.

Thanks for all the suggestions.


_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ShadowSun 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 7:17:53
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 26-Feb-2009
Posts: 76
From: Unknown

With this small Arexx script, you will be able to close active drawer
and open its parent :
http://www.os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=utility/script/cdop.lha
I use Ctrl + 'the key under esc' (it depends on your locale keymap).
Very usefull for me, as i made it !


Delete files or drawers with Delete on keyboard :
http://www.os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=utility/script/wbdelete.lha

Last edited by ShadowSun on 14-Sep-2017 at 07:19 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dommer416 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 8:06:17
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2017
Posts: 50
From: Western Earth

@tonyw

I uh what? I can do that? (coming from linux and modern-ish OS's)
Scuse me but uhhhhhhhhh
UHHHHHH
Honestly I'd probably open my whole workflow with the FKeys. Terminal, text editor, web browser, E-UAE, etc. That sounds awesome.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 8:55:11
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1587
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@dommer416

Really? FKey has been around since at least OS 3 days, possibly before. It is very handy to be fair, one of the lesser-known but very useful parts of Workbench.

On my various setups I use F10 to open the calculator, most of the other keys are tied to things in various IDEs so they're just left alone. On my A1 though I use AllKeys instead of FKey, since it lets me use the Print Screen button (used for full screenshot, Alt+PrtScn for active window).

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
r-tea 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 9:11:52
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 21-Nov-2004
Posts: 284
From: Zdzieszowice, Poland

I use F1 to open new window of JotNote utility. A kind of quick sticky-notes.

_________________
I miss draggable screens in MorphOS... and do you? I know I'm in a minority unfortunately.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 13:42:52
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 556
From: .fi

Quote:

tonyw wrote:
Wow! What a range of uses I never thought of.


My list of uses for hotkeys (not F, but others) is something like this:

- Media controls for players (pause, play, next, prev, volume, etc)
- Screengrabbing
- Extracting the selected archive to RAM:, and other filemanagement related things
- Starting programs: calculator, zoom, audio player, browser...
- Opening SSH connections to servers with one combination (no need to enter passwords)
- Opening of certain filesystem locations (Videos, MP3, etc..)
- Ejecting CD
- Opening µNote program for quick notes
- Shell

And probably something else I don't remember now :)

In 90s I also used to keep my HD partitions write protected with the Lock command, and I had assigned locking/unlocking of all partitions at once to lamiga-a shortcut. That way I had full control what gets written to my HD (blocking unwanted settings, viruses, etc). If any program wanted to write to HD, a requester opened telling that disk is write protected and then I could decide if I want to unlock it with the shortcut or just click cancel to prevent the write.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dommer416 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 14:39:20
#13 ]
Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2017
Posts: 50
From: Western Earth

@Daedalus

Haha I've only owned one amiga so far and its the A2000 I just got. Though I use AROS a LOT.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lionstorm 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 14-Sep-2017 21:17:19
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 1542
From: the french side

here are the keys I am using in FKey :

CTRL-TAB : screen cycling
F12: close all drawers
ALT-TAB : screen cycling
PRTSCR: launch SnapIT

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 15-Sep-2017 0:58:42
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3097
From: Sydney (of course)

@lionstorm

So Alt-Tab == LAmiga/M ?

So many variations I had never expected! Thanks, everyone.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Srtest 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 15-Sep-2017 16:16:18
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Nov-2016
Posts: 149
From: Israel, Haderah

@tonyw

Hi.

I thought about your question and came into a conclusion that it doesn't work for me.

I think that between allkeys, fkey and meridian, I don't get the urge to just attach an action to a shortcut because it takes time to really get a feel of what needs a shortcut to be more effective and comfortable. I prefer the other way around and imagine a certain way or workaround as a developer might call it, then see if I can do it between those 3 or getting it close.

I think that learning about other people shortcuts might limit your imagination's ability not to think about impossible things, but to the contrary, think how you can get it within the current limits and so shape your os experience.

From your question what is relevant for me is the conflicts when I need a shortcut and finding out the aos has already so many pre-defined shortcuts and default behaviour based on certain default key-presses. Like on meridian, you have conflicts with super keys or whatever they are called technically, or on allkeys when you try to attach a mouse button to a key press combination or even get two keys to act as an overide between allkeys, fkey and meridian.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 15-Sep-2017 19:04:22
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

@thread

Interesting uses guys, being completely useless with F-Keys/AllKeys I think we could do with some proper documentation being written up on some wiki page to help us less competent folk like myself. After all has anyone seen how useful the instructions are for All Keys

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Srtest 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 16-Sep-2017 22:26:11
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Nov-2016
Posts: 149
From: Israel, Haderah

@outrun1978

I read your blog you are quite competent and a sort of torch bearer after that Australian Finn guy (forgot his last name & nick) took a leave of absence. You know how to present technical steps as basic rational steps and those are important things. As I said, for me fkey/allkeys/whatever is more about intuition (no pun intended) than about thinking of shortcuts. Sometimes that entails heaving a spur of the moment revelation that "this needs to be a shortcut and it would be so coooool!!1!!!!" to not feeling it.

@all

An exampe is the way I use allkeys: I found out I have this generic unknown (from a driver/maker standpoint) remote controller and I wanted to make those shortcuts to fit that controller because it made more sense me than a keyboard. So I made all those shortcuts to when I plug it in. Then I found out about OSDlauncher and replaced my rules with the program defaults. That worked quite well for AmigaAmp.

Another is when I tried to add a middle mouse button so I can use it on a graphics tablert that only had 2 buttons and no matter what I did it didn't work. I also tried to create a key-combination to act as a super key on meridian's gestures to use with the same graphics tablet and it didn't work. I'm still trying to figure out that one.

I use fkey to complement meridian and the other way around. I have a key combination that make "usbctrl restart force" because the graphics tablet and remote controller sometime need it after a boot. I try to think what is better as a gesture and when I want to go for the keyboard. A "delete" key and a universal "paste.rexx" (to work in Qt apps) are in fkey, while a window's next/prev/close/close except active/ open parent - are a gesture.

Last edited by Srtest on 16-Sep-2017 at 10:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
daveyw 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 16-Sep-2017 23:49:11
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2011
Posts: 233
From: New Zealand

@outrun1978

I had trouble configuring AllKeys at first, even went so far as manually editing the config file in ED!

In the end, I emailed the author with my concerns, and he helped me out.

_________________
---------------
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz P5020, OS 4.1
AmigaOne G4 800mhz, OS 4.1
A1200T 68040 OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
khayoz 
Re: What FKeys do you use?
Posted on 17-Sep-2017 0:28:16
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Dec-2004
Posts: 131
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@tonyw

I dont use FKey but maybe I should!?
The only Commodities I use are Click to front and Auto point.

_________________
Amy 416D79 Vampire 500V2+, A600 Vampire 600V2, A1200 060, X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle