Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5647 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 51 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 number6:  16 mins ago
 Jasper:  29 mins ago
 Hypex:  37 mins ago
 BCP:  45 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 retro:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 Birbo:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 Jupp3:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 A1200:  1 hr 32 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  1 hr 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  PCI Sound
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
g01df1sh 
PCI Sound
Posted on 30-Sep-2017 20:16:38
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

Hi

Am i missing something or is pci sound on AMiga with 030 a waste of time i get better performance with Paula output. Sound also has a bit of a lisp to it. Prisma megamix might be in order

Last edited by g01df1sh on 30-Sep-2017 at 08:17 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 30-Sep-2017 20:24:40
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 709
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

What AHI mode are you using? My Sound blaster 16 sound fine.

Drewlio77

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 30-Sep-2017 20:24:43
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5726
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

was using hd-rec multitrack even via pci sb on mediator to record and playback guitars realtime. it was 060 though. dunno about 030 however. might limit things. prisma wont work for ahi stuff afaik. it isnt system transparent. at least not what concerns popular api. it will allow you to play compressed audio streams such as mp3 with dedicated players. it would allow you to play stereo channel or background music with dedicated apps or games, if there were any, maybe save for one or two.. but it wont influence the general productivity of the system with its legacy software.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 30-Sep-2017 20:26:45
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@Drewlio77

tried 8bit and 16bit

What player are you using?

Last edited by g01df1sh on 30-Sep-2017 at 08:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 1-Oct-2017 14:46:30
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8727
From: Greensborough, Australia

@g01df1sh

What are you trying to do with it? Modules? Single track streams?

In the case of modules that would be slow compared to Paula, since chunks of audio would need to be mixed together, sent to AHI, which then converts it in the driver to the souind card format.

Single stereo tracks should be fine as there is less overhead.

That said, Audio Evolution was able mix two 16-bit stereo tracks in realtime using AHI on my 030@40. But the result would have been scaled down to 8-bit and sent to Paula. Or the 14-bit Cyber driver. So different hardware output.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 1-Oct-2017 14:51:04
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@Hypex

Just play a simple mp3. Having lots of issues sometimes it will play test sound in AHI somentimes not. Mp3 play back via amiga amp is crap to the point it stutters so bad you loose all mouse control and need to reboot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 7:53:07
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1603
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@g01df1sh

The problem isn't the sound card, it's that your CPU isn't powerful enough to decode an MP3 properly. You need an 060 minimum to decode MP3s at reasonable quality. A PCI sound card just gives you a way of playing and recording sound at full 16-bit, 48kHz quality - the Amiga still has to process that information, and in the case of compressed audio, it just isn't good enough. Try play some uncompressed audio, e.g. AIFF or WAV format tracks and you'll see.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 11:56:50
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 709
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

I use Amiga AMP v3.22. Keep in mind an 030 wont be enough for good quality playback in stereo. A Prism card would be a good piece of hardware to have.

Drewlio77.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 13:26:41
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@Drewlio77

Only problem I have with prisma is how to mount it in A1200 ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 13:28:21
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@Daedalus

If cpu is not good then how can my Paula chip do it perfectly fine ?

Paula at 128bit mp3 plays fine

Same files using sound card is a joke...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 13:53:40
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1603
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@g01df1sh

It can't possibly be playing it fine. An 030 cannot mathematically decode an MP3 like that in realtime. What might be happening is that you're playing a reduced quality version, and it doesn't sound as bad through Paula. Maybe you're playing it at 11025Hz. Maybe it's 8-bit mono. But I 100% guarantee you're not hearing the full quality of the MP3 - and it's got nothing to do with Paula or a sound card. AHI has a small overhead that makes little difference, you simply don't have the horsepower. But really, try my suggestion. Rip an audio track from CD to an AIFF file and play it through the soundcard. See if that works.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 17:35:40
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@Daedalus

PCI sound is seriously doing my head in cane get even test beep to work now. Card shows in pciinfo but no audio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 23:55:17
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2636
From: Wellington

@g01df1sh

If its a tower, you can use the PCI backplate, if it is a desktop you can use the nice rear trapdoor adapter.

Hope that helps?

TrevoD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 1:48:43
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1072
From: Surf City - Huntington Beach, Ca.

@g01df1sh,

Before I got an 060 I would put the music on a CD and connect the CDDA out on the CDROM drive to my sound card. Sounded great.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 7:11:27
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@TrevorDick

That's for the ports board what about the main prisms board that would normally plug in zorro slot. I have PCI

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 11:22:22
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 709
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

Your Sound card should have an Auxiliary or CD header. I have my Amiga Audio hooked up to the AUX header and the DVD ROM audio connected to the CD header, works great.

I use a Soundblaster16.

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 03-Oct-2017 at 11:42 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 12:06:03
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@Drewlio77

HI

I cant get the sound card to work at the moment so cd audio out is not going to work until I can get its basic functions to work.. Its seen in Pciinfo and at one stage I did get it to play test beep in AHI but now I get nothing. I'm using Ahi 6 and sb128.audio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 12:17:07
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1603
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@g01df1sh

As I already said, the soundcard mixer does not depend on AHI to work. You could have two different issues. Try the Mediator's Mixer utility and see if it works. AHI can have separate issues but CD audio (and mixing with Amiga audio) should still work in those cases, and would be a good indication that the card itself is working.

As for the Prisma, it would be tricky perhaps, but not impossible to use in a tower. You'll just need to fashion some sort of bracket. In this case, the version for a desktop A1200 would be preferable as it is fully insulated, thus protecting it from contact with the tower case.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 12:34:11
#19 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1172
From: UK

@g01df1sh

This is from one of Epsilons blogs

Below that is the Indivision AGA MK2 DVI out (for native Amiga output graphics), Audio/Video module card with RGB port (not used) native Amiga RCA audio out - which is fed back into the case to be mixed via AUX IN into the PCI sound card output. The PCI sound card has a DSP that can decode MP3's in hardware, meaning the 060 is not needed to playback MP3's!

His sound card is the same as mine. So is he wrong or is my 030 not used to decode the mp3's ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: PCI Sound
Posted on 3-Oct-2017 13:02:01
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1603
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@g01df1sh

If the DSP on the soundcard is decoding the MP3, then the 68030 is not decoding the MP3. That setup is very different different however - it does not use AHI for audio output, instead using a *.mhi or *mpeg.device driver. I have never seen either of these drivers for a PCI card, so I'm not sure if it was wishful thinking on Epsilon's part. They do exist for various native Amiga sound cards however, but I'd be very interested to hear of any DSP card that works over PCI.

What model sound card was it? Where did he get the drivers for it?

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle