Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5683 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 48 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigakit:  25 mins ago
 BCP:  53 mins ago
 Signman:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 Gothmog:  2 hrs 5 mins ago
 Barret:  2 hrs 11 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  2 hrs 21 mins ago
 MickJT:  2 hrs 22 mins ago
 ggw:  3 hrs 45 mins ago
 Pierre55:  3 hrs 55 mins ago
 Trekiej:  4 hrs 4 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  PCI TV
Register To Post

PosterThread
g01df1sh 
PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 9:14:10
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1267
From: UK

hi

Am I right in thinking the list of tv cards supported on elbox list are all old analog signal and not freeview?

_________________
A1200 ACA1232 128MB Indivison MkIICr
A1200 Power Tower mediator Radeon
RPi3 Emulating C64 ZX Atari PS BBC
Wii with Amiga emulation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiboy 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 9:59:35
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2003
Posts: 1029
From: At home (probably)

@g01df1sh

Yes as far as I am aware all the cards listed are analogue, not digital.

I used mine to display the native output on workbench when it was running of the Voodoo, I think this will have been what most people would have used them for.

_________________
Live Long and keep Amigaing!

A1200, Power Tower, OS3.9 BB2, HD-Floppy, Mediator PCI, Voodoo 3 3000, Soundblaster 4.1, TV Card, 100MBit Ethernet & 060 66MHz 64MB, 9.5Gig HD, 52xCDRom.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 10:13:19
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1267
From: UK

@Amiboy

Thanks for update one to cross of the list then...

Bet os4.1 SYSTEMS don't have support for TV cards either..

_________________
A1200 ACA1232 128MB Indivison MkIICr
A1200 Power Tower mediator Radeon
RPi3 Emulating C64 ZX Atari PS BBC
Wii with Amiga emulation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiboy 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 10:45:22
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2003
Posts: 1029
From: At home (probably)

@g01df1sh

No offence but what would be the point?

There are more important things to focus limited resources on than trying to write drivers for the 1 or 2 people who might want to put a PCI TV card in their system.

People have TV's to watch their TV on.....

I feel that comment was a bit of an unnecessary dig at OS4.

_________________
Live Long and keep Amigaing!

A1200, Power Tower, OS3.9 BB2, HD-Floppy, Mediator PCI, Voodoo 3 3000, Soundblaster 4.1, TV Card, 100MBit Ethernet & 060 66MHz 64MB, 9.5Gig HD, 52xCDRom.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 11:38:12
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1621
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@Amiboy

Indeed... But anyway, I vaguely remember there were some TV cards supported under OS4 many years ago, but I've never heard of anyone actually using one with OS4. They're probably the same cards that work under OS3, using DMA between the card and the graphics card to present the image.

Edit: Yep, looks like the BT878 (same as the TV cards supported in the Mediator). A short list here.

Last edited by Daedalus on 02-Oct-2017 at 11:46 AM.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 14:00:24
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8838
From: Greensborough, Australia

@g01df1sh

FreeView must be a global thing then. But if so isn't that steaming over the internet? All you should need is a client then.

BTW, my old Radeon card has TV out. It works well on a TV as long as I stick to UBoot. Workbench with it's higher resolution stuffs it up and it goes flickery. Just like a real Amiga with a higher screen mode. Guess that wasn't in the direction you wanted.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 16:00:09
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1267
From: UK

@Hypex

Freeview is digital TV its broadcast over TV Ariel same as what the old analog signal was sent over. We also have Freesat which uses satellite dish to receive signal.

_________________
A1200 ACA1232 128MB Indivison MkIICr
A1200 Power Tower mediator Radeon
RPi3 Emulating C64 ZX Atari PS BBC
Wii with Amiga emulation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 18:24:15
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5624
From: S.Wales

@g01df1sh

The only way is to plug an STB into your Amiga with an analogue TV card. If you can find an Air Link then you could control the STB via the Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle