Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5617 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 52 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 clusteruk,  g01df1sh

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 g01df1sh:  21 secs ago
 clusteruk:  1 min ago
 BigD:  8 mins ago
 smf:  15 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  29 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  41 mins ago
 Trixie:  44 mins ago
 Seiya:  45 mins ago
 sTix:  56 mins ago
 sicky:  1 hr 23 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  PCI TV
Register To Post

PosterThread
g01df1sh 
PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 10:14:10
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1067
From: UK

hi

Am I right in thinking the list of tv cards supported on elbox list are all old analog signal and not freeview?

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Amiboy 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 10:59:35
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2003
Posts: 1024
From: At home (probably)

@g01df1sh

Yes as far as I am aware all the cards listed are analogue, not digital.

I used mine to display the native output on workbench when it was running of the Voodoo, I think this will have been what most people would have used them for.

_________________
Live Long and keep Amigaing!

A1200, Power Tower, OS3.9 BB2, HD-Floppy, Mediator PCI, Voodoo 3 3000, Soundblaster 4.1, TV Card, 100MBit Ethernet & 060 66MHz 64MB, 9.5Gig HD, 52xCDRom.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 11:13:19
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1067
From: UK

@Amiboy

Thanks for update one to cross of the list then...

Bet os4.1 SYSTEMS don't have support for TV cards either..

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Amiboy 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 11:45:22
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Dec-2003
Posts: 1024
From: At home (probably)

@g01df1sh

No offence but what would be the point?

There are more important things to focus limited resources on than trying to write drivers for the 1 or 2 people who might want to put a PCI TV card in their system.

People have TV's to watch their TV on.....

I feel that comment was a bit of an unnecessary dig at OS4.

_________________
Live Long and keep Amigaing!

A1200, Power Tower, OS3.9 BB2, HD-Floppy, Mediator PCI, Voodoo 3 3000, Soundblaster 4.1, TV Card, 100MBit Ethernet & 060 66MHz 64MB, 9.5Gig HD, 52xCDRom.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 2-Oct-2017 12:38:12
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1587
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@Amiboy

Indeed... But anyway, I vaguely remember there were some TV cards supported under OS4 many years ago, but I've never heard of anyone actually using one with OS4. They're probably the same cards that work under OS3, using DMA between the card and the graphics card to present the image.

Edit: Yep, looks like the BT878 (same as the TV cards supported in the Mediator). A short list here.

Last edited by Daedalus on 02-Oct-2017 at 12:46 PM.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 15:00:24
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8628
From: Greensborough, Australia

@g01df1sh

FreeView must be a global thing then. But if so isn't that steaming over the internet? All you should need is a client then.

BTW, my old Radeon card has TV out. It works well on a TV as long as I stick to UBoot. Workbench with it's higher resolution stuffs it up and it goes flickery. Just like a real Amiga with a higher screen mode. Guess that wasn't in the direction you wanted.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 17:00:09
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1067
From: UK

@Hypex

Freeview is digital TV its broadcast over TV Ariel same as what the old analog signal was sent over. We also have Freesat which uses satellite dish to receive signal.

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: PCI TV
Posted on 4-Oct-2017 19:24:15
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5563
From: S.Wales

@g01df1sh

The only way is to plug an STB into your Amiga with an analogue TV card. If you can find an Air Link then you could control the STB via the Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle