Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5616 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 49 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 kamelit0

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kamelit0:  8 secs ago
 tonyw:  9 mins ago
 AndyGarton:  17 mins ago
 PR:  17 mins ago
 Jasper:  28 mins ago
 Blade2019NL:  49 mins ago
 rockape:  55 mins ago
 Srtest:  1 hr ago
 Rob:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 kolla:  1 hr 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Most unreliable a1200s
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 17:51:06
#21 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1060
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Just tried atx power supply with adapter floppy drive works. Dam you commodore why did you cheapskate so much. Your psu are shit. Kickstarter required for new psu

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 17:52:48
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1060
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Just tried atx psu with adapter floppy drive works. Dam you commodore your psu's are shit

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 17:58:38
#23 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1060
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Sorry for double post

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 18:05:13
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4072
From: UK

@g01df1sh

I'm glad you solved it. Anything other than a bog standard A1200 requires an uprated PSU. I use my original PSU to power an IDE/ATAPI Zip Drive

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 5-Oct-2017 18:15:37
#25 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1060
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Oh for the love of god my atx adapter is piss poorly made and now that don't work keep loosing power. Where can I get a good psu

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scuzz 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 6-Oct-2017 1:11:39
#26 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-May-2004
Posts: 253
From: New Forest United Kingdom

@g01df1sh

Reminds me of my efforts the other day ...

http://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_october17/scuzzblogdoctober17_0101.htm

http://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_october17/scuzzblogdoctober17_0102.htm

I have a pretty flaky tower and normally I go through the motions of checking the various interfaces on the computer to get her working. Today she was struggling and I decided to just pretend that I was checking the various connections and did nothing... and when I rebooted she fired up first time. Just wants the TLC... I never think the machine will fail.

The two 1200s with the hammer treatment work just fine and been running without fault each day since. There is a technique of dropping an Amiga 500 in a certain way to get it working. Must look into that.

scuzz


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 6-Oct-2017 1:26:11
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4072
From: UK

@scuzz

Quote:
Today she was struggling and I decided to just pretend that I was checking the various connections and did nothing... and when I rebooted she fired up first time. Just wants the TLC


That rings true enough. They are quite temperamental like female friends = Amigas

Quote:
There is a technique of dropping an Amiga 500 in a certain way to get it working. Must look into that.




_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 6-Oct-2017 9:14:17
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1585
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@g01df1sh

To be fair, they're not a great design, but the Commodore PSUs aren't *that* bad either. A bog standard A1200 only uses about 10W - even the least powerful standard PSUs are plenty for an A1200 and modest upgrades - one of mine runs happily on a 25W PSU with an '030, mechanical hard drive and CD drive. What's often a problem is tarnishing on the various power contacts in the system - contacts from the PSU to Amiga, contacts from the Amiga to the accelerator, contacts from the Amiga to the various drives, etc. Each dirty contact (and they will be dirty after so long), drops the voltage a little bit, and combined with other factors, this can be enough to drop the 5V line so low that the system crashes or refuses to boot.

The capacitors in the PSU work far harder than any other capacitor in the whole setup, and after a quarter of a century, they're more than likely knackered. That goes for any power supply by the way, it certainly isn't unique to Commodore supplies. Replacing them is often enough to restore a PSU to full stability on its output.

As for the ATX power supplies, well unless you're running lots of upgrades, the Amiga by itself doesn't always use enough power to keep the PSU happy. They're made to run PCs using hundreds of watts, not tens of watts like an Amiga, and this can cause them to shut down, or worse, drift from their set voltage on cheaper supplies. You need to find a supply with as low a minimum draw as possible - generally that is lower output supplies. Small industrial supplies like the Meanwell PT-65B are a better bet - cheaper, better suited to Amiga use, and they will fit in some of the old Commodore PSU cases, though you need to do some wiring yourself.

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Most unreliable a1200s
Posted on 6-Oct-2017 14:57:55
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8625
From: Greensborough, Australia

@g01df1sh

Spare A500 PSU? I had two A1200 machines. I sold one with PSU. Then I sold my SCSI Tower of Power, but not for the money, I was still using it but needed the space. I go to power my original A1200 up, the PSU is missing! I haven't spotted it since. Thankfully I was able to aquire an A500 PSU. But it isn't as trendy. Still it delivers about 60 watts. So it became common to use it with an A1200 back in the day.

Last edited by Hypex on 06-Oct-2017 at 02:58 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle