Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5684 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 57 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BCP:  6 mins ago
 terminills:  8 mins ago
 tonyw:  28 mins ago
 Trixie:  33 mins ago
 zipper:  54 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 ilbarbax:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 35 mins ago
 bennymee:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 Frank:  1 hr 48 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo - Solved once again
Register To Post

PosterThread
Ned 
Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo - Solved once again
Posted on 2-Feb-2018 22:18:34
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

I am using Yam version 2.7 on my uA1c with OS4.1 Final Edition. Due to circumstances beyond my control, I have been forced to get a new email address. I chose to go with Yahoo. I am have trouble getting Yam's configuration settings just right to allow me to send and receive email with Yahoo. Can someone give me a clue as to exactly what I might need on the first two configuration screens? Here are my major concerns:
On "First steps" I have:
Real name: Ned Kelly
E-mail address: nedkelly1234@yahoo.com
POP3 server: yahoo.com
On TCP/IP I have:
Send mail:
Server/Port: smtp.yahoo.com 465
Domain: yahoo.com
Use SMTP AUTH is checked
with SSLv3 checked
User name: nedkelly1234@yahoo.com
Method: Auto
Receive mail:
nedkelly1224@yahoo.com in the big gray box on the left
Account name: nedkelly1234@yahoo.com
Server/port: yahoo.com 110
Username: nedkelly1234
Active box is checked
Use secure connection: "no" is checked

Does anyone see what I may have done wrong?
Thanks

Last edited by Ned on 17-Feb-2018 at 04:29 PM.
Last edited by Ned on 08-Feb-2018 at 11:19 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 2-Feb-2018 22:26:11
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3617
From: Unknown

@Ned

Yahoo will not currently with Yam .

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?post_id=805314&topic_id=42245&forum=33#805333

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 2-Feb-2018 23:22:04
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@Spectre660

Following the link you gave, it leads me to believe that I in fact can use yahoo if I allow yahoo to use less secure login methods which I already have turned on. Is this true? If I can use yahoo with less secure methods, then can someone identify what I might have set wrong as originally described? Or if there is no way to use yahoo, can someone recommend an email provider that will work with Yam?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 3-Feb-2018 2:28:32
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@Ned

If I cannot use YAM as an email client with Yahoo, is there either (1) an Amiga OS4 email client that will work with Yahoo or (2) is there some other email provider (like gmail or something) that will work with YAM?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 3-Feb-2018 9:56:49
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 231
From: United Kingdom.

@Ned

There are a couple of things you can try, update AmiSSL to v4 and YAM to 2.10.
http://os4.aminet.net/package/util/libs/AmiSSL-4.1
http://yam.ch/download/nightly/YAM210dev-20180116-AmigaOS4.lha

If that does not work, try Simplemail.
http://simplemail.sf.net/ which will also require AmiSSLv4.

I believe that some companies are actively blocking machines that still have sslv3 available,
my bank (Nationwide) would no longer let me log in with Odyssey, the fix for this was to rename SYS:Libs/AmiSSL/amissl_v097g.ibrary, (just added "old" to the end).
Draby

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 3-Feb-2018 20:01:47
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@Draby

OK. I downloaded and installed the first two items you suggested (AmiSSL-4.1 and
YAM210dev-20180116-AmigsOS4). I rebooted and started YAM and the configuration
process. I also did a search for "what is the server name for yahoo mail" and
found alot of the info that I used for the configuration.

Under First steps I have:
E-mail address: nedkelly1234@yahoo.com
Server name: pop.mail.yahoo.com

Under TCP/IP Receive mail (POP3) I have:
Server: pop.mail.yahoo.com
Port 995
Connection Security: SSL/TLS
Authentification: Plain Password
I can successfully connect and download new messages. Yea!!!

Under TCP/IP Send mail (SMTP) I have:
Active is checked
Server: smtp.mail.yahoo.com

Port: 587
Connection Security: STARTTLS
Authentification: No Authentication Test settings works.
Authentification: Auto Test settings Fails with message:
Couldn't connect to host
'smtp.mail.yahoo.com'
The mail server is currently down or doesn;t
support the SMTP protocals

Port: 465
Connection Security: SSL/TLS
Authentification: No Authentication Test settings works.
Authentification: Auto Test settings Fails with message:
Couldn't connect to host
'smtp.mail.yahoo.com'
The mail server is currently down or doesn;t
support the SMTP protocals

When I use either of the two above port/connections with No Authentiction
and attempt to send an email I get the message:
Bad response from mail server
'smtp.mail.ahoo.com' to command 'MAIL'
530 5.7.1 Authentication required
The mail server couldn't execute the
command and repied with the above error
message.

Any ideas as to what I might be doing wrong on the send mail side?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 3-Feb-2018 21:23:11
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5103
From: Right here...

@Ned

Just a thought, I use YAM with gmail. A few days ago it failed to retrieve new mail. Turned out that google changed their security & activated a feature that stopped "less secure" apps from working. Had to go into my gmail account & find that security setting to change it back to let less secure apps get mail. Maybe yahoo has done the same thing with you're account?

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 3-Feb-2018 21:29:51
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@sundown

Yahoo has a similar feature which I have already enabled. Anyway, I wouldn't think that that would explain why I can now get my emails but cannot send any. Thanks.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 3-Feb-2018 22:04:11
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 231
From: United Kingdom.

@Ned

Hi, your receive settings are the same as mine.
Send, mine is:
Port: 465
Security: SSL/TLS
Authentification: Auto

I assume you have entered your username and password? and checked it's the same as the receive settings page.
Other than that I don't know what else to suggest.
Draby

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 8-Feb-2018 23:18:34
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@Draby

Well, I have finally solved this. I "had" my username and password entered in the appropriate fields. But, on the off chance that I had done something wrong (such as the password which shows up as all asterisks), I reentered them both, and things are working fine now. I guess there was a mistake somewhere. Although I can't site a specific example, I know I have seen places where when I am entering a userid or password and know that I have made a mistake and I will use the backspace key to attempt to fix the problem and enter it correctly only to have the application not seem to recognize the backspace to fix it. Anyway, I'm happy now. Many thanks.

Ned

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 9-Feb-2018 14:42:42
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 231
From: United Kingdom.

@Ned

Glad it's working.
Just out of curiosity, do you still have your Yahoo account's settings to "less secure", (or whatever the wording is) or were you able to set it back to normal ?

Draby

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 9-Feb-2018 15:34:29
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@Draby

Yes, I do. I had them set that way in my attempt to get things working. I'll see about changing them.

However, on a different note, my version of Yam 2.10 now seems to have developed a very strange problem. It was working fine yesterday, but this morning when I started it up to check my mail, it seems to get hung about half way through the startup process with a message at the bottom of the window where it shows the startup process that says "Creating user interface..." and it just sits there. Any ideas?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 9-Feb-2018 16:38:48
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 231
From: United Kingdom.

@Ned

Just one, reboot and try again.
Draby

Last edited by Draby on 09-Feb-2018 at 04:39 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ned 
Re: Configuring YAM 2.7 with Yahoo
Posted on 17-Feb-2018 16:28:56
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Dec-2003
Posts: 496
From: Arlington, Texas USA

@Draby

I did in fact try rebooting many times with no success. I even created another directory and installed Yam210 into it, but then when I ran it, I got the same problem. It just hung when "Creating user interface..." and used up all of my cpu time. However,
I recently had an idea. I went into the Prefs/Env-Archive/AppDir and the Prefs/Env-Archive/MUI directories and deleted all of the YAM#? files. I then tried running the version of YAM210 that I had been successfully using until I had this latest problem, and although I'm not sure why, this seems to have fixed the problem. Solved once again.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle