Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6097 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
44 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigakit:  8 mins ago
 kolla:  23 mins ago
 bhabbott:  29 mins ago
 roar:  31 mins ago
 MagicSN:  31 mins ago
 Karlos:  39 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 cdimauro:  2 hrs 27 mins ago
 danwood:  2 hrs 42 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )
PosterThread
Mangaclub 
How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 15:29:35
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Feb-2004
Posts: 163
From: Germany

Follow up some nice hints how you can improve your bootup time:

0,5. Dont use FFS2! As nice at it is but SFS is alot faster!
(make sure you are using the latest slb in your harddrive wich supports sfs! (mediatoolbox/edit RDB) You can find it in L:)

1. Enter uboot prefs
set initial boot delay to 0
(if you still want to enter uboot console you have to press esc several times at bootup)

set boota bootdelay (secs) to 1

2. Edit startup sequence
place
run >NIL: resident c:assign pure
above the C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards line

change following lines to this:
run >NIL: C:Mount DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.(info|off))
run >NIL: C:AddNetInterface >NIL: DEVS:NetInterfaces/~(#?.(info|off))
run >NIL: C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
run >NIL: C:IPrefs
NOTICE: if you get a error message, like to close all open windows,
remove the run >NIL: from c:iprefs.

3. usb
since usb is started at bootup (upd4) you can remove usbstart from your wbstartup drawer, also means if you dont use usb at all you can comment out following line in startup sequence
;C:USBCtrl >NIL: start

4. Kicklayout

At default, sil and a1ide drivers are loadet at bootup. This is not needet for those who only boot from one device. Disable the kickstart modules in kickstart/kicklayout by comment them out ";"

5. Cdrom Filesystem

one of the slowdowns is also the cdfilesystem.
At default its loadet at bootup (kickstart)
this hangs the system abit so it would be whise to do a Dosdriver for it.
create a file named cd0 in sys:wbstartup/

FileSystem = sys:kickstart/CDFileSystem
Flags = 0
Device = a1ide.device
Unit = 1
Surfaces = 1
SectorsPerTrack = 1
SectorSize = 2048
Mask = 0x7ffffffe
MaxTransfer = 0x100000
Reserved = 0
Interleave = 0
LowCyl = 0
HighCyl = 100000
Buffers = 500
BufMemType = 1
StackSize = 5000
Priority = 10
GlobVec = -1
DosType = 0x43443031

replace the a1ide.device and unit entrys with the device you are using.

after this give the createt file a info by editing the tooltypes, change it to project and set the default tool to C:mount

Do that with all your cdroms. cd0..cd1...cd2 eca.

afterthat edit your kickstart/kicklayout file and comment out the
;MODULE Kickstart/CDFileSystem
entry

cold reboot

since now the cdrom drivers are in wbstartup, it doest interrupt the boot process anymore if a cd is insered.

NOTICE: IF the WBbbackdrop doesnt appear aslong the cd is spinning up, remove the run >NIL: command from c:iprefs (startup-sequence.).

well then have fun and report your speedups ;)

Last edited by Mangaclub on 23-Apr-2006 at 09:48 AM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 19-Feb-2006 at 04:00 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 19-Feb-2006 at 03:50 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 19-Feb-2006 at 03:44 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 19-Feb-2006 at 03:27 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 13-Feb-2006 at 12:26 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 12-Feb-2006 at 08:46 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 12-Feb-2006 at 04:04 PM.
Last edited by Mangaclub on 12-Feb-2006 at 03:48 PM.

_________________
www.brevis-design.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
borchen 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 15:35:58
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Sep-2003
Posts: 61
From: overthere...

@Mangaclub
Quote:
well then have fun and report your speedups ;)

What about reporting YOUR speedups (in sec) ?

If you show people yours first, then they will also show theirs

Last edited by borchen on 12-Feb-2006 at 03:42 PM.
Last edited by borchen on 12-Feb-2006 at 03:36 PM.
Last edited by borchen on 12-Feb-2006 at 03:36 PM.

_________________
Quote:
You ain't seen me....right?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mangaclub 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 15:46:34
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Feb-2004
Posts: 163
From: Germany

@borchen

oh yea right.. a softreset is with this settings is 7-8 sec faster than before!

Last edited by Mangaclub on 12-Feb-2006 at 03:47 PM.

_________________
www.brevis-design.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
painter 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 16:00:19
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Oct-2003
Posts: 681
From: Manitoba, Canada

@Mangaclub

If I put run >NIL: in front of C:IPrefs I get an error on startup about "system
trying to reset workbench close all windows" "retry" "cancel". Also hapens if I
change it to C:run >NIL: C:IPrefs

painter

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mangaclub 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 16:02:26
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Feb-2004
Posts: 163
From: Germany

@painter

ah ok then dont change this iprefs setting then.

_________________
www.brevis-design.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
The_Editor 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:16:55
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 7629
From: 192.168.0.02 ..Pederburgh .. Iceni

@Mangaclub

Soft reset ?

Mine does that in 6 seconds anyway !!

_________________
******************************************
I dont suffer from Insanity - I enjoy it

******************************************

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:20:51
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12669
From: Norway

@Mangaclub

disable the sil drivers in the kickstart layout, if don't need the sil drivers

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 12-Feb-2006 at 07:21 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:25:35
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3404
From: Sweden

@NutsAboutAmiga

Hehe first thing I did

I have also used Run on most of these commands because we have multitasking
so why wait for each command to finish

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sg2 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:30:06
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2004
Posts: 223
From: Lyon, France

@Samwel

While you are at it :

- disable all kicklayout modules that you dont use (sii* drivers, radeon if you use voodoo, voodoo if you use radeon etc)

- set the baudrate of the uboot serial port to 115200 baud (setenv baudrate 115200 / saveenv)

- redirect the debug log to memory by placing 'kdebug "console memory"' early in the startup sequence

- adopt my partitioning suggestions (read the driver's docs) (ie 600 buffers in all cases, SFS/512 byte blocks/diskcache.library, or FFS2 / 2048 byte blocks / read cache plugin / set write cache strategy to delayed flush)

Here, loading all sii* modules + a1ide + scsi driver, cold boot takes way less than 20 secs, and warmboot takes less than 4 s.

Regards,
--
Stphane

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:31:54
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3404
From: Sweden

@Mangaclub

Btw LoadMonDrvs is not needed to have Run infront as you only load ONE
monitor driver
IRL you won't gain anything with Run on this one. But the others should give
a boost of about a sec each depending on how much you have to startup.
Most notably AddNetInterface which gives a speed up of atleast 4-5 secs by itself.

Last edited by Samwel on 12-Feb-2006 at 07:33 PM.

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:43:57
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3404
From: Sweden

@sg2

Yeah I have all modules not used in my A1-C marked off already. I did this
back in july after the update 3 arrived.
There should be a little "optimize OS4 doc" that adds all these things you could
do to speed up it. Wanna do it?

Thanks, I didn't realize that the serial speed slowed down the system. Will
change ASAP.

I don't use debug mode so no need for this change.

I use SFS on all my partions. 512bytes block size. I don't remember the buffers
I added. But I recall these should be set higher the bigger your partion is?
500-1200 depending on size.

I had about 6 sec on my update 3 setup (A1-C with VIA IDE), but it seems a little
slower on update 4. But this can just be my imagination

Btw is 4sec on a standard OS4 setup without any extras in WBStartup and
User-Startup?

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:46:21
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3404
From: Sweden

@The_Editor

He said 7-8 seconds FASTER, not 7-8 seconds.

MangaClub has actually not stated his boot speed at yet.

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
The_Editor 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:51:40
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 7629
From: 192.168.0.02 ..Pederburgh .. Iceni

@Samwel

Well spotted.

so it soft boots in 2 secs ?

that IS impressive !!

Last edited by The_Editor on 12-Feb-2006 at 07:53 PM.

_________________
******************************************
I dont suffer from Insanity - I enjoy it

******************************************

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:55:18
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11537
From: In the village

@thread

Repeating and expanding a bit on advice for dialup users of a1serial:
Comment out the following line from "s:startup-sequence" with ";" so it reads as follows:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
;C:AddNetInterface >NIL: DEVS:NetInterfaces/~(#?.(info|off))
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also, as sg2 mentions, here is the first line of "s:startup-sequence", followed by
the lines to add directly underneath. This will re-direct serial debug to console,
and thereby protect your serial modem from possible side effects of debug going
through port(0).
Note:After adding these 2 lines and rebooting the following applies:
Typing in Shell: DumpDebugBuffer [filename] will send the debug from console to file.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; $VER: Startup-Sequence 51.2 (28.05.2005)

kdebug "debuglevel 0" >NIL:
kdebug "console memory" >NIL:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#6

Last edited by number6 on 13-Feb-2006 at 01:08 AM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: How to improve Bootup time from OS4.0
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:55:37
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3404
From: Sweden

@The_Editor

Hehe.. That's REALLY fast..

But actually without having RUN infront of AddNetInterface will make
your bootup take more than 10secs maybe even 12-13. I haven't counted
exactly.

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 20:00:14
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3404
From: Sweden

@number6

That's good news for those with the modem problems we talked about
some months back
Is this a new "fix" or have it been around for a while now?

Btw do the users of broadband network gain anything by redirecting the
debug stuff to ram?

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 20:10:29
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11537
From: In the village

@Samwel

Quote:
Is this a new "fix" or have it been around for a while now?

Long time relatively speaking. Here is a thread from last year on 2 different
ways to accomplish the same thing. I have an expanded explanation in Post #7
and @xenic discusses use of Sashimi PPC in post #15.
Please note:Discussion with devs have shown that both methods seem quite acceptable.

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=15342&forum=14

Quote:
Btw do the users of broadband network gain anything by redirecting the
debug stuff to ram?

A broadband user or perhaps a developer would have to answer that question.

#6


Last edited by number6 on 12-Feb-2006 at 09:03 PM.
Last edited by number6 on 12-Feb-2006 at 08:13 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 10:10:58
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2969
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@Mangaclub

>1. Enter uboot prefs
>set initial boot delay to 0
>set boota bootdelay (secs) to 1

When I do this U-boot menu pops up and I have to choose 'boot this config' to boot

>2. Edit startup sequence
>place
>run >NIL: resident c:assign pure
>above the C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards line

>change following lines to this:
>run >NIL: C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.(info|off))
>run >NIL: C:AddNetInterface >NIL: DEVS:NetInterfaces/~(#?.(info|off))
>run >NIL: C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET

This doesnt do squad for me, My warm boot was about 9 secs, and it still is after this....

Any ideas ?

Cheers,

Martin

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 10:17:11
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12669
From: Norway

@Metalheart

Edit kickstart layout,

change boot delays in uboot to just 1 sec

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: How to improve OS4 Bootup time
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 10:29:33
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3427
From: Lyon, France

@Mangaclub

Quote:
run >NIL: resident c:assign pure

Well, this doesn't really help on my system. But maybe on systems which have many assigns...

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle