Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6092 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
52 crawler(s) on-line.
 44 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 matthey,  bhabbott

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 matthey:  26 secs ago
 bhabbott:  1 min ago
 dframeli:  7 mins ago
 kolla:  7 mins ago
 amigakit:  18 mins ago
 amigasociety:  24 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  31 mins ago
 Karlos:  46 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 1 min ago
 Rob:  1 hr 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Booting Time - OS 4
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
terminator3 
Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:22:53
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 187
From: USA

How long is yours take? Mine is about 1 minute cold boot and very small time for Amiga+AMIGA+CTRL for reboot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jacken 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:24:56
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jul-2004
Posts: 150
From: Glimma / Sweden

@terminator3

30 s here....Cold that is...

_________________
AmigaOne G4 800Mhz, A1200TPPC 040/33 240Mhz, 2 A2000, A600,A600HD
A500,A500+ and so on.....AmigaOS4.1....1500-2000 games!?
And yeap, it's my dog...16 years old in 2015

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
terminator3 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:27:44
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 187
From: USA

@Jacken

What uboot settings do you have? 30 seconds sure sounds a lot better than the 1 minute I get!! heck ..:P

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gadgetgaz 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:42:25
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 203
From: Yorkshire, UK

@terminator3

Mine takes ages - 1 1/2 mins from cold boot. I have all the IDE buses full though and my wbstartup drawer is also bursting



40 secs from ctrl-amiga-amiga

_________________
AmigaONE XE G4
____________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:44:36
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@terminator3

20 seconds from cold, 6 from a reboot

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gadgetgaz 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:48:53
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 203
From: Yorkshire, UK

@Severin

WHAT??? 6 secs? What you got in there

_________________
AmigaONE XE G4
____________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigamad 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:51:50
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2003
Posts: 188
From: England

Mine is around 30 to 35 seconds needs to reboot fast most the software i try crashes the damn thing at the moment my a1200 ppc tower is a much better machine,until the update for os4 comes along.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jacken 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:57:10
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jul-2004
Posts: 150
From: Glimma / Sweden

@terminator3
Well...can't really say what i have done....My memory is short...
Can't find the text files where I saved the info..

When I bought this A1 my cold boot was 2,5 minutes...so I found some "tips" here and for some reason the IDE controller was set to both...changed it to Primary...I only have one hd and CDRW so I belive that cut some of the time...

I'm sure someone else could give you examples how to cut the boot time...
Some has even shorter boot time than I...

-------------
Jacken



_________________
AmigaOne G4 800Mhz, A1200TPPC 040/33 240Mhz, 2 A2000, A600,A600HD
A500,A500+ and so on.....AmigaOS4.1....1500-2000 games!?
And yeap, it's my dog...16 years old in 2015

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 20:59:50
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12667
From: Norway

CTRL+Amiga+Amiga
21sec

CTRL+ALT+ALT
40sec

ColdBoot
39sec

I do have some some boot delays I can remove i ColdBoot,
and my user-startup/wbstartup do contain some stuff

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:00:56
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

Quote:

gadgetgaz wrote:

WHAT??? 6 secs? What you got in there


Well... I have tweaked things a little

All my partitions are SFS...

but it's mainly the 'being a beta tester' thing...

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
terminator3 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:05:01
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 187
From: USA

@gadgetgaz

I think that is what i'm getting (I do not want to time it exactly as I only would get mad lol).

I wonder what we can do to improve it? (I have the OS4 prerelease cd) ANYONE???

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
emeck 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:05:24
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Apr-2003
Posts: 683
From: Barcelona, Spain

@terminator3

46 sec for cold boot. Both IDE on. Reboot doesn't work :(

_________________
PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lionstorm 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:10:28
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 1587
From: the french side

@terminator3

Here is what I cut and paste from OS4-ml :

How can I speedup the boot process ?
If you have missing devices, there is a 20-second timeout each time it comes to a "hole" so connect something (an old drive, for instance) to that position.
Also, if you have Ethernet connected to a DHCP server, it takes several seconds to negotiate the DHCP connection. You can do this in parallel by editing your Startup-Sequence to say "C:Run >NIL: AddNetInterface (etc)".
The boot time is not affected much by disk access speed.
At the U-Boot prompt type: 'setenv bootdelay 1' and then 'saveenv' it makes UBoot countdown from 1 instead of 5.
Set the baudrate of the serial/debug port higher by typing at the U-Boot prompt 'setenv baudrate 115200' and then again 'saveenv'.

I dont know by how much it improves since I am mostly using debian/linux (without DMA, as you may have noticed in the other thread).
Lio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gadgetgaz 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:14:12
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 203
From: Yorkshire, UK

@emeck

" Reboot doesn't work :( "


Try this - press ctrl-amiga-amiga (or ctrl-windows-windows) momentarily then sit back and wait about 10 secs. Does it reset now?

_________________
AmigaONE XE G4
____________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
terminator3 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:14:59
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 187
From: USA

@lionstorm

gonna assume you're on diallup?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jacken 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:17:09
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jul-2004
Posts: 150
From: Glimma / Sweden

@terminator3

If I remember this correct...


setenv bootdelay 0
setenv menuboot_delay 3
saveenv

Don't set them both to zero...
And...

setenv baudrate 115200
saveenv

Thats what I have done...

_________________
AmigaOne G4 800Mhz, A1200TPPC 040/33 240Mhz, 2 A2000, A600,A600HD
A500,A500+ and so on.....AmigaOS4.1....1500-2000 games!?
And yeap, it's my dog...16 years old in 2015

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lionstorm 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:24:34
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 1587
From: the french side

@terminator3

Quote:

terminator3 wrote:
@lionstorm

gonna assume you're on diallup?


not at all, broadband here but the baudrate do make a difference during the boot process, since you could capture the output if you connect the serial to another computer.
By default, it is 9600.
Lio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
terminator3 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 21:29:43
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 187
From: USA

@Jacken

Thanks. I will try this when i'm booted in OS4. Now i'm searching through the A1 forums trying to find something interesting.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 28-Aug-2004 22:52:42
#19 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@lionstorm

Quote:
Also, if you have Ethernet connected to a DHCP server, it takes several seconds to negotiate the DHCP connection. You can do this in parallel by editing your Startup-Sequence to say "C:Run >NIL: AddNetInterface (etc)".


That also works if you don't have DHCP. AddNetInterface always takes a few seconds, and if you "C:Run" it instead of simply executing it, workbench will continue to boot.

I take 40 seconds to cold boot and about 12 to reboot, and I didn't tweak anything but the AddNetInterface.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fancia 
Re: Booting Time - OS 4
Posted on 29-Aug-2004 1:57:52
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Oct-2003
Posts: 194
From: Nova Scotia, Canada

@Rogue

I timed mine just a bit ago; I get 45 seconds from cold boot, with no tweaking for time. :3 Not bad, I'd venture.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle