Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5815 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
56 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 cip060:  7 mins ago
 miggymac:  8 mins ago
 Dege:  17 mins ago
 Tuxedo:  19 mins ago
 MrFrench:  46 mins ago
 zipper:  51 mins ago
 nikosidis:  59 mins ago
 Jax:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 alexweefs:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 18 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  New VIA686B 5.3 AHI driver and Mixer 1.16 on OS4depot
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
Paul 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 29-Oct-2005 5:20:25
#61 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 625
From: Michigan

@RacerX

I have it installed here, too, and can get the test sound in the via modes. But AmigaAnp doesn't give me any sound, but worked great with the Sound Blaster.

Since there wasn't really much in the read me's and no specific instructions, I'k just assuming I got the two files in the correct places since I got it to beep.

But where do I go from here? Playing with settings in the AHI prefs has always seemed a littlw like shooting in the dark to me, anyway.

Could someone who has done this succesflly write up a short install tutorial for the software end of it?

Oh, and Thanks, Dave. This could give me room for a SCSI card once one becomes available along with drivers.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand, the monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
JonasH 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 29-Oct-2005 7:34:46
#62 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2003
Posts: 52
From: Stockholm (Sweden)

@Paul

Quote:
Could someone who has done this succesflly write up a short install tutorial for the software end of it?


Okay, here we go:

1. Download and unpack version 5.3 of the archive.
2. copy VIA686B/devs/AHI/via-ac97.audio DEVS:AHI/
3. copy VIA686B/devs/AudioModes/VIA-AC97 DEVS:AudioModes/
4. Reboot
5. Open AHI prefs
6. Select the VIA and play the test sound
7. If it worked, press save (having the VIA still selected).
8. If you still get sound from your old sound card, reboot again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 29-Oct-2005 8:31:27
#63 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@JonasH

You forgot one important thing: you have to select the VIA Hifi 16-bit stereo++ mode in BOTH music unit and Unit 0. Set the freq to 44100 Hz to both too please. This should solve the problems when you can play the test sound, but not play any sound in AmigaAmp.

@Helgis
I'll look at it coming week. I'll be away this weekend. You guys have fun (and behave! ).

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
royleith 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 29-Oct-2005 11:59:58
#64 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 765
From: UK

@number6

Quote:
Could someone with XE comment on this image now that we have a link please?
As far as I know, mine was the first XE *system* ever delivered. Alan suggested that I keep my trap shut about it until he got in some more stock.

I installed the driver and could not get it to work. I tried everything. Finally, I took off the side cover and used a magnifying glass to get the chip details. No chip. Doh!

Still, I play the SBLive! via a NAD amplifier and Tannoy hi fi speakers and have been more than happy with the sound quality. I don't know how good those old AC-97 chips are compared with the SBlive. I may even ditch that and go for one of the other supported cards.

So; disappointed, but not very.

Regards
Roy Leith

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 30-Oct-2005 3:20:29
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3199
From: Sydney (of course)

For those who have the chip and want to see what it doesn't look like (or those who are black/green colour blind), here is a picture of an XE without the chip.
Right in the middle of the picture, the green uninhabited area with the shiny tinned PCB tracks all aound it.

Compare this with Weggers' picture.




I hope to remove the AC97 off an old PC mobo and transplant it. I'm just going to have to buy a proper hot-air desoldering station first.

PS: Answer to Question #1: to give a monochrome output.
Answer to Question #2: Sync outputs and probe earths.

Last edited by tonyw on 30-Oct-2005 at 03:24 AM.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Snuffy 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 30-Oct-2005 4:59:33
#66 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Oct-2005
Posts: 1121
From: Michigan, USA

@DaveAE

I had a SB PCI-128 card in this XE since April'03. AC'97 onboard sound quality is as good as the card! I can't decern a difference between them! Thanks again for your excellent work ...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 30-Oct-2005 10:25:59
#67 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3199
From: Sydney (of course)

Hmmm, the AC97 chip in my old PC is a STAC9708T. I've had a look at the docs and it is a bit older than the 9752.

Differences are that the '08 is an 18-bit Rev 2.1 beast, while the '52 is a 20-bit Rev 2.3. I haven't yet gone through the docs pin by pin, but maybe I won't bother unsoldering the old one, it can stay in the PC.

[edit] No, the old '08 is a fixed 48-kHz sampling device. It won't 'do' for the Amiga.

Don't know why I made this useless post in the first place. Sorry.
[/edit]

Last edited by tonyw on 30-Oct-2005 at 10:36 AM.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Sembazuru 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 30-Oct-2005 19:44:19
#68 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 91
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@DaveAE

Quote:

DaveAE wrote:
@JonasH

You forgot one important thing: you have to select the VIA Hifi 16-bit stereo++ mode in BOTH music unit and Unit 0. Set the freq to 44100 Hz to both too please. This should solve the problems when you can play the test sound, but not play any sound in AmigaAmp.


I thought I was golden with the onboard sound of my XE until I tried playing a .wav and a .mp3 with simpleplayer (and then multiview to check). The .wav and .mp3 played very slowly with lower pitch as if playing a high sample-rate slowly. I did have freq set to 44100 for both music unit and Units 0-3. Using VIA Hifi 16-bit stereo++ for all sound units. Switching back to the EMU drivers for music unit and unit 0 (no changes to any other settings) restored proper playback.

Where do I look to find the problem? (BTW, I have the DMA fix applied to my MB... Might this be a problem?)

_________________
Member: Team AMIGA & A1 tech @ Software Hut --} Sembazuru

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bean 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 30-Oct-2005 20:03:24
#69 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2003
Posts: 1225
From: U.K.

@Sembazuru

Quote:
Where do I look to find the problem? (BTW, I have the DMA fix applied
to my MB... Might this be a problem?)


My machine has not been fixed and I suffer from the same problem. It only
happens every so often (testing with TuneNet), but the sample rate seems to
drop to half what it should be; 22050 Hz instead of 44100 Hz.

Have gone back to the SB128 for the moment.

Cheers,
Bean.

_________________
OS4.1 + SAM Flex
RIP my A1XE.. that used to have an appetite for batteries!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Paul 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 31-Oct-2005 2:20:28
#70 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 625
From: Michigan

@JonasH

Quote:
4. Reboot
5. Open AHI prefs
6. Select the VIA and play the test sound
7. If it worked, press save (having the VIA still selected).


Hmmmmm. maybe I didn't do a reboot. (Hey, wait, this isn't Windoze)

Anyway, it's working with AmigaAMP now, and it does sound every bit as good as my SoundBlaster Live.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand, the monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 31-Oct-2005 8:50:03
#71 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@Bean

I have heard that before from someone and it disappeared the next day (probably after full power down and power up).
Please let me know if only the test sound seems to play at half rate or that songs in AmigaAmp etc. play at half rate as well.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Agafaster 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 31-Oct-2005 9:39:37
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 1413
From: West Midlands, England - sector ZZ9 plural Z alpha

@thread

I've noticed that all the pictures posted show motherboards / daughterboards that are absolutely filthy!! gerrum cleaned !

/rant.

oo that reminds me - I had wondered why Mixer wasnt working, I must update to 1.16...

_________________
XH558 - the worlds last flying Vulcan.
ok, its actually XL426 in the picture but you know what I mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 31-Oct-2005 19:54:39
#73 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

I experienced the half rate problem first time today. The sample rates that are set in the DAC and ADC are correct. Only a full reset cured it. I'm not sure what is causing it.

Concerning quality: you can hear PCI bus traffic at higher volumes. It seems all sound cards are indeed better.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Excalibur 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 12:50:16
#74 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 118
From: Oz

@DaveAE

Quote:
DaveAE wrote:

I have heard that before from someone and it disappeared the next day (probably after full power down and power up).

Why yes, that was me. The problem survived warm boots, it was only by a cold boot the next day when I switched on, as you said, that the problem vanished. The 440Hz prefs test tone dropped down to ~256Hz, which is odd because it's not half but close to it. But you know all this already so why am I repeating this?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 13:41:57
#75 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@Excalibur

Yes, but I'm not sure how to fix this. The only thing I can try is to dump all the registers of the AC'97 in both situations and see if there are any differences. Yesterday however, I have looked through all the relevant registers while it was in playing at the wrong frequency, but couldn't find any setting that was wrong. The frequency was at 44100 Hz, like it should.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gadgetgaz 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 18:15:18
#76 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 203
From: Yorkshire, UK

@DaveAE

"Concerning quality: you can hear PCI bus traffic at higher volumes. It seems all sound cards are indeed better."

DaveAE, is there any chance you can fix the this and also the network activity noise that comes through the audio?

The sound quality is just as good as my SoundBlaster Live 5.1 apart from these clicks.

_________________
AmigaONE XE G4
____________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bean 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 21:10:18
#77 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2003
Posts: 1225
From: U.K.

@DaveAE

Quote:
Yes, but I'm not sure how to fix this.


Could it be that the ACPI fix needs to be initialised from UBOOT rather than
the driver? IE: Activating this fix when the system is up and running in the
driver causes the problem?

Just a thought.

Cheers,
Bean.

P.S. Am using the driver at the moment. - No problems today ....
hmmmm.... just thought; I'm not using the HIFI mode today - could that be
an issue?

Last edited by Bean on 01-Nov-2005 at 09:11 PM.

_________________
OS4.1 + SAM Flex
RIP my A1XE.. that used to have an appetite for batteries!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 21:20:35
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@gadgetgaz

No, ofcourse not. It's interference due to a badly built board.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 21:22:04
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@Bean

There is no difference whether the same code is executed in UBoot or a driver.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bean 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 1-Nov-2005 21:26:22
#80 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Apr-2003
Posts: 1225
From: U.K.

@gadgetgaz

Quote:
also the network activity noise that comes through the audio?


Have you tried cutting off all the unused inputs on the new Mixer? Only the
Internal PCM and Master Volume need to be set. Sometimes the other inputs can
cause interference if the levels are set high.

Bean.


_________________
OS4.1 + SAM Flex
RIP my A1XE.. that used to have an appetite for batteries!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle