Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5828 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
75 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ebtigger:  33 secs ago
 billt:  9 mins ago
 Dragoon:  42 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 Steady:  3 hrs 19 mins ago
 Hammer:  3 hrs 31 mins ago
 noXLar:  4 hrs 1 min ago
 A1200coder:  4 hrs 54 mins ago
 colinw:  4 hrs 55 mins ago
 gryfon:  5 hrs 6 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )
PosterThread
broadblues 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 1:02:48
#301 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@TetiSoft

Quote:

> I strongly suspect the issue for update3: is how printer.device deals with
> bitmaps, in particular deep bitmaps. AWeb does render to the bitmap correctly,
> otherwise 1 the screen would be corrupt, 2) save as iff would not work.

I strongly suspect printer.device of update 3 to not handle bitmaps different
than all previous versions of printer.device since OS3.9 because update 3 contains
the unmodified OS3.9 68k printer.device binary :) Maybe the A1 monitor drivers
changed their bitmap handling.


Yes, I am aware that the printer.device / drivers for update 3 were old 68k ones, my suspiscion was that the bitmaps had changed in someway that the old printer drivesr couldn't handle.

BTW I tried testing with the Printers:FILE device as sugested and only the first strip was output to the file. On the test page mentioned above this was exactly the same strip that was printed at 4 x size.


_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 1:31:56
#302 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@broadblues

Just repeating (in case it is of any help whatsoever) Voyager 3.2 68k uses
printerprefs. Under "print" you can, in fact call up the printer prefs for
adjustment before printing.
I still get correct web page printout with Voyager 3.2 68k under update#4, as
I did with update#2 and update#3. (no garbage)
Changing to a1parallel.device from parallel.device for my HP940C printer has
not changed this ability either.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 5:29:31
#303 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@Haymigga
Quote:

I had similiar sound issues and my system worked after i removed my mouse from usb and plugged in into ps/2...or if i took the devs/usb from update1 instead of update4 as i described in my thread ;)

so...glad to hear i was not only one with the usb + sound issue

Thanks for your response. I've been trying to get this problem confirmed by someone else for 2 weeks. The USB files from update3 seem to be working for me. I'll have to try switching my mouse to PS2 and see if that works for me too. I'm really hooked on the smooth USB mouse action and I really don't want to switch permanently. I'm not too good at navigating AW.net so which thread of yours are you referring to?

I also just read in the OS4 Yahoo ML that the math libraries are producing erroneous results in Turbocalc. It looks to me like we're going to need an OS4pre5 unless we want a buggy final release. The beta testers just don't seem to be catching all the problems that the regular uses do after each prerelease.

_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Haymigga 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 9:25:19
#304 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2003
Posts: 213
From: Danmark

@Xenic

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=17678&forum=33

hmmmm...last post was to check the radeon tooltype, dunno if that would change anything, haven't tried.

_________________
0 % Amiga.
www.amigabounty.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amipal 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 16:42:49
#305 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 1899
From: Saltdean, East Sussex, UK

@wegster

Scrolling down a long web page using a PS2 mousewheel in IBrowse 2.3 results in a Grim Reaper and disrupted audio. "Ignore DSI errors" allows me to continue surfing.

Anyone else get this issue? Apologies if this has already been mentioned, but I did try to read most of the posts in this topic!

_________________
After a decade away from the scene, I am back!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 16:46:01
#306 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@tetisoft

I did another print test this with aweb amd then with ImageFX and then multiview.

Using a hp815C driver and printer.

In all three cases there were extraneous characters preceding the printer output, cause the "4x" graphics distortion.
In AWebs case the initial distortation "reset" after the first strip, the other two seemeds to print in one large strip.

Is there a way to capture the ouput to the paralell port to a file?

The out put to the printers:File driver appeared to be a valid ilbm with no corruption.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 18:10:08
#307 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@Tomppeli & number6

Trying to moving the mouse beyond the screenborder doesn't move the screen one pixel. LeftAmiga is occupied by PowerSnap. Guess that's why that didn't work... ;)

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
blmara 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 19:26:03
#308 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2003
Posts: 135
From: Vantaa, Finland

@broadblues

I confirm the 0X printing garbage problem. I get it also when using Wordworth6 printing with the OS driver (HP_690C). But usually when printing for the second time the result is fine so may be it's the initialization string of the printer driver that is wrong. I suggest one tries printing for several times.

Marko

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 21:11:58
#309 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@Deniil715

Quote:
LeftAmiga is occupied by PowerSnap. Guess that's why that didn't work...;)

Not Left Amiga. Hold down both Shift and Left Amiga and click left mouse button
once anywhere on the screen.

Re:scrolling
Quote:
Trying to moving the mouse beyond the screenborder doesn't move the screen one pixel.

Have you updated to #4 yet? This works too. Run your mouse to the bottom of the
screen and it will scroll back into view.

#6


_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 21:13:17
#310 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@blmara

Quote:
I suggest one tries printing for several times.

Or double click on the old program "initprinter" and then try printing.

#6


_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 21:20:03
#311 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1948
From: Suomi-Finland

IBrowse problem Solved!

(I lost my old message) but IBrowse worked instantly after a re-install
without messing with my old prefs. (I had the no CLL or something before and no startup after pre4 install) The lockups started after copying the missing .mcc
and ,mcp files from backup and with the new install I didn't copy over any
newer Mui stuff. Very easy clean install for somebody, I had to think twice as
being an older fart maybe than "oldfart"... ;)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 22:03:25
#312 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3141
From: Beds, UK

@broadblues

Quote:
Is there a way to capture the ouput to the paralell port to a file?


sys:tools/cmd does exactly this.

Chris


_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 22:40:30
#313 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@Chris_Y

Quote:

sys:tools/cmd does exactly this.


doesn't seem to work for a1parallel.device

@number6

running init printer first does not help.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Feb-2006 23:46:39
#314 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

I have noticed that AmiGS in upd4 produces slow and ugly PDF files (I'm guessing it inlines bitmap fonts) while AmiGS in upd3 made very nice looking and fast loading PDFs.

Could someone confirm and tell me how to make AmiGS upd4 produce nice PDFs too?

I have now reverted the gs and AmiGS executables to upd3 and it works as before, but now the scroll-wheel doesn't work and there are less options in window layout. Seems like AmiGS and AmiPDF got a good update too but not without drawbacks apparently....

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
painter 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 23-Feb-2006 1:03:05
#315 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Oct-2003
Posts: 681
From: Manitoba, Canada

@blmara
With graphics publisher every time I select full for width and height from the position
requester I get dsi errors only selecting ignor dsi errors allows the program to continue.
I'm using turboprint for the printing.

painter

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
painter 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 23-Feb-2006 1:07:04
#316 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Oct-2003
Posts: 681
From: Manitoba, Canada

@blmara

Where did y0ou find printer drivers in os4 pre4? I only have generi, file and
postscript on my os4pre4.
oops nevermind found them in storage.
painter

Last edited by painter on 23-Feb-2006 at 01:08 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 23-Feb-2006 4:10:38
#317 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2157
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

I have a problem with USB, on flash drives and my mp3 player under update#4.

When transfering MP3 to my mp3 player under update#4, I get incorrectly named files. I can encode them ok, but when I copy across to the player via USb I keep getting read errors.
If I select retry twice it continues with the copy. the target directory window looks fine with all files and file names showing correctly, but when I have finished and refresh the MP3 player directory I get some garbage showing, not all files just some. I have then connected it to the PC (win98) and checked it under properties and windows always finds errors and corrects them.
The files are renamed to an 8*3 format with chk as the exytension, so windows dosn't recognise them as mp3's, but the player will play them fine and display the correct names (as far as I can tell) so the id3tags are ok.

If it wasn't for the corruption of the file names on a refresh I would have said the read errors were timing differences between the hard dive spoeed and the USB port, but I am not too sure.

I see there is a crossdos commodity in update#4, but it does not have any options for copying files.



[edit] I believe the read errors are caused by a 1024 block size on the source partition. I have set up another partition with correct (2048) block size, I will copy across to that partition and try again [/edit]


Last edited by Swoop on 24-Feb-2006 at 06:51 PM.
Last edited by Swoop on 23-Feb-2006 at 04:12 AM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
swoodall 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 23-Feb-2006 13:08:16
#318 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 248
From: Raleigh NC, USA

@Tonton_Pascal

Sorry, I understood your problem wrong, and I didn't check your old posts to verify. I don't have another computer on my LAN to test with, but I do have a spare ethernet interface in my A1 XE, so I tried a test with it. I setup the second interface through my router DMZ port, and downloaded and setup rc-ftpd. Then I tried 3 tests with the 136M "os4event.mpg" file transferring from disk to RAM:, first ftping across the 2 ethernet links (with router blinkenlights), then ftping using the loopback interface (no blinkenlights), and copying the file directly. Not as fast as I expected but not as slow as your numbers.

So what I got is :

VIA/SFS -> rc-ftpd -> lan1 -> router -> lan0 -> cli ftp get -> RAM:
140027672 bytes received in 53 seconds (2642021 bytes/s)

VIA/SFS -> rc-ftpd -> 127.0.0.1 -> cli ftp get -> RAM:
140027672 bytes received in 26.9 seconds (5197514 bytes/s)

VIA/SFS -> cli copy -> RAM:
140027672 bytes in ~15 secs (so ~9300000 bytes/s)


Scott Woodall

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
JCC 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 24-Feb-2006 5:17:23
#319 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Sep-2003
Posts: 254
From: NY/NJ, US

@All

Does anyone know how to adjust scroll wheel fast/slow speed for windows and scroll bars?

Thanks,
      JCC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 24-Feb-2006 21:49:28
#320 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1616
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

IBrowse seems to be somewhat more crashprone after the 4th update (JIT giving trouble?). The javascript.library _is_ still blacklisted.

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle