Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
 84 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 pgf_666:  6 mins ago
 DJBase:  9 mins ago
 A1200:  25 mins ago
 Rob:  31 mins ago
 BSzili:  48 mins ago
 phoenixkonsole:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 Trekiej:  3 hrs 22 mins ago
 Sbaitso:  3 hrs 45 mins ago
 Argo:  3 hrs 51 mins ago
 amipal:  4 hrs 22 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
ferrels 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 20:35:24
#21 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 761
From: Arizona

I was looking back at this old thread today and quietly laughing at all the naysayers who claimed that running OS4 on the PegII would never happen or couldn't happen. When I originally posted this back in 2006 I received several private PMs from PegII owners who confirmed my suspicions that OS4 would indeed run on a PegII with minimal effort.
They obviously didn't want to go public because of the legal issues and of course all those who would say that their claims of running OS4 on a PegII was a complete fabrication. The hardware was just too similar to an A1 for someone to get OS4 hacked or not, running on the PegII.

Last edited by ferrels on 10-Feb-2009 at 08:59 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gleng 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 20:49:47
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Dec-2004
Posts: 1071
From: Blighty

@ikir
Quote:

ikir wrote on 20-Feb-2006:

Power Vixxen are coming and they are cheap.




I'd forgotten about the PowerVixxen!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 21:02:31
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 761
From: Arizona

@Gleng

Yeah, it was laughable the excuses and delays from ACK and Adam regarding the PowerVixxen. If it wasn't one thing, it was another. Then he topped it off by claiming that a death in his family was causing a delay and then silence. The only thing he never claimed was that his dog ate his prototype!

Has anyone heard from him since?

Last edited by ferrels on 10-Feb-2009 at 09:05 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Simon 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 21:26:45
#24 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 996
From: Antwerp / Belgium

@ferrels

He is probably waiting for Bill McEwen's OS5 before releasing it. Why release it for OS4 when you can have OS5 ?

_________________
- Proud Member Of The Belgian Amigaclub Since 2003 -

The Belgian Amiga Club on FACEBOOK !

The Belgian Amiga Club Website

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 22:23:28
#25 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 840
From: Vancouver, Canada

@ferrels

Quote:

ferrels wrote:
The hardware was just too similar to an A1 for someone to get OS4 hacked or not, running on the PegII.


The PegII uses an entirely different chipset, ethernet controller and BIOS to an A1. What makes you think it is "too similar to an A1" ?



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gleng 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 22:31:07
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Dec-2004
Posts: 1071
From: Blighty

@ferrels

Quote:
Has anyone heard from him since?


I'm wondering if he ever returned that guy's AmigaOne board.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 22:43:28
#27 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 761
From: Arizona

@gregthecanuck

No, not really. The BIOS on a PegII is flashable. The PegII uses the same graphics, the same processor, and the same drive subsystem. A different ethernet card is no big problem either. There were/are plenty of people using hacked copies of OS4.0 on their PegII's long before OS4.1 was officially released for it. I stand by my statement that these two systems are similar enough that it didn't take a lot of effort to get OS4 running on the PegII. Several people on the Morphzone sent me PMs volunteering to help me get OS4 running on my own PegII back in 2006! And no, I will not divulge their names.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 22:44:16
#28 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 761
From: Arizona

@Gleng

It's probably been sold on eBay to pay for ACK's non-existent "development" costs!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 22:54:31
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5112
From: Right here...

@Gleng

Quote:
I'm wondering if he ever returned that guy's AmigaOne board.

That would be Kneedeep, & no, he never returned it.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Simon 
Re: AmigaOS 4 on a PegasOS II Board
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 23:06:53
#30 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 996
From: Antwerp / Belgium

@ferrels

Ethernet is easy to solve . Put a realtek or a wireless Prism card in a PCIslot and that's it. I guess when someone managed to make it run on a Macmini, someone could have make it run on a PEG2 also. But what about the difference between Articia and Marvel ? and Altivec ? Like those files for Macmini, it wouldn't be very stable I think compared to the now optimized version.

Maybe Rogue can tell us if he had OS4 running on PEG2 and what actually had to be added/changed to make it run?

_________________
- Proud Member Of The Belgian Amigaclub Since 2003 -

The Belgian Amiga Club on FACEBOOK !

The Belgian Amiga Club Website

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle