Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
48 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 zipper:  5 mins ago
 HelmutH:  6 mins ago
 BigD:  9 mins ago
 Rob:  11 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  18 mins ago
 amigang:  18 mins ago
 matthey:  46 mins ago
 kolla:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 terminills:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 Skateman:  2 hrs 3 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )
PosterThread
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 5-Aug-2006 21:53:15
#161 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

The frequency multiplier is 4.5. These are the settings for DIP switches on the CPU module:

G4: On (1) Off Off Off (4)
G3: On (1) Off On On (4) Open (JP1)

Be careful when changing the CPU settings!

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 6-Aug-2006 2:57:27
#162 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

The frequency multiplier is 4.5. These are the settings for DIP switches on the CPU module:

G4: On (1) Off Off Off (4)
G3: On (1) Off On On (4) Open (JP1)

Be careful when changing the CPU settings!

I have a G4, so the settings for 600 MHz would be;

#1 on
#2, #3 and #4 off

Right?

You say be careful. These settings should be safe, right? Or do you just mean make sure the power is off, etc? As scarce as A1 hardware is I definately don't want to damage mine!

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 6-Aug-2006 7:26:38
#163 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Right!

The settings are safe. But you know Murphys law?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 1:05:07
#164 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

The settings are safe. But you know Murphys law?

Yup "Anything that CAN go wrong WILL go wrong, etc..."

I just visually checked before I booted and 1 and 3 were on, 2 and 4 were off. I'll change it the next time I shut it down.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DL 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 18:37:45
#165 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2003
Posts: 140
From: Unknown

@Geri

Thanks for your work on the 2.6.x kernel. I downloaded it and the modules from amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net and got it to run on my A-1 XE. I have a couple of questions/requests.

1. All 4 USB ports work under OS4 but not under Linux. I have to disable ports 3/4 and front panel in U-Boot to get Linux to boot otherwise it hangs when it gets to the USB init. Why is this and is there a fix in the works?

2. I downloaded the sources per instructions on the download page as well as the config-2.4.26 file. I compiled a kernel using the config file but it does not get past the kernel decompression stage. That is, it just hangs after displaying the "uncompressing kernel" message. I performed all required steps per the docs page, including mkimage on the vmlinux.gz file.

Is there a config-2.6.8-a1 file I should be using and/or could you provide the config file you are using for the stable release? Or are the sources on the sourceforge CVS repository not the correct sources?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 20:15:27
#166 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

The frequency multiplier is 4.5. These are the settings for DIP switches on the CPU module:

G4: On (1) Off Off Off (4)
G3: On (1) Off On On (4) Open (JP1)

Be careful when changing the CPU settings!

OK, I changed the settings on the CPU card (I was originally looking at the switches near the power conector). The 'new' kernel still stops booting at exactly the same place.

Will the new CPU settings have an effect on the rest of the system? OS4 for example? Should I leave them or put them back the way they were?

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 20:53:22
#167 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@DL

Quote:
DL wrote:
Thanks for your work on the 2.6.x kernel. I downloaded it and the modules from amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net and got it to run on my A-1 XE. I have a couple of questions/requests.

1. All 4 USB ports work under OS4 but not under Linux. I have to disable ports 3/4 and front panel in U-Boot to get Linux to boot otherwise it hangs when it gets to the USB init. Why is this and is there a fix in the works?

Strange! Some A1's seem to have a problem with the USB ports. Unfortunately I don't know what's wrong with the USB hardware. Also USB works perfectly under Linux on my A1 (with 4 ports).

Quote:
2. I downloaded the sources per instructions on the download page as well as the config-2.4.26 file. I compiled a kernel using the config file but it does not get past the kernel decompression stage. That is, it just hangs after displaying the "uncompressing kernel" message. I performed all required steps per the docs page, including mkimage on the vmlinux.gz file.


These are the sources for a plain 2.6.8 Debian kernel. I didn't commit the AmigaOne specific changes yet. I'll try to put a patch file on the amigaone-linux homepage within the next days.

Quote:
Is there a config-2.6.8-a1 file I should be using and/or could you provide the config file you are using for the stable release? Or are the sources on the sourceforge CVS repository not the correct sources?


A config file will be included in the patch file.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 21:02:28
#168 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:
OK, I changed the settings on the CPU card (I was originally looking at the switches near the power conector). The 'new' kernel still stops booting at exactly the same place.



Quote:
Will the new CPU settings have an effect on the rest of the system? OS4 for example? Should I leave them or put them back the way they were?


It just clocks down the system, which should make it more stable. But you can switch back to the old settings.

Please boot again with the 2.6.8 kernel and wait until it hangs. Then reset the system and directly go the u-boot shell. Type in "md 3f521c" and U-boot should dump the kernel log. Press Enter until you come to the end of the kernel log and hope that it shows something useful.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 21:09:18
#169 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11259
From: In the village

@Geri

Quote:
Strange! Some A1's seem to have a problem with the USB ports.

LyleHaze would be the one to contact on this.
MAI docs were reported inaccurate, amongst other things.
Others may have repeated the inaccurate info and compounded the issue.
Post#8 etc.
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=14914&forum=14

#6

Last edited by number6 on 07-Aug-2006 at 09:12 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 21:31:38
#170 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@number6

Please correct me, if I'm wrong, but I'm not sure, if that explains why the front USB ports work under OS4 and why they don't work under Linux.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 21:37:08
#171 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11259
From: In the village

@Geri

Sorry. Not my area of expertise. I just meant to refer you someone who has
done more work with USB than I, in hopes that -he- might be able to give you
some input. If not, he may well know someone who can.

Another possibility would be beta tester Kurt Grach:
http://amigaworld.net/userinfo.php?uid=1358
Both are engineers and/or have a great deal of hardware experience, but Kurt
has worked with the XEs and Micros, LyleHaze principally with the Micros.

#6

Last edited by number6 on 07-Aug-2006 at 10:13 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 7-Aug-2006 21:54:39
#172 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@number6

Ah, okay. Thanks! I'll contact him about this issue.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 18-Aug-2006 2:25:13
#173 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

It just clocks down the system, which should make it more stable. But you can switch back to the old settings.

Please boot again with the 2.6.8 kernel and wait until it hangs. Then reset the system and directly go the u-boot shell. Type in "md 3f521c" and U-boot should dump the kernel log. Press Enter until you come to the end of the kernel log and hope that it shows something useful.

If it might make it more stable, I think I'll leave it the way it is. It won't hurt anything, right?

I tried that but didn't see anything that looked like a log. I saw 3 or 4 actual words, but the rest seemed to be just random numbers.

I tried switching back to the 'old' kernel, removing anything CUPS related, and switching back to the 'new' kernel. Same end result, it just stops at a different place - after these 3 lines:

Recovering nvi editor sessions... done.
Setting up X server socket directory /tmp/.X11-unix...done.
Setting up ICE socket directory /tmp/.ICE-unix...done.

After that, just a flashing cursor.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 20-Aug-2006 9:56:47
#174 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:
If it might make it more stable, I think I'll leave it the way it is. It won't hurt anything, right?


No, it won't hurt anything, but then I can't say, if it's a Linux problem or a hardware problem.

Quote:

Recovering nvi editor sessions... done.
Setting up X server socket directory /tmp/.X11-unix...done.
Setting up ICE socket directory /tmp/.ICE-unix...done.

After that, just a flashing cursor.


Just to be sure: was the cursor blinking?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 21-Aug-2006 0:46:02
#175 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

Just to be sure: was the cursor blinking?

Yup. I even tried logging in blindly but it didn't seem to have any effect. The letters I typed didn't appear and the cursor kept blinking.

I'm glad I didn't try this with my main Linux partition!

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 21-Aug-2006 16:26:02
#176 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Strange! Maybe another program crashed and blocked the shell. But IMHO the machine would lock up completely, if the kernel crashes.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mark 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 21-Aug-2006 16:31:49
#177 ]
Team Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 1457
From: UK

@Geri

Not sure if its any help (or if its even been discussed), but I have a problem installing even the latest 2.4 kernel due to the installer locking up when it gets to loading the USB modules. It worked fine previously, but for some reason doesnt any more (after a complete wipe of my Linux install some time ago). USB is fine under OS4 and worked under Linux quite well sometime back as well.

Regards

Mark

_________________
IceStar Media Ltd.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 22-Aug-2006 4:09:29
#178 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

Strange! Maybe another program crashed and blocked the shell. But IMHO the machine would lock up completely, if the kernel crashes.

Is there a file I can look at that would be the equivilant of StartupSequence on Amiga OS?

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Aug-2006 14:02:17
#179 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:
RacerX wrote:

Is there a file I can look at that would be the equivilant of StartupSequence on Amiga OS?


Not really. Linux uses runlevels and every program that is executed on startup has its own start/stop script. You may try ksysv. It should show you all programs that are executed in a specific runlevel and in which order they are executed.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 2-Sep-2006 0:39:25
#180 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4927
From: New Zealand

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@Hans
Quote:
I've tested my bttv card with the new kernel. Unfortunately overlay is still screwed up in xawtv. For non-overlay display with both xawtv and tvtime, the display is all magenta and green. It's probably got something to do with the driver as these are two separate programs.


Does overlay work with other kernels?


Thought I should just add that since downgrading to Debian Stable, xawtv now displays the correct colours again. Overlay is still messed up though.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle